These are selected, representative sources, licensed by Harvard, all of which offer digitized texts of interest for literary studies.
Texts include works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900. Secondary sources include LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to other Web resources, and biographical information for authors.
Pollard & Redgrave's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 ("STC I") and Donald Wing's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700 ("STC II") and Thomason Tracts, which contains more than 22,000 broadsides ranging from political speeches to religious tracts to newspaper stories from the period 1640-60.
Early American Imprints, Series 1, 1639-1800
...books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America from 1639 to 1800, recorded in Charles Evans' American Bibliography and Roger P. Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography, which includes material on virtually every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America
Early American Imprints, Series 2, 1801-1819
...books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America from 1801-1819, recorded in American Bibliography: A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819 by Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker, including material on virtually every aspect of life in early 19th-century America
Eighteenth Century Collections Online/ECCO
Access to digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
When complete, this source will include facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries." Topics covered in the various titles include literature, philosophy, history, science, fine arts, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architectu
Full-text electronic editions of works by major philosophical figures, in both original language and in English translation. Areas covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and German studies. Texts include published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.
| Anselm, Saint, Archbishop of Canterbury | Anselm, Opera Omnia |
| Thomas Aquinas, Saint | Aquinas, Works |
| Aristotle | Works |
| Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo | Augustine, Opera Omnia |
| Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo | Augustine, Works |
| Austin, J.L. | Works |
| Ayer, A.J. | Writings |
| Bentham, Jeremy | Correspondence |
| Bentham, Jeremy | Works |
| Berkeley, George | Works |
| British Philosophy: 1600-1900 | Including works by Francis Bacon, Thomas Hobbes, British Moralists (Selections), Anne Conway, John Locke, Bishop George Berkeley, David Hume, Adam Smith, Edmund Burke, David Ricardo, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, Henry Sidgwick. |
| Calvin, Jean | Works of John Calvin |
| Collingwood, R.G. | Philosophical Texts |
| Continental Rationalists | Rene Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, Gottfried Leibniz |
| Davidson, Donald | Essays & Inquiries |
| Descartes, Rene | Oeuvres Complètes |
| Dewey, John | Correspondence |
| Dewey, John | Works |
| Fichte, Johann | Sämmtliche Werke und Nachlass |
| Hegel, Georg | OUP Translations |
| Hegel, Georg | Werke (Vol. 1) |
| Hobbes, Thomas | English Works |
| Hume, David | Works & Correspondence |
| Kant, Immanuel | Hauptwerke |
| Kant, Immanue: | Philosophische Briefe |
| Kierkegaard, Soren | Journals & Papers |
| Kierkegaard, Soren | Samlede Værker |
| Knox, John | Works |
| Leibniz, Gottfried Wilhelm | Philosophische Schriften |
| Locke | Works & Selected Correspondence |
| Luther, Martin | Sermons |
| Marx & Engels | Collected Works of Karl Marx and Frederick Engels |
| Nietzsche, Friedrich | Nietzsches Werke |
| William, of Ockham | Work of Ninety Days |
| Peirce, Charles Sanders | Collected Papers |
| Peirce, Charles Sanders | Published Works I |
| Plato | Collected Dialogues |
| Poinsot, John (John of St. Thomas) | Tractatus de Signis (Ars Logica) |
| Political Philosophy | Machiavelli to Mill |
| Rationalists | Descartes-Leibniz-Spinoza |
| Santayana, George | Works |
| Sidgwick, Henry | Works & Select Correspondence |
| Weber, Max | Gesammelte Werke |
| Wittgenstein, Ludwig | Collected Works |
| Wittgenstein, Ludwig | Nachlass |
Texts of plays, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, etc. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,500 plays, of which some 20% have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
A selection of film scripts, produced or written in the 20th century; includes independent films as well as those created by major studios.
Covers all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre from colonial times to the present.
Plays written from the 1850s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. Nearly a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Zora Neale Hurston, and Randolph Edmonds. Users can search the full text of the plays as well as investigate authors, themes, scenes, and characters. Additions to the database are made quarterly.
A full-text database of monographs, essays, articles, speeches and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the early 19th century to 1975. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass, and will include works by W.E.B. DuBois, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Malcolm X, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others. Approximately 20% of the collection has not been previously published.
Black Short Fiction includes short stories published from the mid-1900s to the present. The database also features previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by many authors. Fables and folktales, many dating back centuries, are also widely represented within the collection. Currently the database contains nearly 800 stories and folktales, and when complete it will contain about 8,000 works
Latino Literature: Drama, Poetry and Fiction
The majority of Latino Literature is in English, with selected works of particular importance (approximately 25% of the collection) presented in Spanish. The three major components deliver approximately 200 novels and many hundreds of short stories
"full-text database of more than 250 plays by Asian American dramatists, with related theatrical production and biographical material. Collection begins in the late 19th century with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann, and will include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda and Elizabeth Barroga"
South and Southeast Asian Literature
Literature written in English by writers from or culturally identifed with South and Southeast Asia. Most of the works included are from the late colonial periond though to the present.
It includes the text of several English and foreign language Bible translations accessible through the Gospel Communications Network. Versions include the NIV (New International Version), the RSV (Revised Standard Version), the KJV (King James Version), Darby (translated by J.N. Darby), YLT (Young's Literal Translation), Elberfelder (German), SV1917 (Swedish), the Latin Vulgate, LSG (French), the RVA (Spanish), and selections from a Tagalog translation. These versions can be searched by passage, word(s), and biblical book.