Civil Procedure Overview
Civil Procedure: Summaries and Explanations
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries contain a definition, subject overview and useful links. All entries are collaboratively created and professionally reviewed
Get started with these materials aimed at law school students. These books and other study materials explain and summarize the basics of Civil Procedure.
Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library: Civil Procedure (Harvard Law login)Contains electronic textbooks, ebooks, supplements, and reference materials for law school students. Material includes popular series such as Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law, CrunchTime, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Glannon’s Guides, and more
Spencer's Acing Civil Procedure by Call Number: Law School KF8841 .S63 2011xISBN: 0314276076Publication Date: 2011
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF8841 .D67 2015xISBN: 9781632828583Publication Date: 2015
Understanding Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF8840 .S484 2019ISBN: 9781531005412Publication Date: 2019
Principles of Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF8841 .C57 2021ISBN: 1683286820Publication Date: 2021
Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School KF8840 .I87 2012ISBN: 9781609300364Publication Date: 2012Concepts & Insights Series
The Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School KF8841 .G59 2019ISBN: 9781543804843Publication Date: 2019Also available online via the Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library linked above.
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure (Print) by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF8839 .G58 2018ISBN: 9781454894025Publication Date: 2018Also available online via the Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library linked above.
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF8841 .K36 2022ISBN: 9781685610142Publication Date: 2022
Civil Procedure in Depth
Learn more with these leading works on civil procedure or search HOLLIS for more sources.
- HOLLIS (Library Catalog)To search HOLLIS, always log in first!
- Moore's Federal Practice - Civil (Lexis login)Online, regularly updated access to volumes 1-23 and 29-31 of Moore's Federal Practice
Civil Pro Stories
Explore the stories behind your favorite civ pro cases!
Each chapter contains sections on social, legal and factual background of the case and it's contribution to the development of the law.
Images, maps, court documents and other supplemental material is available online in the Civil Procedure Stories digital supplement
Civil Procedure Stories, 2d edition by Call Number: Law School KF8839 .C455 2008ISBN: 1599413477Publication Date: 2008
Civil Procedure Law News
Headlines from the Civil Procedure Prof Blog
Study Tools
CVN - AudioCaseFiles
Download recordings of cases commonly read in first and second year courses. Part of LexisNexis Courtroom Cast.
- LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign UpHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register with your HLS email address
CALI
Test your knowledge!
CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive, computer-based lessons designed to augment traditional law school instruction. Use the lessons to supplement your studies and to review specific concepts.
- CALI Authorization Code & RegistrationHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register using the HLSL CALI Authorization code.
Go Deeper
Find Articles
Search HOLLIS or use these databases to find articles on civil procedure topics.
- HOLLIS (Library Catalog)To search HOLLIS, always log in first!
- Hein Online Law Journal Library (Harvard Login)More than 1,700 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-current issues available.
- Business Source Complete (Harvard Login)Over 1,200 business and academic journals and trade publications
- ABI Inform (Harvard Login)Over 1,000 business and academic journals
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)New scholarship, including working papers and accepted articles. Harvard community members should use this link for access to current awareness tools. Also available for free at www.ssrn.com
Other Civil Procedure Sources
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class