Guides
Displaced Archives -- Africa -- Middle East -- Asia -- South Asia -- East Asia -- Australia/NZ/Pacific -- Latin America/Caribbean -- Russia -- International Organizations
These include:
- Colonial archives created in the colonizing country
- Colonial archives created in the colonized country and removed to the colonizing country
- Records of missionary societies and papers of missionaries
- Personal papers of travelers and colonial officials
- Collections (often literary) in other countries
- Displaced Archives and Shared Archival Heritage: A Bibliography
- Directory of Diasporic Collections
- World-Wide Directory of Repositories holding Archives of Literature & Art
Guides
- Library Research Guide for British Colonial and Foreign Relations Sources
- Library Research Guide for History 82d: French Colonial Encounters: 1870's to Present
Many region-specific bibliographies are listed below
- Guide to African Archives
- Africana Library Catalogs and Archives on the Internet
- These journals publish guides to archival resources
- African research & documentation, 1973-
- History in Africa, 1974- .
Oxford research encyclopedias. African history. New York: Oxford University Press, 2015. 1 online resource
--Offers articles on archival and digital resources. Articles on specific subjects have a Primary Sources section.
Guides, Collections and Ancillary Materials to African Archival Resources in the United States (Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography. No.1)
Africana Library Catalogs & Archives (Columbia)
The journal History in Africa (Waltham, MA : African Studies Association, 1974- ) publishes many articles on African archives and manuscripts..
HOLLIS Record
A guide to manuscripts and documents in the British Isles relating to South and South-East Asia, by J.D. Pearson. London; NY: Mansell Pub. Ltd., 1989-1990.
HOLLIS Record
v. 1. London -- v. 2. British Isles (excluding London).
Guide to the sources of the history of the nations. B. Africa. Guide des sources de l'histoire des nations. B. Afrique. Zug, Inter Documentation, 1970-
HOLLIS Record
--Lists collections in European repositories.
Indian sources for African history: guide to the sources of the history of Africa and of the Indian diaspora in the basin of the Indian Ocean in the National Archives of India, by S. A. I. Tirmizi. Guides to the sources for the history of the nations, 2nd series, Africa south of the Sahara / International Council on Archives; v. 10/1-3. Delhi: International Writers' Emporium, c1988-1993. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record
A union list of African archival material on microform in the United States, by David P. Henige. [Madison, Wis. : University of Wisconsin--Madison, Memorial Library, 1982, 38 p.
HOLLIS Record
A guide to the sources of Nigerian history, by the National Archives of Nigeria. Lagos, Nigeria : National Archives of Nigeria, 1995, 119 p.
HOLLIS Record
Writings on African archives, by John McIlwaine et al. London ; New Jersey : Hans Zell Publishers, 1996, 279 p.
HOLLIS Record
The making of modern Africa: a guide to archives, by Chris Cook. New York : Facts on File, 1995, 218 p.
HOLLIS Record
Guia de fontes portuguesas para a história de Africa, by Instituto Português de Arquivos. Guides to the sources for the history of nations. Lisboa : Comissão Nacional para as Comemorações dos Descobrimentos Portugueses : Fundação Oriente : Imprensa Nacional-Casa da Moeda, 1991-2000. 3 v.
HOLLIS Record
Guides to materials for West African history in European archives. London : University of London, Althone Press, 1962-1973, 5 v.
HOLLIS Record
Guide to Federal archives relating to Africa, by Aloha South. Honolulu: Crossroads Press, 1977, 556 p.
HOLLIS Record
Guide to non-federal archives and manuscripts in the United States relating to Africa, by Aloha South. London ; New York : H. Zell Publishers, 1989, 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
The SCOLMA directory of libraries and special collections on Africa in the United Kingdom and in Europe, by Tom French. 5th ed. London ; New York : Hans Zell Publishers, 1993, 355 p.
HOLLIS Record
Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series. North Africa, Asia and Oceania. International Council on Archives. München; New York : K.G. Saur, 1972-
HOLLIS Record
--Lists collections in European repositories.
British Library. Dept. of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. Guide to the Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. London: Published for the British Library by British Museum Publications, 1977, 72 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Hazine: a guide to researching the Middle East and beyond
Collections in British libraries on Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, by Paul Auchterlonie. University of Durham, Centre for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies, Occasional papers series, no. 12, 1982, 98 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Middle East in Microform: a Union List of Middle Eastern Microforms in North American Libraries.
Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series. North Africa, Asia and Oceania. International Council on Archives. München ; New York : K.G. Saur, 1972-
HOLLIS Record
--Lists collections in European repositories.
Canada and Asia: guide to archive and manuscript sources in Canada, by Godfrey Raymond Nunn. London; Washington, DC: Mansell, 1998. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
Asia and Oceania: a guide to archival & manuscript sources in the United States. London; New York: Mansell, 1985. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record
British Library. Dept. of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. Guide to the Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. London: Published for the British Library by British Museum Publications, 1977, 72 pp.
HOLLISRecord
Guide to the sources in the Netherlands concerning the history of Asia and Oceania 1796-1949. Collection of inventories. .181 microfiches Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, 1979?.
HOLLIS Record
Oxford research encyclopedias. Asian history. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016. 1 online resource.
--Offers articles on archival and digital resources. Articles on specific subjects have a Primary Sources section.
Guia de fontes portuguesas para a história da Asia, by Instituto dos Arquivos Nacionais/Torre do Tombo et al. Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series, North Africa, Asia and Oceania, [v. 11] Lisboa : Comissão Nacional para as Comemorações dos Descobrimentos Portugueses : Fundação Oriente : Impr. Nacional-Casa da Moeda, 1998-
HOLLIS Record
Guia de fuentes para la historia de Asia en Espana, by Luis Sanchez Belda. Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series. North Africa, Asia, and Oceania; v. 7. Munchen; New York: K.G. Saur, 1987.
HOLLIS Record
A guide to the sources of the history of Dutch-Portuguese relations in Asia (1594-1797), by Ernst van Veen and Daniel Klijn. Leiden : Institute for the History of European Expansion, 2001, 378 p.
HOLLIS Record
Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series. North Africa, Asia and Oceania. International Council on Archives. München ; New York : K.G. Saur, 1972-
HOLLIS Record
--Lists collections in European repositories.
Canada and Asia: guide to archive and manuscript sources in Canada, by Godfrey Raymond Nunn. London; Washington, DC: Mansell, 1998. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
Asia and Oceania: a guide to archival & manuscript sources in the United States. London; New York: Mansell, 1985. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record
British Library. Dept. of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. Guide to the Department of Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books. London: Published for the British Library by British Museum Publications, 1977, 72 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources in the Netherlands concerning the history of Asia and Oceania 1796-1949. Collection of inventories. .181 microfiches Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, 1979?.
HOLLIS Record
A survey of archives and manuscripts relating to Sri Lanka and located in major London repositories, by G. P. S. Harischandra De Silva. (PGI-81/WS/4 RAMP Study) Paris: United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 1981, 100 pp.
Not at Harvard OCLC: 10547764
Survey of archives relating to India and located in major repositories in France and Great Britain, by P. S. M. Moideen. Paris : United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, 13, 34, 19, 3 p. General Information Programme and UNISIST." "PGI-83/WS/19). RAMP Study. 1983.
Not at Harvard OCLC: 11444490
Guide to the sources of Asian history. 3, India. New Delhi: National Archives of India, 1987
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources of Asian history. 8, Pakistan. Islamabad: National Archives of Pakistan, 1990-
HOLLIS Record
Collection of private papers in National Archives of India. New Delhi: National Archives of India, 1990, 40 pp.
HOLLIS Record
National register of private records. New Delhi: National Archives of India. 1971- , 23 v.
HOLLIS Record
A Guide to Indian manuscripts: materials from Europe and North America, by John F. Riddick. Reference guides to archival and manuscript sources in world history, no. 2. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993, 226 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources of Asian history. 11, Sri Lanka. International Council on Archives. Colombo : National Archives of Sri Lanka, 1996-
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources of Asian history. 10, Singapore. Singapore: Published under the auspices of UNESCO by National Archives of Singapore, 1989?-
HOLLIS Record
Chung-kuo ti 2 li shih tang an kuan chih nan. Chung-kuo tang an kuan chih nan tsung shu. Kuo chi tang an li shih hui Ya-chou shih liao chih nan. 2.2, Chung -kuo = International Council on Archives Guide to the sources of Asia History. 2.2, China. Ti 1 pan. Pei-ching shih: Chung-kuo tang an chu pan she, 1994.
HOLLIS Record
National register of archives and manuscripts in New Zealand. Vol. 1, pt. 1 (1979)- Wellington: National Library of New Zealand, 1979-
HOLLIS Record
Women in Australian Society, 1901-45: a guide to the holdings of Australian Archives relating to women, 1901-45, by Janet Reed. Canberra: Australian Government Publishing Service, 1977.
HOLLIS Record
Directory of archives and manuscript repositories in New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Niue, Tokelau, Tonga, and Western Samoa, by Frank B. Rogers. 2nd ed. Archives New Zealand; 4. Plimmerton, N.Z.: Archives Press, 1992, 73 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series. North Africa, Asia and Oceania. International Council on Archives. München ; New York : K.G. Saur, 1972-
HOLLIS Record
--Lists collections in European repositories.
Asia and Oceania: a guide to archival & manuscript sources in the United States. London; New York: Mansell, 1985. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources in the Netherlands concerning the history of Asia and Oceania 1796-1949. Collection of inventories. .181 microfiches Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, 1979?.
HOLLIS Record
Library Research Guide for Latin American Studies (Harvard)
Directory of Cultural Resource Libraries.is a directory of libraries holding materials on Indigenous cultures of the Americas
Oxford research encyclopedias. Latin American history include informative essays on various topics, plus bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
The national archives of Latin America, by Roscoe R Hill. Joint Committee on Latin American Studies of the National Research Council, American Council of Learned Societies, and Social Science Research Council. Miscellaneous publication no. 3. Cambridge Mass., Harvard University Press, 1945, 169 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Manuscript sources for the history of the West Indies: with special reference to Jamaica in the National Library of Jamaica and supplementary sources in the West Indies, North America, and United Kingdom and elsewhere, by K. E. Ingram. Barbados : University of the West Indies Press, 2000, 566 p.
HOLLIS Record
Manuscripts relating to Commonwealth Caribbean countries in United States and Canadian repositories, by K. E. Ingram. St. Lawrence, Barbados: Caribbean Universities Press, 1975.
HOLLIS Record
Guide de la recherche en histoire antillaise et guyanaise : Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Domingue, Guyane, XVIIe-XXIe siècle, sous la direction de Danielle Bégot ; avec la collaboration de Benoît Bérard et al. Paris : CTHS, 2011. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
--Offers a thorough annotated listing of both secondary and primary works. Arranged by subject.
A guide to Central American collections in the United States, by Thomas M. Leonard. Greenwood Press, 1994, 186 pp.
HOLLIS Record
A guide to Cuban collections in the United States, by Louis A. Peréz, Jr. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991, 179 p.
HOLLIS Record
A guide to collections on Paraguay in the United States, by Thomas Whigham and Jerry W. Cooney. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995, 114 p.
HOLLIS Record
Genealogical encyclopedia of the colonial Americas: a complete digest of the records of all the countries of the Western hemisphere, Christina K. Schaefer. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1998. 814 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Fuentes manuscritas para la historia de Iberoamerica: guia de instrumentos de investigacion, by Sylvia L. Hilton. Madrid: Fundacion MAPFRE America, Instituto Historico Tavera, 1995, 617 pp.
HOLLIS Record
Pre 1830.
Suplemento. Madrid : Fundación Histórica Tavera, 1997, 350 p.
HOLLIS Record
Sources of the history of Africa, Asia, Australia and Oceania in Hungary: with a supplement, Latin America. Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. 3rd series, North Africa, Asia and Oceania; v. 9. Munchen; New York: K.G. Saur, 1991, 451 pp
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources of the history of nations: A. Latin America. 43 microfiches. Zug, Switzerland: Interdocumentation Co., 1977?.
HOLLIS Record
Guia de fontes portuguesas para a história da América Latina, by Instituto dos Arquivos Nacionais/Torre do Tombo et al. Guides to the sources for the history of the nations. América Latina, v. 1. Lisboa: Comissão Nacional para as Comemorações dos Descobrimentos Portugueses Fundação Oriente Impr Nacional-Casa da Moeda, 1997-
HOLLIS Record
Guide to the sources in the Netherlands for the history of Latin America, by M. P. H. Roessingh. Guide to the sources of the history of the nations. A. Latin America, III, 2. The Hague, Govt. Pub. Office, 1968.
HOLLIS Record
Guia de fuentes para la historia de Ibero-America conservadas en Espana. Guia de fuentes para la historia de las naciones. A. America Latina, 4. Madrid: Direccion General de Archivos y Bibliotecas. 1966-1969. 2 v.
HOLLIS Record