Skip to main content

Finding a Treaty When You Have a Citation

Common Abbreviations/Where to Find Them

This list is not meant to be all-inclusive but to give guidance on some of the more commonly used abbreviations of resources where treaties can be found, in both the Harvard Law Library's print collection, as well as online collections or trusted websites.

 

Common Abbreviations for Treaty Resources
Abbreviation
Title
Print/Online Sources
Call Number
Available Online
AJIL

American Journal of International Law and

Cumulative index to the American journal of international law

AJIL - Widener Int 16.5

Index - Law School JX 1 .A8

available through multiple online databases through the Harvard Libraries portal (dates of coverage vary)
Bevans Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 Law School Harvard Depository JX236 1776 .B48x 1968

Hein Online (under Unofficial Treaty Publications)

LLMC Digital
BGBl

Bundesgesetzblatt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (includes all ratified treaties and international agreements for Germany)

Mic GER 201 T2 (Drawer 1037) (from 1990)

[In Mic Ref: Konkordanzliste: Teil II (1951-1980); Gesamtregister: Teil I (1949-1990), Teil II (1951-1990).]

 

N/A

CETS Council of Europe Treaty Series, 2004 onward (sucessor to the European Treaty Series, below) Law School JX625.9 .E97

Council of Europe Treaty Office

Westlaw

CTIA Consolidated Treaties and International Agreements, 1990-onward

Law School JX235.9 .C66

N/A

CTS

Consolidated Treaty Series, 1648-1918

Law School KZ120 .P35 1969

[Index-guide to treaties cataloged and classified separately (ILS Ref JX236.5 .I52x 1979)]

N/A

EAS Executive Agreement Series, 1929-1945
Law School JX 236.1929 N/A

ECA

and

ETS

European Treaty Series (published in pamphlet form). In bound form, they are published in European Conventions and Agreements. Law School JX625.9 .E96

Council of Europe Treaty Office

Westlaw Next (1951-onward)

For. Rel. Foreign Relations of the United States, Diplomatic Series (note, title can vary, Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States) catalogued individually in Hollis and Hollis Classic, with some selections found at Harvard-Yenching Harvard Depository (K) State Department, Office of the Historian
I.L.M. International Legal Materials Law School Reference JX68 .I5

Hein Online (under Unofficial Treaty Publications)

Westlaw Next

Lexis

JORF Journal Officiel de la République Française, Lois et decrets

 

Law School Mic FRA 202 JOU (Drawer 225-227)

Law School FRA 201 [Indexes and Tables in the stacks, items at HD] [Earlier and later years in Microform]

Law School Harvard Depository FRA 202 JOU [1870-1880]

Internet

Free E-Journals (Harvard E-Resources)

Kappler Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties Law School KF8203 1904

Hein Online (under Unofficial Treaty Publications)

Google Books (selected vols.)

KAV Hein's United States Treaties and Other International Agreements Current Microfiche Service. (This is a microfiche set of current international agreements and treaties.) Mic JX 235.9 .H45 (drawers 400-402) Hein Online (under Official Treaty Publications)
L.N.T.S. League of Nations Treaty Series, 1920-1946 Law School Harvard Depository JX 170 .L4

United Nations Treaty Collection

Hein Online (United Nations Law Collection)

 

Malloy Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements Between the United States of America and Other
Powers
Law School Reference JX236 1910

Hein Online (under Unofficial Treaty Publications)

Google Books (only vols. 1-3)

Miller Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America Law School Reference JX236 1931a

Hein Online (under Unofficial Treaty Publications)

LLMC Digital

OAS

Organization of American States Treaty Series

continued by

Inter-American Treaties and Conventions: Signatures, Ratifications, and Deposits with Explanatory Notes

Law School Reference JX236.5 .I57x 1993 OAS web site
OJ Official Journal of the European Communities

Law School KJE908 .L43 [Kept until replaced by microform]

and

Law School Mic KJE908 .L43a [Microfiche]

Eur-Lex

Westlaw Next

Lexis

RGTF Recueil general des Traites de la France (1919-onwards) Law School Harvard Depository JX 686 1976 .F7 N/A
RTAF Recueil des Traites et Accords de la France (1919-onwards) Law School KZ685.3 .R43 N/A
S. EXEC. DOC. Senate Executive Documents (name until 1979, see Senate Treaty Docs, below)
Lamont Library Microfiche W 5413

Archive of Americana (within the CIS Serial Set module)

Lexis Nexis Congressional

Thomas

S. TREATY DOC. (sometimes abbreviated as US Treaty Doc.) Senate Treaty Documents (name after 1979) For print resources, use the CIS Index, at Law School Mic KF 49 .C62 The Index volume will have an Index of Document Numbers. Treaty docs are the last heading in that section.

Archive of Americana (within the CIS Serial Set module)

Thomas

Lexis Nexis Congressional

Stat. United States Statutes at Large

Law School KF 50 .U5

Law School Mic KF 50 .U5a

FDSYS

Hein Online (under Official Treaty Publications and also within the Statutes at Large library)

LLMC Digital

Westlaw Next, 1789-1972

Westlaw Next, 1973-2012

Westlaw Next, 2009-current

Lexis

T.S. Treaty Series, 1784-1944 (treaties published in pamphlet form, continued with the EAS in TIAS) Law School JX235.9 .A3 N/A
T.I.A.S. Treaties and Other International Acts Series (continues the Treaty Series and Executive Agreement Series) Law School JX 235.9 .A32 [Pre-1992 at Harvard Depository]

Hein Online (under Official Treaty Publications)

State Department, Office of Treaty Affairs (only 1996-2001)

UKTS United Kingdom Treaty Series (1892 to date) Law School KZ635.3 .T74  N/A
UNTS United Nations Treaty Series (1946 to date)

Law School Mic  JX 170.U35

Law School JX 170.U35

 

United Nations Treaty Collection

Hein Online (United Nations Law Collection)

 

UST United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (1950 to date) Law School Mic JX 170.U35 and Law School JX235.9 .A34

Hein Online (under Official Treaty Publications)

LLMC Digital

Vert. or VBD Vertrage der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Series A. Multilaterale Vertrage (1955 to date)

Law School KZ695.3 .V47 (1955-1990)

Law School KZ695.3 .V47 (1991-date)

N/A
Wiktor Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976 Law School Reference JX236 1776 .U56 N/A