This is the "Finding Israeli Supreme Court Decisions" page of the "Finding Israeli Supreme Court Decisions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
library main nav Image3

Finding Israeli Supreme Court Decisions   Tags: cases, courts, foreign, israel  

This is a quick guide to using the Harvard Libraries' resources to find information about, as well as analysis and English-language translations of, Israeli Supreme Court jurisprudence.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/IsraeliSupremeCourt Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Israeli Supreme Court Decisions Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Introduction

This is a quick guide to using the Harvard Libraries' resources to find Israeli Supreme Court decisions.  It presumes that students do not read Hebrew, and provides information about finding English-language translations.

If you already know the name or citation of the opinion you are looking for, use any of the databases listed in the first box below to try to locate an English-language version of the text of the opinion.

You can also do general research to find additional Supreme Court decisions on your topic.  The resources listed in the second box below can be used to find English-language analysis of the court's jurisprudence, which will generally include case names and citations.

For general information about Israeli legal research, see GlobaLex's Israeli Legal Research Guide (free online) or Foreign Law Guide: Israel (Harvard user credentials required).  The Foreign Law Guide provides specific information about finding Israeli Supreme Court decisions on its Israel Court Reports page .  

According to the FLG, "Israeli judgments and decisions of courts and tribunals in English would represent only the smallest tip of the iceberg."  However, this page does provide a number of options to try, and also provides information about where to find opinions in Hebrew.

Note that the Supreme Court of Israel also sits as the High Court of Justice.  In this capacity, it has original jurisdiction over civil rights cases filed by citizens against government entities such as administrative agencies.  Therefore, this guide also includes resources for High Court of Justice case law.

If you need help, please contact FCIL Librarian Jennifer Allison using the contact information to the right of this box.

English-Language Translations of Supreme Court Decisions

  • Israel Law Reports  Icon
    This publication includes selected opinions from the Israel Supreme Court translated into English. This link above is to the Hollis record, which shows the library's print holdings (1992-2008) and provides a link to this resource in the law library's subscription HeinOnline database.
  • LexisNexis Academic: Israel Supreme Court Database  Icon
    This database provides English-language translations of selected Supreme Court opinions from 1948 through 2009.
  • Selected Judgments of the Supreme Court of Israel (print resource)
    This is a print resources in the law library that includes English-language translations of selected Israeli Supreme Court decisions. Date coverage is limited (mainly from the 1940s through the 1990s). It is shelved under the call number KMK18.A2 I854.
  • State of Israel Judicial Authority: English-Language Database of Israeli Supreme Court Decisions
    This is a free website provided by the State of Israel Judicial Authority. Its search interface allows the user to search, in English, for judicial opinions in several different ways, including words in the text, area of law, judges, parties, dates, and more. English-language translations of selected opinions are provided in HTML and PDF formats.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jennifer Allison
 

Getting Help from a Research Librarian

For help, visit the HLSL Ask a Librarian website: http://asklib.law.harvard.edu.  

This site includes links to all of our research guides, contact information for the research librarians (phone, text, email, chat), and a schedule of our training classes.  

Harvard University Offsite Link | Privacy Statement | Emergency Information | Trademark Notice Offsite Link

© 2010 The President and Fellows of Harvard College. All rights reserved.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip