G
Ganong, William Francis 1864-
b, St. John, NB; AB, AM, New Brunswick, 1884, 1886; AB, Harvard, 1887; PhD Munich, 1894; Instructor in Botany, Harvard, 1889-93; Professor and director of the Botanic Garden, Smith College, 1894-; Morphology and physiology , natural history of New Brunswick
MSS: Field journals, New Brunswick Museum, St. John.
Bell, J. & G. Whiteford. 1979. Exploring New Brunswick with W. F. Ganong. Canadian Geographic, vol. 99, no. 1 (August/September), pp. 38-43.
Cittadino, E. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 299-301.
Mitcham, Allison. Three remarkable maritimers. Hantsport, N.S.: Lancelot Press, 1985, 139 pp. Ganong 98-128; bibl.136-139.
Webster, J. C., ed. 1942. William Francis Ganong Memorial. St. John: New Brunswick Museum. Bibliography, pp. 19-31.
Gardiner, Edward Gardiner 1854-1907
BS, MIT, 1882; PhD, Leipzig, 1884; Biology instructor, MIT, 1885-1892; Turbellaria
American Men of Science, ed. 1 (1906).
Garman, Philip 1891-1972
Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven, CT. Worked on Odonates, mites, Oriental Peach Moth.
American Men of Science, 5th ed., 1933.
Obit: Journal of Economic Entomology, v. 65, pp. 1533-1534.
Osborn, H. 1952. A Brief History of Entomology: Including Time of Demosthenes and Aristotle to Modern Times with Over Five Hundred Portraits. Columbus: Spahr & Glenn, 303 p.
The Odonata or dragonflies of Connecticut. Guide to the insects of Connecticut, pt. V. Hartford, Printed for the State Geological and Natural History Survey, 1927, 331 pp.
Garman, Samuel 1843-1927
Barbour, Thomas. 1943. Naturalist at large. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 314 p. [pp. 137-139].
Barbour, T. and D. S. Jordan. 1928. Samuel Garman, 1843-1927. Science, v. 67, no. 1731, pp. 232-233.
Summers, A. P. and T. J. Koob. 1997. A biographical sketch of Samuel Walton Garman. Pp. l-lxvi in The Plagiostomia: Sharks, skates, and rays, by Samuel Garman. Los Angeles, CA: Benthic Press, 515 p., 75 pl.
A bibliography of Samuel Walton Garman, by A. P. Summers on pp. lxvii-lxxii. Reprint, original in Memoirs of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard College, v. 36, 1913.
Summers, A. P., K. E. Hartel, and T. J. Koob. 1999. Agassiz, German, Albatross, and the Collection of Deep-sea Fishes. Marine Fisheries Review, vol. 61, Issue 4, pp. 58-68.
1. Massachusetts carp. 2. The river trout. 3. New England saibling. From the Twenty-fifth annual report of the Commissioners of inland fisheries of Massachusetts. Boston, Wright & Potter print. co., 1890 [1891]. pp. 32-42.
Gerould, John Hiram 1868-
b, Stoddard, NH; PhD, Harvard, 1895; Instructor-Professor, Dartmouth, 1895-; Holothurian morphology; Sipunculids of east coast of North Ameria; Heredity and variation in butterflies
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).
Gerritson, Walter 1861-1959
b, Reading; d, Waltham, MA
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 28]
Gibson, William Hamilton 1850-1896
Adams, J. C. 1901. William Hamilton Gibson; artist--naturalist—author. NY: London G. P. Putnam's sons, 275 p. front., pl., port.
Adams, J. C. 1902. Gibson, the artist-naturalist of Connecticut. Connecticut Magazine, vol. 7 (Dec.), pp. 340-355
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Jussim, Estelle. 1974. “William Hamilton Gibson (1850-1896): The artist using the camera’s eye”. Pp. 149-194 in: Visual communication and the graphic arts; photographic technologies in the nineteenth century. NY: R. R. Bowker Co., xv, 364 p.
Warren, W. L. 1957. William Hamilton Gibson: An appreciation. Connecticut Historical Society Bulletin, vol. 22, no. 3 (July), pp. 65-73.
Blossom hosts and insect guests; how the heath family, the bluets, the figworts, the orchids and similar wild flowers welcome the bee, the fly, the wasp, the moth and other faithful insects. ed. by Eleanor E. Davie; ill. by the author. NY: Newson, 1901, 197 pp., incl. front.
Camp life in the woods and the tricks of trapping and trap making; containing comprehensive hints on camp shelter, log huts, bark shanties, woodland beds and bedding, boat and canoe building and valuable suggestions on trappers' food, etc. Ill. by the author. NY: Harper & brothers, 1881, 300 pp., front., plates
Eye spy; afield with nature among flowers and animate things. Ill. by the author. NY: Harper & brothers, 1897, 264 pp., front. (port.), illus.
Happy hunting-grounds; a tribute to the woods and fields. Ill. by the author. NY: Harper & brothers, 1887, 202 pp., front., illus.
Highways and byways; or, Saunterings in New England. NY: Harper & brothers, 1883, 157 pp., front, illus. Also 1901.
My studio neighbors. Ill. by the author. NY and London: Harper & brothers, 1898, 245 pp., front., illus.
Our edible toadstools and mushrooms and how to distinguish them; a selection of thirty native food varieties, easily recognizable by their marked individualities, with simple rules for the identification of poisonous species, by W. Hamilton Gibson. With thirty colored plates, and fifty-seven other illustrations by the author. Ill. by the author. NY: Harper & brothers,1895, 337 pp., illus, xxxvii pl. (29 col) col. front. Also 1903 (NY & London)
Our native orchids; a series of drawings from nature of all the species found in the northeastern United States. With descriptive text elaborated from the author's notes, by Helena Leeming Jelliffe. NY: Doubleday, Page & co., 1905, 158 pp., illus, plates. Part of plates printed on both sides.
Pastoral days, or, Memories of a New England year. NY: Harper & brothers, 1881, 153 pp., illus. Also 1908
Secrets out of doors. NY & London: Harper & brothers, 1913, 134 pp., front. (port.), illus. Selections from the author's writings.
Sharp eyes: a rambler's calender of fifty-two weeks among insects, birds, and flowers. Ill. by the author. NY: Harper & brothers, 1892, 322 pp. front, illus.
Strolls by starlight and sunshine. Ill. by the author, NY: Harper & brothers,, 1891, ??? pp. front.
Gilbert, Robert A. 1870-1942
b, Natural Bridge, VA; d, Cambridge, MA; Came to Massachusetts at 16; Assistant to William Brewster (1895-1919), after Brewster's death worked at MCZ; AOU
Mitchell, J. H. 2008. Gilbert, Robert Alexander, v.3, pp. 499-500 in The African American national biography, H. L. Gates, Jr. and E. Brooks-Higginbotham, eds. 8 v. NY: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Mitchell, John Hanson. 2005. Looking for Mr. Gilbert: the reimagined life of an African American. Washington, DC: Shoemaker & Hoard : Distributed by Publishers Group West, 278 p.
Gill, Theodore 1837-1914
21 Mar. 1837-25 Sept. 1914
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
State ichthyology of Massachusetts. Science, 1904, v. 20, pp. 321-338.
Girard, Charles Frédéric 1822-1895)
9 Mar. 1822-29 Jan. 1895; b, Mulhouse, Haut-Rhin, d, Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Goode, G. B. 1891. The Published Writings of Dr. Charles Girard. Bulletin of the United States National Museum v. 41.
Jackson, J. R. and W. C. Kimler. 1999. Taxonomy and the personal equation: The historical fates of Charles Girard and Louis Agassiz. Journal of the History of Biology, v. 32, no. 3, pp. 509-555.
Glen, William d. 1866
Native of Scotland, arrived in US in 1854. Assistant in the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University. Noted for his sections and microscopical preparations.. Died Cambridge, May 25, 1866. Naturalists Directory, 1866.
Goldsmith, William Gleason 1832-1910
Moore, A. H. 1910. William Gleason Goldsmith. Rhodora, vol. 12, no. 144 (Dec.), pp. 227-228.
Goodale, Alfred Shepard 1876-1951
Knowlton, C. H. 1951. Alfred Shepard Goodale. Rhodora, vol. 53, no. 631 (July), pp. 183.
A check list of Pteridophyta (fern-worts) occurring in the Connecticut river watershed in Massachusetts. Amherst? MA, 6 numb. l, 1932.
A check list of Pteridophyta and Spermatophyta (Fern -allies and seed-plants) occurring in the Connecticut River watershed in Massachusetts. [Amherst?] 1929.
A check list of the Gymnospermae (Conifers): occurring in the Connecticut River watershed in Massachusetts. [s.l.: s.n.], 1935.
Goodale, George Lincoln 1839-1923
b, Saco, ME; 3 Aug. 1839-12 Apr. 1923
EDUCATION: AB, Amherst, 1860; MD Harvard, 1863
Professor of Materia Medica and Natural Science, Bowdoin, 1869-72; Instructor-Professor, Harvard, 1872-; Economic Botany; Collected in Coos County, 1859
American Journal of Science, ser. 5, vol. 6, (September), pp. 275-276.
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Bailey, L. H. 1923. George Lincoln Goodale. Rhodora, vol. 25, no. 296 (August), pp. 117-120. Portrait.
Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural bibliography of Maine, pp. 38-???? .
Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]
Popular Science Monthly, vol. 39 (September), pp. 691-694, 1891. Portrait.
Botanical Gazette, vol. 78 (1924), p. 453. Portrait
Harvard Graduates Magazine, vol. 32, pp. 54-59, 1923. Portrait
Ames, O. 1925. George Lincoln Goodale. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 59 (January), pp. 640-644.
Robinson, B. L. 1926. George Lincoln Goodale. National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoirs, vol. 21, no. 6, pp. 1-19. Portrait, bibliography, compiled by Robert Tracy Jackson
Trelease, W. 1923. Science, n.s., vol. 57 (June 8), pp. 654-656
Primary works
Portland Catalog of Maine Plants. Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, vol. 1, pp. 37-63, 127-133, 1862-63.
A catalogue of the flowering plants of Maine. [Portland, 1862.].
The Portland catalogue of Maine plants, by G. L. Goodale and Rev. Joseph Blake. Portland: Transcript Print, 1868, 1862, 12 pp. (Reprinted, with omission of localities and separation of introduced species, from the Proceedings of the Portland Society of Natural History, 1862-69, v. 1, p. 37-63, 127-138.
The Portland catalogue of Maine plants, adapted for marking desiderata in exchange of specimens &c. Portland, 1868.
Goode, George Brown
Lindsay, C. G. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 314-316.
A list of fishes of Essex County, including those of Massachusetts Bay according to the latest results of the work of the U.S. fish commission. Bulletin of the Essex Institute (Salem MA), vol. XI, 38 pp. 1879.
Goodwin, George Gilbert
The mammals of Connecticut. Connecticut. State Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 53. State of Connecticut. Public document no. 47. Hartford, Printed by the State Geological and Natural History Survey, 1935, 221 pp. Not NE???
Big game animals in the northeastern United States. J. Mamm. 17 (1936): 48-50.
Gordon, Clarence Everett 1876-
b, Clinton, MA; PhD, Columbia, 1910; Assistant Professor of Zoology and Geology, Massachusetts College, 1910-; Geology and zoology, mainly geology?
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921).
The otter in Massachusetts. Science, n.s., vol. 28 (1908), pp. 772-775.
Gould, Augustus Addison 1805-1866
New Ipswich, NH; d, Boston, MA; 23 Apr. 1805-15 Sept. 1866
EDUCATION: Harvard, A.B., 1821, M.D., 1825
Gave T. W. Harris specimens included in Harris' list in Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.
Edward Hitchcock used Gould's notes for the lists of Crustacea and Radiata in his Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts. Massachusetts, 1933, 1935.
Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.
American Journal of Conchology, vol. 3, pp. 106-107, 1867. [Portrait, v. 1, 1865]
American Journal of Science, 2 ser., vol. 42 (1866), pp. 434-435.
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Appel, T. A. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 318-320.
Bartlett, H. H. 1940. Gould's "Molluscs and Shells", Vol. XII, pp. 650-655 in The reports of the Wilkes Expedition, and the work of the specialists in science. Pp. 601-705 in Centenary. Wilkes Exploring Expedition of the U. S. Navy, 1838-1842, and Symposium on American Polar Exploration. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 82, no. 5, pp. 519-947.
Bigelow, J. 1866. Transactions of the Suffolk County Medical Society.
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 111-116. Portrait.
Dall, W.H. 1888. Some American conchologists. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, v. 4, pp. 95-134 (pp. 120-122).
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), article by F.C.B.
Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.
Gifford, G. E., Jr. 1965. The forgotten man in the ether controversy. Harvard Medical Alumni Bulletin, vol. 40, no. 2 (Winter). Reprinted in Medicine and Science in Early America, Being the Collected Essays of George Edmund Gifford, Jr., 1930-1981. Friends of George E. Gifford, Jr., 1982, 38-43.
Johnson, R.I. 1964. The Recent Mollusca of Augustus Addison Gould. U.S. National Museum Bulletin, vol. 239, 182 pp., pl. 1-45.
Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 483-484
Medical and Surgical Repository, Philadelphia, vol. 15, p. 268, 1866
Nasheville Journal of Medicine and Surgery, n.s., vol. 1, p. 488, 1866.
National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3, pp. 515-516.
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 7 (1868), pp. 300-304.
Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 11 (1868), pp. 188-205. Bibliography.
Transactions of the American Medical Association, vol. 18, pp. 308-309, 1867.
Wyman, J., with additions by W. H. Dall. 1905. Biographical memoir of Augustus Addison Gould, 1805-1866. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 5, pp. 91-113. Bibliography.
Primary works
Report on the Invertebrata of Massachusetts, comprising the Mollusca, Crustacea, Annelida, and Radiata. Cambridge: Folsom, Wells, and Thurston, printers, 1841.
Report on the Invertebrata of Massachusetts. 2d ed., comprising the Mollusca. By Augustus A. Gould, M. D. Ed. by W. G. Binney. Boston: Wright and Potter, state printers, 1870.
Historical memoir of the Linnaean Society of New England; being an epitome of its records. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 9 (1863), pp. 335-340.
Notice of the origin, progress and present condition of the Boston Society of Natural History. American Quarterly Register, vol. 14 (1842), pp. 2- ?????????
Supplement[s 1-4] to the fifth volume of The terrestrial air-breathing mollusks of the United States and adjacent territories. Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology; v.11, no.8, v.13,no.2, vol.19, n.4. Cambridge: Printed for the Musem, 1883[-1892.]. Library has: 4 v. in 1.
The terrestrial air breathing mollusks of the United States and the adjacent territories of North America. Vol. 5. Harvard University. Museum of Comparative Zoology. Bulletin, v. 4. Cambridge [Mass.]1878.
Notes on American land shells and other miscellaneous conchological contributions ... Burlington, N.J., Printed for the author, 1874-LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Spec. Coll. Author's ms. letter tipped in.Library has: v. 1-2 (1874-1876)
Expedition shells; described for the work of the United States Exploring Expedition, commanded by Capt. Wilkes, U.S.N., during the years 1838-'42. Boston: Boston Society of Natural History, 1846, (Proceedings, II).
Principles of zoology. Part I. Comparative physiology. by L. Agassiz and A.A. Gould. Boston: , 1848. Also: 2nd. ed., 1855
The naturalist's library, containing scientific and popular descriptions of man, quadrupeds, birds, fishes, reptiles, and insects... Boston, 1849, 400 engravings.
United States Exploring Expedition during the years 1838-1842, under the command of Charles Wilkes, U.S.N.. Vol. xii, Mollusca and Shells. 2 vols : text, Boston:, 1852; atlas, Philadelphia, 1856 (1861 according to Binney).
Description of shells collected in the North Pacific Exploring Expedition under Captains Ringgold and Rodgers. Boston: Boston Society of Natural History, 1861, (Proceedings, vi).
Otia Conchologica; descriptions of shells and molluscs from 1839 to 1862. Boston, 1862.
Gould, Edwin W.
Report of the Commissioner of Sea and Shore Fisheries, 191-192.
Gould, John M.
Curator, Portland Society of Natural History, 1862; Meisel, 1843; Norton, Auk obit
Gould, Thomas B.
Collected with Kendall, pp. 170-175; Kendall, 1914, Fishes of Maine
Grabau, A. W.; Marine invertebrates; Dexter, 1961, "Salem Day," p. 60
Zoology: marine invertebrates. In: Grabau, Amadeus W. & J. E. Woodman, eds. 1898. Guide to localities illustrating the geology, marine zoology, and botany of the vicinity of Boston. Boston: American Association for the Advancement of Science, 100 pp.
Graves, Charles Burr 1860-
Graves, Charles Burr, Edwin Hubert Eames ... Charles Humphrey Bissell, Luman Andrews, Edgar Burton Harger ... and Charles Alfred Weatherby ... committee of the Connecticut Botanical Society. 1910. Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Connecticut growing without cultivation.. 23 cm. (Connecticut. Geological and Natural History Survey. Bulletin no. 14; (State of Connecticut.Public document no. 47). 569 pp.
Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Connecticut growing without cultivation. [s.l.] : J. Cramer, 1975 1910 [3] l., [5]-569 p. 19 cm. (Reprints of US-floras v. 8) (Bulletin (State Geological and Natural History Survey (Connecticut)) ; no. 14; State of Connecticut. Public document no. 47)
Catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Connecticut. Additions. series 2. Rhodora,xxiv:111-121. 1922.
Graves, Frances Manwaring Miner (Mrs. Charles Burr Graves) 1863-
b,d, New London, CT; Attended Smith College; Member, Connecticut Botanical Society, National Association of Audubon Societies, Audubon Society of Connecticut; Botany; AOU
Gray, Arthur F. 1855-1944
Johnson, R. I. 2002. Arthur Fairfield Gray (1855-1944), his malacological contributions. Occasional papers on mollusks (Dept. of Mollusks, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University), v. 6, no. 80, pp. 135-147.
Discusses occurrence of Littorina littorea in New England, Science News, April 15, 1879.
Gray, Asa 1810-1888
18 Nov. 1810-30 Jan. 1888
List of the writings of Dr. Asa Gray. American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol. 36, appendix, pp. 3-42, 1888.
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Dana, J. D. 1889. A memoir of Asa Gray. Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution, 81 pp. Bibliography
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.
Dupree, A.H. 1959. Asa Gray, 1810-1888. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 505 pp.
Emerson, E. W. 1927. Asa Gray. Pp. 59-68 in Later Years of the Saturday Club, 1870-1920, ed. by M. A. De Wolfe Howe. Boston, Houghton Mifflin, 427 p. Portrait
Farlow, W. G. 1895. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol. 3, 19, pp. 161-175.
Keeney, L. B. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 324-325.
Primary works
A Manual of the Botany of the Northern United States, from New England to Wisconsin and South to Ohio and Pennsylvania Inclusive, (the Mosses and Liverworts by Wm. S. Sullivant,) Arranged According to the Natural System. Boston: J. Munroe, 1848.
