Jewish Theological Seminary. Prato Haggadah. MS 8478, fol. 33r

Bibliographies & Library Catalogs

Ancient and Medieval Electronic Texts
Annotated bibliography of online text archives of ancient and medieval material that are of interest to church historians, theologians, biblical scholars, archaeologists, and other scholars. Created and maintained by Ecumenism in Canada.

Annotated Bibliography of Typography, Letterpress Printing, and Other Arts of the Book

Historical printing resources created and maintained by Five Roses Press.

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature

Excellent bibliographical resource published since 1911 by the Historical Association. Each issue contains references to new publications of primary and secondary sources for the medieval period.

artlibraries.net
Provides the ability to search simultaneously across more than 30 international art library catalogs. Participants include kubikat.org which is the union catalog of the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, the Bibliotheca Hertziana, and the Kunsthistorisches Institut as well as art history institutions in Germany France, Austria, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, UK, Switzerland, US, and Canada. Click here a complete list of participants.

Art Libraries Network—Florence/Munich/Rome

The Union Catalogue of the three German research institutes was initiated by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). Amongst its special features are coverage of articles in periodicals etc., and subject indexing for all titles entered since 1996. Database copntent continues to increase with the retrospective conversion of member library card catalogs. 

Bibles Moralisées
Bibliography of print resources relating to all editions of the Bible Moralisée.Created and maintained by faculty at the Courtauld Institute of Art.

Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale
Established by the Centre d´Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale (Université de Poitiers) to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften). Focuses on the Central Middle Ages, but will be expanded in stages to cover both the Early and Late Middle Ages. Current coverage comprises 40,000 titles from 1958 to 2003, i.e. the the relevant content from the bibliography in the Cahiers de civilisation médiévale. May be searched simultaneously with the International Medieval Bibliography.

Bibliographie faksimilierter Handschriften
Online version of Hans Zotter’s 1976 publication includes entries for collection location, facsimile title, and personal names.

Bibliographie zum Nachleben des antiken Mythos
Extensive bibliography of printed and electronic sources covering study classical mythology from the 15th century to the present. Created and maintained by the Kommission für antike Literatur & lateinische Tradition. In German.

Bibliographie zur Mittelalter-Numismatik
Covers all aspects of medieval numismatics. Browse by publication type or title. In German.

Bibliography on Women in Byzantium

Extensive bibliography of print resources created in 2004 by scholars and staff at Dumbarton Oaks in conjunction with the exhibition, Women of Byzantium.

Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina Manuscripta
Searchable index of the catalog of Latin hagiography compiled by the Société des Bollandistes at the Université Catholique de Louvain. In French & Latin.

British Library Manuscripts Catalogue
Online catalog of British Library manuscript collections without images.  May be searched by keywords of manuscript number. Contains all types of handwritten material in Western languages; documents ranging in date from the pre-Christian era to the present day; manuscript acquisitions of the British Museum and British Library from 1753 onwards. For digital collections, see British Library Digital Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts.

The European Library
Designed to provide access to the research community worldwide, this Library catalog portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Users can cross-search and reuse over 9,548,758 digital items and 103,425,199 bibliographic records. To facilitate further research, links are also provided to other websites in the Europeana group.

IMB: The International Medieval Bibliography Online
A comprehensive, current bibliography of journal articles, essay collections and conference proceedings in this interdisciplinary field. Areas covered include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. May be searched simultaneously with the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale.

Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK)
Provides the ability to search simultaneously across multiple European University library catalogs using an English language interface.

Liber Antiquus: bibliographie générale
Extensive bibliography on the book in Antiquity. In French.

Medieval Western Monasticism
Library research guide to print and electronic resources created and maintained by the University of Calgary.

The Networkof Libraries and Information Centers in Switzerland (NEBIS)
The Network of Libraries and Information Centers in Switzerland comprises the catalogs of over 80 university, technical college, and research institute libraries from all language regions. The NEBIS catalog contains approximately 3 million titles, including books, serials, journals and non-book materials. Many documents may be ordered online.

Repertorium Chronicarum: A Bibliography of the Manuscripts of Medieval Latin Chronicles
This resource attempts to record in a single reference work the location of every known manuscript of every known Latin chronicle of the Middle Ages. Included are all Latin narratives of public (national, civic, political, military, corporate, ecclesiastical) events: chronicles, annals, histories, chronologies, notes on events; and the implied narratives of such events: catalogues of popes, emperors, and kings, and genealogies of emperors and kings. Searchable by keyword and browsable by title.

Repertorium Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi
Personal name and subject index to the Repertorium. In Italian and Latin.

Scholastic Bibliography
Searchable by assigned subject headings. Created and maintained by the Aquinas Center of Theology at Emory University.

WorldCat
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries in the United States and in 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database.

Research Assistance

Shalimar White's picture
Shalimar White
Contact:
Fine Arts Library, Littauer Center
617-495-0678
Website / Blog Page