Torts Overview
Torts: Summaries and Explanations
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries contain a definition, subject overview and useful links. All entries are collaboratively created and professionally reviewed
Get started with these materials aimed at law school students. These books and study materials explain and summarize the basics of Torts.
Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library: Torts (Harvard Law login)Contains electronic textbooks, ebooks, supplements, and reference materials for law school students. Material includes popular series such as Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law, CrunchTime, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Glannon’s Guides, and moreThe Law of Torts, 2d ed. (Print) by
Call Number: Law School KF1250 .D59 2011ISBN: 0314253483Publication Date: 2011Practitioner Treatise Series- ISBN: 0314253483Online edition of The Law of Torts, 2d. edition
Torts, 5th ed. (Print) by
Call Number: Study Guide Collection & General Collection KF1250 .P73 1984ISBN: 0314748806Publication Date: 1984Hornbook Series, Student ed.
Torts Stories (Print) by Call Number: Law School Offsite Storage KF1250 .T66x 2003ISBN: 158778503XPublication Date: 2003
Understanding Torts, 6th ed. (Print) by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection & General Collection KF1250 .D5 2018ISBN: 1531009751Publication Date: 2018
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection KF1250.Z9 G58 2020ISBN: 1543807690Publication Date: 2020
Torts in a Nutshell, 7th ed. (Print) by Edward Kionka by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection & General Collection KF1250.Z9 K53 2020ISBN: 9781684673261Publication Date: 2020
Torts in Depth
Go deeper with these leading works on torts or search the HOLLIS catalog for more sources.
Modern Tort Law: Liability and Litigation 2d (Westlaw login) by Publication Date: 2002-
Tort Law Desk Reference: A Fifty-State Companion (Print) by Call Number: Law School KF1250.Z95 T645ISBN: 1454809825Publication Date: Annual
Restatement of the Law, Second, Torts 2d (Print) by Call Number: Law School KF1249.A4 R46xPublication Date: 1957-1977Also available via Westlaw, Lexis & HeinOnline
Restatement of the Law (3d) Torts - Apportionment of Liability by Call Number: KF 1249.A4 R4774x 2000Publication Date: 2000Available in print or via Westlaw, LexisNexis, or HeinOnline
Restatement of the Law (3d) Torts - Products Liability by Call Number: Law School KF1296 .R476x 1998Publication Date: 1998Available in print or via Westlaw, LexisNexis, or HeinOnline
Restatement of the Law (3d) Torts - Liability for Physical and Emotional Harm by Call Number: Law School KF1286 .R473x 2010Publication Date: 2010Available in print or via Westlaw, LexisNexis, or HeinOnline.
Online Restatements
- Restatement of the Law-Torts (Westlaw login)Includes the first, second and third Restatements
- Restatements/Torts (Lexis login)Includes the first, second and third Restatements
- HeinOnline American Law Institute Library/Restatements/TortsIncludes the first, second and third Restatements
Study Tools
Study Tools
Audio CaseFiles
Download recordings of cases commonly read in first and second year courses. Part of LexisNexis Courtroom Cast.
- LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign UpHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register with your HLS email address
Test your knowledge!
CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive, computer-based lessons designed to augment traditional law school instruction. Use the lessons to supplement your studies and to review specific concepts.
- CALI Authorization Code & RegistrationHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register using the HLSL CALI Authorization code.
Go Deeper
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on tort law topics.
- ABI Inform (Harvard Login)Over 1,000 business and academic journals
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)New scholarship, including working papers and accepted articles. Harvard community members should use this link for access to current awareness tools. Also available for free at www.ssrn.com
- Hein Online Law Journal Library (Harvard Login)More than 1,700 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-current issues available.
Find Case Law
- State and Federal Products Liability Cases (Westlaw login)Cases from federal and state courts that relate to causes of action predicated on product defects that existed at the time of sale, including manufacturing defects, design defects, and defects due to inadequate instructions or warnings. Coverage begins with 1945.
Tort Law News
Headlines from the TortsProf Blog
Just for Fun
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class