Information
Online (Harvard affiliates only)
Open access
Open access
Renaissance Studies - Databases
- Iter ItalicumThis online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum contains descriptive listings of uncataloged Renaissance manuscripts. The manuscripts can be searched by geographic location, library and description keywords.
- Les Bibliothèques Virtuelles HumanistesCe programme a pour objectif de fournir dans les quatre ans qui viennent environ 2000 ouvrages des XVIe-XVIIe sièc les provenant des fonds patrimoniaux régionaux, avec l'espoir d'en proposer au moins 10% en mode texte, le reste étant accessible, en ligne et gratuitement, par une numérisation image de qualité.
- Oxford Dictionary of the RenaissanceThis Dictionary covers all aspects of history, society and culture in 14th to 17th century Europe.
- Traditio ClassicorumThe following pages contain a bibliography of secondary literature concerning the fortuna of classical authors to the year 1650.
- Vernacular Aristotelianism in Renaissance Italy, c. 1400-c. 1650The Vernacular Aristotelianism in Renaissance Italy Database is a searchable catalogue of Aristotelian works written or published in Italian between 1400 and 1650. The census covers both manuscript and printed sources preserved in libraries in Italy, other European countries and the US.
- Italian Renaissance Learning ResourcesFree resource on Italian Renaissance art available from Oxford University Press and the National Gallery of Art,
Washington, generously supported by the Samuel H. Kress Foundation. It features eight units on different
themes of Italian Renaissance art, each with well-illustrated essays written by NGA staff, primary source documents, discussion questions, classroom activities, and glossary terms and biographies excerpted from Grove Art Online entries.
Working tools for Renaissance texts
- Database of Latin DictionariesThe Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD) provides access to a growing number of Latin dictionaries. The database will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: * Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages (English, French, German, and other) * Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words * Historical Latin dictionaries The Database of Latin Dictionaries is linked to the Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT), permitting to search on a word in a dictionary within the DLD and to identify actual occurrences of the word within its context in the CLCLT and vice versa.
- Glossarium mediæ et infimæ latinitatisLe Glossarium mediae et infimae latinitatis, initialement publié par Charles du Fresne, sieur du Cange (1610-1688), est un glossaire du latin médiéval, en latin moderne.
- Cappelli dictionary of Latin abbreviations onlineA. Cappelli, Dizionario di abbreviature Latini ed Italiani, Milano 1912.
- Enigma - Déchiffrer les mots latins difficiles dans les manuscrits médiévauxEnigma est destiné à faciliter la lecture des mots latins difficiles à déchiffrer dans les manuscrits.
- In PrincipioIn Principio features over 1 million incipits, covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance. It is an inevitable research tool for those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Coverage: Latin Literature from its origins to the Renaissance
- Scriptores Possessoresque Codicum Medii AeviDatabase of mediaeval manuscripts' scribes and owners. The database is integrated with the "Scriptores codicum medii aevi". The information on each scribe or owner of a manuscript includes: name; short biographical data with city of origin and birth and death dates; libraries holding manuscript(s); references to secondary literature.
- Watermark databasesWatermarks in manuscripts and incunables. From the International Association of Paper Historians.
Bibliographies & Indices
- Oxford Bibliographies - British and Irish LiteratureRenaissance + Reformation studies
- Iter BibliographyThe Iter Bibliography covers Medieval and Renaissance Studies literature and contains over 1 million citations for journal articles, essays, books, discographies and dissertation abstracts. Coverage: Varies with the material; indexes journals published since 1794.
- An Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin TextsThe enormous profusion of literary texts posted on the World Wide Web will no doubt strike future historians as remarkable and important. But this profusion brings with it an urgent need for many specialized on-line bibliographies. The present one is an analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later that are freely available to the general public on the Web.
- Nuovo Rinascimento (Danilo Romei)"La Banca Dati Telematica "Nuovo Rinascimento" accoglie testi elettronici di opere di autori italiani, saggi, bibliografie, materiali didattici e materiali informatici in generale, pertinenti alla storia e all'attualità della letteratura e della cultura italiana."
I Tatti Renaissance Library
The I Tatti Renaissance Library is the only series that makes available to a broad readership the major literary, historical, philosophical, and scientific works of the Italian Renaissance written in Latin. Each volume provides a reliable Latin text together with an accurate, readable English translation on facing pages, accompanied by an editor's introduction, notes on the text, brief bibliography, and index.