Reference Tools
物語要素事典 神山重彦作成
主な文学賞データベース 市川市立図書館作成
Research Institutions
国文学研究資料館 National Institute of Japanese Literature
国際日本文化研究センター International Research Center for Japanese Studies
日本近代文学館 The Museum of Modern Japanese Literature
国立国語研究所 National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics
Resource portal
Pre-Modern Literature
ふみくら：十九世紀小説 高木元作成
近世絵入版本講座 Workshop on the Eraly Japanese Illustrated Book By Jun Suzuki in 2000
An episodic festschrift for Howard Hibbett (episodes 1-26) English Translations of 25 works of Edo popular literature.
Medieval Literature
笠間索引叢書 笠間書院刊行の「笠間索引叢刊」のうち国文学研究資料館が著作権の譲渡を受けたものについて、公開
藤原定家の著作と平安朝古典籍の書写校勘に関する総合データベース 渋谷栄一作成
平安朝漢詩文総合データベース 早稲田大学
伊勢物語の世界 奈良女子大学
Premodern Japanese texts and translations Created and maintained by Michael Watson.
Taketori Monogatari (Tale of the Bamboo Cutter) with classical Japanese reading aid.
デジタル源氏物語 Developed by the Uiversity of Tokyo Library
Modern Literature
夏目漱石デジタル文学館 神奈川近代文学館作成 掲載収蔵品一覧 550 items including his manuscripts, letters, photos, art works are viewable. All letters accompany transcriptions.
鴎外文庫書入れ本画像データベース 東京大学
日本の現代作家 京都外国語大学作成
Contemporary Japanese Literature Blog maintained by Kathryn Hemmann, with book reviews and useful links.
Colonial literature
Poetry
Science Fiction
早川SF文庫データベース Bibliographic data for 1806 titles from the Hayakawa SF series.
SF書籍・雑誌データベース English-language search available.
Works in Translation
Japanese Literature in Translation Searchable database maintained by the Japan Foundation.
JLPP Translation Works Ongoing project of translating modern Japanese literature into several languages, funded by the Agency of Cultural Affairs.
Translations Published in Monumenta Nipponica Type "translation" in keyword search
Premodern Japanese texts and translations Created and maintained by Michael Watson.
An episodic festschrift for Howard Hibbett (episodes 1-26) English Translations of 25 works of Edo popular literature.
Rare Books 古典籍
Japanese Classics full-text database 古典選集本文データベース Includes Nijuichidai shu 二十一代集, Eiri Genji monogatari 絵入源氏物語, Azuma kagami 吾妻鏡 and more; fully searchable.
近世絵手本画譜類画像検索データベース （金沢美術工芸大学）
京都府総合資料館 180 titles including picture scrolls and prints.
米国議会図書館蔵奈良絵本 Four fully digitized books held by the Library of Congress.
Digital Content
日本近代文学（早稲田大学古典籍総合データベース） Keyword search "日本近代文学" yields some 900 titles.
日本文学原本画像検索データベース Union catalog of digitized classic Japanese books in Japanese universities.
Modern Japanese literature Image database 近代書誌・近代画像データベース Includes over 4000 Meiji-period works of literature.
日本文学電子図書館 J-Text Full texts of literary works, compiled by Kikuchi Shin'ichi.
日本ペンクラブ電子文藝館 The Japan PEN Club Digital Library
江戸時代紀行文集 （奈良女子大学）
国文学論文集 岡島昭浩作成
日本文学電子テキスト検索 立命館大学