Indexes for Film Studies

FIAF International FilmArchive Database (1972-)
The main database, the International Index to Film Periodicals contains over 230,000 article references from more than 300 academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.

Film Index International
Lists about 100,000 films from 170 countries with cast and production information. Also offers references to periodical articles about each film, many of which are not included in FIAF, and biographical data for 40,000 film industry figures.


Indexes to journal articles

MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography
Provides references to scholarly articles in over 3,000 literature journals and books of collected essays from 1926 to the present. (Does not include book reviews. The next index, ABELL, does include them.) Full text is provided for many journal articles.

Literature Online (LION) includes:
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Beginning in 1920, this index lists monographs, periodical articles, book reviews, and critical editions of literary works in English Literature - including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors. Many recent citations link to full-text articles.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database offers annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the present from over 2,000 historical journals from virtually every major country. All abstracts are written in English. In addition to articles, Historical Abstracts includes citations to historical books and dissertations.

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the primary bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, as well as state and local history journals. In addition to articles, the database includes book and media reviews and citations to dissertations.
Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life can be searched together as a single database by clicking on "Choose databases" found to the right of each database's title near the top center of the opening screen and selecting both from the list.

ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view. There are links from cited articles in more than 50 journals to page images of the articles themselves. Strong coverage from 1949-present, with some retrospective indexing back to 1881.

International Medieval Bibliography (Via Brepols portal page)
Indexes journal articles, essay collections, and conference proceedings and includes virtually all disciplines within medieval studies.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (Via Brepols portal page)
(Formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography)
A comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present. Includes all references cited from 1901 – 2002 in the Annual Bibliographies of British and Irish History and its predecessor, Writings on British History, as well as pre-1901 citations from Oxford’s Bibliography of British History series.

FRANCIS
An index published by the Centre Nationale de Recherches Scientifiques (Paris), strong on books and articles in the humanities and social sciences published in western europe.

IBZ: Internationale Bibliographie der geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriftenliteratur.
An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature focusing on the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. It contains over 3.2 million journal articles from 11,500 journals, including many in English.

International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index contains citations to articles in more than 400 scholarly journals published in Latin America or treating Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics. Dates of coverage: 1970 to present.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook of Latin American Studies contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference papers from 1990 to the present.

Periodicals Index Online
An index to the contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1990/1991. The journals are primarily American and British, but include many European language publications.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Poole's)
provides access to a growing number of periodical, newspaper, patent and government document indexes from the US and UK. Sample titles: Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Catalog of Scientific Papers (Royal Society, in progress); Congressional Record File; New York Daily Tribune Index (1875-1906); Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Commons only (1803-1830); Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Lords only (1803-1830); and Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England (1066-1803). It now provides somewhat erratic links from database citations to full text via Google books.

American Periodical Series 1740-1900
Indexes and links to digitized page images, of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. The bulk of the collection dates from the 19th-century; periodicals that began publication before 1900 and continued into the 20th century are included through 1940.

Academic Search Premier
A general-purpose index to both popular and academic articles, a majority of which are full text. Particularly useful for book and film reviews.

Women's Studies International
Citations and abstracts are drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases which range in coverage from classic works & core studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.

GenderWatch
The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and special reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.