The Hand of a Writer
Right hand of Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1860-1935)
Plaster cast made by her daugher, Katharine Beecher Stetson, 1917
Schlesinger Library, Harvard University
Image available in HOLLIS
Page from the 1890 ms of"The Yellow Wallpaper"
Charlotte Perkins Gilman Papers (177)
Schlesinger Library, Harvard Univesity
Typescript, author's note on "The Yellow Wallpaper"
Charlotte Perkins Gilman Papers (177)
Schlesinger Library, Harvard University
Influential Texts
- On the sublime and the beautiful, Edmund Burke (1757)
- The Uncanny, Sigmund Freud (1919)
- Gothic documents: A sourcebook, 1700-1820, ed. E.J. Clery and Robert Miles
19th and 20th Century Source Materials (Harvard Library E-Resources)
Newspapers:
- Times Digital Archive (1785-1985): full-text article and page images of this daily. Sunday Times is not included, however. Searching tip: When you execute a search, your search results appear at the bottom of the page. Don't assume the database has been unresponsive: you just need to scroll down a bit.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers: offers the full "runs" of 48 titles from the period.
- America's Historical Newspapers: a large full-text collection, including many local news titles, published between 1690 and 1922.
- ProQuest Historical Newspaper Collection: allows full text searching of such major publications as the Boston Globe (1872-1979); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); New York Times (1851-2007); New York Tribune (1841-1922); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); and the Washington Post (1877-1994).
- LexisNexis Academic: best for news searching from c.1980 forward; if you are dealing with an author or topic in the late 20th century, you might find interviews or book and film reviews this way. Sometimes, it's a good idea to check your results against another Harvard e-resource, called Factiva. It contains the full-text of many newspapers that are not included in LexisNexis and its coverage is a bit deeper, in some instances, dating back to 1969.
Journals and Magazines
- 19th Century UK Periodicals: 180 periodicals, considered key primary sources for the study of the British 19th century. The titles were principally chosen from the collections of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Australia.
- Periodicals Archive Online: provides access to the contents of several hundred journals in the arts, sciences, and social sciences, with coverage in some cases stretching back two hundred years. To use the database well for 18th and 19th century content, click first on "article search" and then add year limits.
- American Periodicals Series Online: full-text of key titles published between 1741 and 1940. The collection is heavily weighted toward 19th century materials.
- Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): searchable database of important general interest and popular magazines in the U.S. and Canada through the late 20th century. If your topic would (also) have been covered in magazines and the popular press later than 1982, try Academic Search Premier.
Other:
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile: calling itself "the great index to the great century," this database is considered a comprehensive and authoritative resource for research most topics from the period. Think of it as a database of databases, all made searchable through a single interface. One of its components is the online version of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, begun in 1848. Poole's was the first systematic attempt to compile and classify articles from British magazines and journals according to their subject matter and it is a standard research tool for anyone interested in the Victorian period. In additon to periodicals, the NCM draws on other British (and increasingly, American) source materials, including newspapers, government documents, legal publications, scientific writing, and patents.