Musical Theater Research Guide

Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre, 1880 – 2000##Our new digital archive is sure to receive rave reviews fromthose wanting to know more about behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film, and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century.

A multidisciplinary electronic index to the performing arts periodical literature with full text for over 100 journals. The index covers material from 1998 forward, with some retrospective listings.

Fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries, and more than contains more than 450 full-text titles.

An electronic index of music publications, IIMP draws its current content from nearly 400 international music periodicals from over 30 countries, and also indexes feature music articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. This service contains publications from Acta Musicologica: Societe Internationale de Musicologie to the Music Educators Journal to Zeitschrift fuer Musikwissenschaft (1918-1935).

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features a wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM Abstracts of Music Literature also includes nearly 850,000 records with over 52,000 new records are added every year.

The Music Index Online provides citations to articles, book and record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from over 690 international music periodicals covering a wide range of historical, musicological, and ethnomusicological topics.