St. Ursula, Cologne. Reliquary Casket. Germany Cologne

Primary Sources

ARTFL Project: Multi-lingual Bibles
Searchable parallel versions of the Bible in French, German, English, and Latin.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Database of extensive early and medieval Christian writings searchable by author, title, and subject. Created and maintained by Calvin College.

Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse

Collection of Middle English texts assembled by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive and works created specifically for this Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiative.

Corpus Thomisticum: S. Thomae de Aquino: Opera omnia
Complete works of St. Thomas Aquinas. In Latin. Created and maintained by the
Fundación Tomás de Aquino.

The Dictionary of Old English Corpus
A searchable collection of 3037 texts, representing a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Covers Great Britain in Old English and Latin.

e-rara: Schweizer Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts

Multiple Swiss libraries have joined in an ongoing project to digitize important 16th century religious texts with an emphasis on the Reformation. Texts may be searched and downloaded as PDFs. In German.

In Parentheses
Index to PDFs of medieval texts, translations, and commentaries from a wide variety of disciplines. Created and maintained by York University.

Library of Latin Texts 
Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian, chiefly from the following corpora: Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina Corpus Christianorum.Continuatio Medievalis; Corpus Christianorum ecclesiasticorum Latinorum; Patrologiae cursus completus. Series Latina; Patrologiae Latinae supplementum; Sources chrétiennes; S. Bernardi opera omnia and Biblia sacra juxta vulgatam versionem. The Continuatio assembles Christian texts from the Carolingian era to the end of the Middle Ages. It also includes works absent from Migne's Patrologia Latina or previously published incomplete. 

Literature of the French Middle Ages
Index of links to internet resources for French medieval literature. Created and maintained Professor Robert Peckham at University of Tennessee, Martin.

Medieval SourcesOnline
Web-based learning resource containing hundreds of original medieval history documents compiled for the teaching and study of history. Developed from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series.

eMGH2: Monumenta Germaniae Historica
The eMGH-2 contains a selection of more than 400 works from different series and also offers a majority of the texts that have been edited in the subseries, Auctores Antiquissimi and Scriptores rerum Merovingicarum.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica
Portal to digital projects from the Monumenta Germaniae Historica. Created by the Deutsches Institut für Erforschung des Mittelalters and available without subscription on the Internet. In German.

Narrative Sources From the Medieval Low Countries
This database is intended to give an exhaustive and critical survey of all the narrative sources originating from the medieval Low Countries including annals, chronicles, letters, diaries, poems, saint's lives, and genealogies.

The Online Medieval and Classical Library
Index to full-text sources searchable by author, title, genre, and language. Created and maintained by independant scholars.

The ORB: Internet Medieval Sourcebook
An excellent aggregate Web site with extensive full-text excerpts and complete documents. Primary source material is organized by period.

Patrologia Latina
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, published between 1844 and 1855, and divided into two parts, the Series Latina and the Series Graeco-Latina.

Sermones.net
Project to create an searchable electronic edition of the corpus of Latin sermons. The first group of works completed is more than 100 sermons of Jacobus da Voragine. This website comprises a portal with many links to associated historical material, bibliographies, electronic journals, discussion groups, and announcements.

Thomas Instituut te Utrecht: Research Program
Based on a series of extensive research projects on the world and thought of St. Thomas Aquinas. Excellent section of online research tools and links to related resources.

Vetus Latina
The body of Latin biblical texts which were in existence and use from the second century AD/CE until the Vulgate became predominant. Searchable by book, verse, and author.

Research Assistance

Shalimar White's picture
Shalimar White
Contact:
Fine Arts Library, Littauer Center
617-495-0678
Website / Blog Page