Image databases

Library of Congess Prints & Photographs
Browse thousands of images from the Online collections, from Ansel Adams' Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar to baseball cards 1887-1914 to images of Native American culture in the Pacific Northwest and more.

AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet)
A searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present. Accompanying captions and credits are also included. Images can be downloaded for later use. This database can be searched by topic, location, date and concept.

ARTstor
A database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history and other humanistic fields of learning, including the related social sciences. The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
This database contains digital images and detailed descriptions for over 115,000 works of art from major museums in the United States and Canada. Simple or advanced modes allow searching by artist, title of work, date, medium, subject, collection, and location. The standard for image resolution is 1024 x 768 pixels. Images may be printed and exported for educational purposes.

The Center for Creative Photography
These photographs, archives, manuscripts, rare books, and more are managed by the University of Arizona.  Explore work by North America's most important modern photographers.

Flickr: The Commons
Images made available through Flickr's partnership with cultural institutions.

George Eastman House: Library Reference Services
Finding aids for the George Eastman House collection as well as searching services for The Richard and Ronay Menschel Library.  

George Eastman House. Photography Collections Online.
Search or browse through thousands of digital images from the vast photography holdings of George Eastman House.

Getty Images Inc. Time & Life Pictures: Defining Visions of an Enduring History
A searchable online collection of photographs from Time and Life magazines, many by some of the greatest photographers of the 20th century, documenting past and present events in politics, culture, celebrities and the arts.

The International Center for Photography
The Photography Collection contains over 100,000 items, including vintage photographs in a variety of media, as well as negatives, contact sheets, slides, and cased images.

The J. Paul Getty Museum 
A dense, browsable collection of photographs in numerous and unique formats from the collections of the Getty Museum.

LIFE photo archive hosted by Google 
Provides access to 2 million photos scanned from the LIFE Magazine archives.

Magnum Photos
Founded in 1947, Magnum is a cooperative of 80 distinguished photographers who have worked for nearly every major publication in the world over the past half century.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art 
Explore the art and artifact collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art through browsing or searching.  Find recent acquisitions, new installations, and more.  

New York Public Library. Photography Collection
“The Photography Collection of the New York Public Library comprises approximately 400,000 photographs, including examples of almost every photographic process from the earliest daguerreotypes to contemporary digital images.” This site includes a list of photographers represented in the library’s collection, digital images from selected collections, online exhibits, and other information.

PhotoGraphic Libraries
Provides links to hundreds of sources for online images, divided into over 30 categories, from stock images to fine art photographs and historical collections in libraries and archives to student galleries.

Subject Guide

Joanne Bloom