Museum Collections
Harvard Art Museum
The Harvard Art Museum is one of the world's leading arts institutions, comprised of three museums and four research centers. The museum is distinguished by the range and depth of its collections, its groundbreaking exhibitions, and the original research of its staff. The collection includes more than 260,000 objects ranging in date from ancient times to the present from Europe, North America, North Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia
The Harvard Art Museum is one of the world's leading arts institutions, comprised of three museums and four research centers. The museum is distinguished by the range and depth of its collections, its groundbreaking exhibitions, and the original research of its staff. The collection includes more than 260,000 objects ranging in date from ancient times to the present from Europe, North America, North Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Among the finest in the Western world, the MFA's collection of Asian art covers the creative achievement of more than half the world's population since 4,000 BC. The collection encompasses Japanese, Chinese, and Indian painting and sculpture; Japanese prints and metalwork; Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese ceramics; and the arts of the Islamic world.
Among the finest in the Western world, the MFA's collection of Asian art covers the creative achievement of more than half the world's population since 4,000 BC. The collection encompasses Japanese, Chinese, and Indian painting and sculpture; Japanese prints and metalwork; Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese ceramics; and the arts of the Islamic world.
National Palace Museum, Taiwan
A database provided by the National Palace Museum in Taiwan. The site includes high quality digital images of objects in the Museum’s collection and catalog information about each object. The site provides access in English as well as Chinese and Japanese. Access to digital copies of all Museum periodical publications is also available.
A database provided by the National Palace Museum in Taiwan. The site includes high quality digital images of objects in the Museum’s collection and catalog information about each object. The site provides access in English as well as Chinese and Japanese. Access to digital copies of all Museum periodical publications is also available.
The Arthur M. Sackler and Freer Gallery of Art: the National Museums of Asian Art at the Smithsonian Institution
The Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery contain some of the most important holdings of Asian art in the world. In addition, the Freer Gallery boasts exemplary examples of late-nineteenth-century works of American landscape and portraiture by James McNeill Whistler and his contemporaries.
The Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery contain some of the most important holdings of Asian art in the world. In addition, the Freer Gallery boasts exemplary examples of late-nineteenth-century works of American landscape and portraiture by James McNeill Whistler and his contemporaries.
Tokyo National Museum
Tokyo Kokuritsu Hakubutsukan (The Tokyo National Museum) collects and exhibits important cultural items from Japan and other countries in the Far East, and currently houses a huge collection of 89,000 items, including almost 100 designated National Treasures and over 500 Important Cultural Properties.
Tokyo Kokuritsu Hakubutsukan (The Tokyo National Museum) collects and exhibits important cultural items from Japan and other countries in the Far East, and currently houses a huge collection of 89,000 items, including almost 100 designated National Treasures and over 500 Important Cultural Properties.
Nara National Museum
The museum is noted for its collection of Buddhist art, including images, sculpture, and altar articles. The museum houses and displays works of art belonging to temples and shrines in the Nara area.
The museum is noted for its collection of Buddhist art, including images, sculpture, and altar articles. The museum houses and displays works of art belonging to temples and shrines in the Nara area.