Research Guides: BioResearch Resources: BioResearch

Methods and Protocols

Current Protocols
Follow the 'Title' tab to access individual titles such as Current Protocols in Molecular Biology.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Issued in journal form. Best to search for specific protocols.

Methods in Enzymology
All the way back to 1957

Annual Reviews
Annual Review of Genetics, Biochemistry, Immunology, and on and on. Some are methods, most are excellent summaries of the state of the art.

Literature Resources

PubMed with full text
Links to PubMed through Harvard's proxy server to display available content as purple Find It @ Harvard buttons
Find it at Harvard
Countway Discovery Medicine
Using multiple EBSCO databases, Countway Discovery Medicine searches across the full text of journal articles rather than just the article title and abstract. The search is also matched against an index of terms (e.g. MeSH). If your keyword matches a term in a paper and also matches, or is a synonym of, a term in the index then that paper will rise in relevance in the results list.
Web of Science
Includes the Science Citation Index. Use this to find papers citing another paper or as a general index to the scientific literature.
BIOSIS Previews (ISI Web of Knowledge)
An index to the biological literature. Includes records for journal articles not included in MEDLINE as well as meeting abstracts.
BIOSIS Previews is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdiscplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. Nearly 5,500 serials are monitored for inclusion. In addition, the database covers content summaries, books and meeting abstracts, papers and posters. Content summaries include notes and letters, technical data reports, reviews, U.S. patents from 1986 to 1989 and from 1999, meeting reports from 1980 to present, bibliographies, nomenclature rules, and taxonomic keys. ####BIOSIS Previews (ISI Web of Knowledge)replaces BIOSIS Previews via OVID.

SciFinder Web
SciFinder Web is a Web interface for Chemical Abstracts. Search by keyword, compound, or structural formula. Register first with the link below!

Journal Citation Reports
Find the impact factor for a journal. Impact factors don't reflect the quality of individual articles.
The Journal Citation Reports is an essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations.