English and American Literature and Language: Resources for Graduate Students

American National Biography Online A standard source for U.S. historical biography with over 17,000 individual entries. The ANB Online is fully searchable and includes illustrations, cross-references, and links to external web sites. (HJB)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography The electronic version of the new edition of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography published in 2004, the sixty volumes of which include 50,000 biographies and some 10,000 images of deceased "men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past." Enhancements available online include the ability to view articles from the earlier edition of the DNB; a "Themes" section that provides access to "reference lists" of individuals who have held particular offices (e.g., Archbishops of Canterbury) and to essays on various topics (e.g., The General Election of 1964: Forty Years On), and links to relevant web sites. (HJB)

Dictionary of Literary Biography A useful basic literary reference source, with biographical-critical essays on authors included, heavily illustrated with photos, manuscript facsimiles, etc., includes references for interviews, critical writings. Coverage is international, with emphasis on English and American.

Biography and Geneaology Master Index An index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Biography in Context

World Biographical Information System Index "An index to names appearing in the World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online). The WBIS organizes material from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and corresponds to the full text microfiche set available at the Widener reference desk. After searching the online index patrons must use the microfiche set in Widener to see full biographical information to entries.

The WBIS Index includes people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide."