Where to Start

To find the low hanging research fruit, start with HOLLIS+:

HOLLIS+: search for books, articles, media, and more in once search. Be sure to SIGN IN (upper right-hand corner) -- because if you don't you won't get everything the system holds for your search

If you're looking for a known item you may find it faster to use:

HOLLIS Classic: which may zero in on specific items faster than HOLLIS+

If you're not finding books you need in HOLLIS+ or HOLLIS Classic, search these 2 catalogs to find more:

Borrow Direct: lets you borrow books directly from other Ivy League libraries -- there's no charge for this service

WorldCat: a catalog of materials cataloged by libraries in the US and 82 other nations

Virginia Woolf, April 12, 1937

Selected eBooks from HOLLIS

Here's a short selection of online books available from HOLLIS:

Archives of American time : literature and modernity in the nineteenth century / Lloyd Pratt

The Europeanization of cinema : interzones and imaginative communities / Randall Halle

The imagined moment : time, narrative, and computation / Inderjeet Mani

Locating the moving image : new approaches to film and place / edited by Julia Hallam and Les Roberts

Moving environments : affect, emotion, ecology, and film / Alexa Weik von Mossner, editor

Representing the rural : space, place, and identity in films about the land / edited by Catherine Fowler and Gillian Helfield

Shivers down your spine : cinema, museums, and the immersive view / Alison Griffiths

Silent film and the politics of space / edited by Jennifer M. Bean et al

Time and imagination : chronotopes in Western narrative culture / Bart Keunen

Time and narrative / Paul Ricoeur ; translated by Kathleen McLaughlin and David Pellauer

The way Hollywood tells it : story and style in modern movies / David Bordwell

To find more such books, try Subject Searches in HOLLIS Classic for these subjects:

Space and time in motion pictures
Time in literature
Space in literature

Wright's Anna Karenina

Scorsese's Hugo

Finding Scholarly Articles

To get more scholarly material, go into these individual article databases. There may be some duplication with HOLLIS+, but you'll also find new, other material you won't ever find in HOLLIS+.

American Film Scripts Online: American film scripts, produced or written in the 20th century, ca. 1900-2001

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL): journal articles from 1920 to the present

Art Full Text: indexes and gives full text of articles from art journals published throughout the world

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines up to 2000

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus:  in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text: indexes over 300 journals with full text for 100

Film Index International: covers films from 170 countries with information on about 100,000 films

Film Literature Index (1976-2001): indexes nearly 800 film journals from 30 countries between 1976 and 2001

Google Scholar: use this Harvard-proxied link to get free, full text, scholarly articles

JSTOR: digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals, dating back as far as 1665

Literature Online, Full Text: a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources

MasterFILE Premier: full text for about 2,000 journals in a host of subjects

Media History Digital Library: online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting & sound

MLA International Bibliography: indexes over 3,000 journals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore

PsycINFO: indexes professional and academic journals in psychology

In Search of Lost Time

Cheryl's e-mail

e-mail Cheryl at: claguard@fas.harvard.edu

Online Reference Resources

Dissertations and Theses Full Text: dissertations from North American graduate schools and some European universities; full text for most dissertations from 1990 - present; the file covers 1861 to the present

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism: a survey of literary criticism and theory, with entries for individuals, critical topics, movements, theories, and contributions of specific countries and periods. International in scope

Literature Online Full Text (LION): a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources

MagillOnLiterature Plus: a large collection of literary resources including review essays, plot summaries, character descriptions, and short biographical sketches of fiction writers, poets, dramatists, and philosophers

Tarkovsky's Nostalghia

Online Tools to Expedite Scholarly Research

Chicago Manual of Style: the searchable online version of this standard style manual for bibliographies and end- or footnotes

Citation Linker: an online form for finding e-journal articles using pieces of a bibliographic citation; it links you to the electronic full text of a journal article or to the HOLLIS record showing which Harvard libraries own it

Get It: combines Interlibrary Loan, Borrow Direct, and Scan & Deliver services for locating and requesting material at Harvard Library and beyond

Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard: reference management software packages (EndNote, Mendeley, RefWorks, and Zotero) and how to use them at Harvard

Widener Call Number Locations Chart and the Stacks Diagram: use these and you can find any book in Widener

Wong Kar Wai's In the Mood for Love

Finding Images

AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet): a database of 700,000+ Associated Press photographs from the 1840s to the present. Images can be downloaded for later use.

ARTstor: approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology

Google Images:  a Google search service that lets researchers search for and locate image content on the web

Prometheus:: a digital image archive for art and culture with 1,300,000+ images

VIA (Visual Information Access): a catalog to images owned at Harvard