Research Guides: Research Guide for Korean Studies: Maps

Maps

E-Kyujanggak: Old Maps 규장각 고지도 E-Kyujanggak, a website that offers digitized collections of the Kyujanggak Institute of Seoul National University, provides high-definition digital images of more than 220 old Korean maps along with detailed information about the regions that each map covers. A location index allows a user to search a location name on the maps, which is represented as a red dot on the map images. A special viewer needs to be downloaded.
Old maps of Korea - National Library of Korea 국립중앙도서관 고지도 Digital images of more than 90 old Korean maps. Maps are arranged by titles and searchable by geographic name on the maps. A detailed geographic name index is also available in each map image.
Library of Congress - Maps of Korea The Library of Congress Geography and Map Division has digitized a number of modern and historical maps of Korea and made them available to the public. To browse or search the entire Map Collections database, see their web page.
Sea of Korea Map Digital Archive (University of Southern California) The Sea of Korea Maps Digital Archive consists of original old maps, dating from 1606 to 1895, in English, French, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Latin, German and Russian. Held by the University of Southern California Library, this archive includes maps both of Korea specifically and of the broader East Asian region.
East Asia - Images of Early Maps on the Web -- Map History / History of Cartography: THE Gateway to the Subject Part of the WWW-Virtual Library: History. Provides links to collections of maps of Korea with brief descriptions of each, as well as maps of Asia more broadly.

Finding Maps of Korea at Harvard

The Harvard-Yenching Library and the Harvard Map Collection hold maps of Korea dating from the eighteenth century on; most are from the twentieth century. Only a small percentage of holdings from the Harvard Map Collection are currently in HOLLIS. Please consult collection staff to determine holdings.

To find maps of Korea in HOLLIS, go to Advanced Search. Select 'Library Catalog' for the Search for option, then enter the search term Korea* as Keywords anywhere and select Maps under Resource Type.

HOLLIS list of Korea Maps
Harvard Geo-Spatial Library The Harvard Geospatial Library offers search tools for finding geographic data, GIS data for download and on-line geographic data exploration tools. Current holdings include GIS data for the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.