Genera florae Americae boreali-orientalis illustrata. The genera of plants of the United States illustrated by figures and analyses from nature, by Isaac Sprague, superintended and with descriptions, etc., by Asa Gray. 2 vols. 1848-49, 186 plates.
A manual of the botany of the northern United States from New England to Wisconsin and south to Ohio and Pennsylvania inclusive (the mosses and liverworts by Wm. S. Sullivant), arranged according to the natural system. Boston & Cambridge, 1848, lxxii + 710 pp. Later editions. 1856, 1859, 1863, 1867,
Field, forest, and garden botany. A simple introductiion to the common plants of the United States east of the Mississippi, both wild and cultivated. NY, 1868, 386 pp. 2nd. rev. issue, 1870. [bound with the Lessons, this constitutes the School and Field-book of botany
Gray, Francis Calley 1790-1856
Member, Friday Evening Club [Stone, Boston Learned Societies, p. 191]
Cohn, M. B. 1986. Francis Calley Gray and Art Collecting for America. Cambridge: Harvard University Art Museums, 344 pp. [Portrait frontispiece]
The Athenaeum Centenary. Boston: Boston Athenaeum, 1907, portrait facing p. 94.
Collins, Loreen Patricia. "The whalebeater of the waters": a study of the New England sea-serpent. Thesis (A.B., submitted for honors)--Harvard University,1982.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).
Linnaean Society of New England. Report of a Committee of the Linnaean Society of New England, Relative to a Large Marine Animal, Supposed to be a Serpent, Seen near Cape Ann, Massachusetts, in August 1817. Boston, Cummings and Hilliard, 1817.
Discourse delivered before the American institute of instruction, at the opening of their third course of lectures, August 23, 1832. Boston, Carter, Hendee, 1832. LOCATION: Gutman Education: Archives Room, Harvard University.
Gray, William
Curator, MCZ; Meisel
Grayce, Robert
Plants; Dexter, 1986, Two centuries, p. 257
Green, Dr. John
Founder, Worcester Lyceum of Natural History; Meisel, 1825
Greene, Benjamin D. 1793-1862
Tewksbury
National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 7, pp. 509.
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 6 (1866), pp. 132-133.
Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 9 (1863), pp. 174-176. Bibliography.
Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 88-91.
Gray, A. 1863. American Journal of Science, 2 ser, vol. 35, p. 449-450. Reprinted in Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, pp.310-311.
Gifford, G. E., Jr. 1972. Proper Bostonian botanist. Harvard Medical Alumni Bulletin, vol. 46, no. 5 (May-June), pp. 75-77.
The Centennial Celebration of the Wednesday Evening Club. Boston: J. Wilson, 1878, 145 pp. [Dr. Benjamin Daniel Greene, pp. 59-60]
Greene, John Singleton Copley
Half-brother of B. D. Greene; Botany; Graustein, Nuttall, p. 225
Gave T. W. Harris specimens included in Harris' list in Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.
Greene, Thomas A.
Curator , Lyceum Society, organized in 1828; Chairman, School Committee, visited the schools, 1844-1847; Among the very early members of the Dialectic Society, a debating club founded in 1811.
Ricketson, D. 1858. The History of New Bedford. New Bedford: The author, 412 pp. [T. A. Greene, pp. 325-327]
A Descriptive and Biographical Record of Bristol County. 1890. With the assistance of Alanson Borden. Boston History Publishers, 2 vols.
Contributed MS notes to Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts (1833, 1835) on plants found near New Bedford and on Nantucket.
List of the Marine Shells of Massachusetts. In: Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.
Greenleaf, Moses 1777-1834 Nat???
Maine Board of Agriculture, 35th Annual Report for 1892. 1893. appx. pp. 5-10. (Agricultural Bibliography of Maine, by S. L. Boardman)
Greenway, James C., Jr.
Birds, ; MCZ
Greenwood, Francis William Pitt 1797-1843
Minister of King's Chapel, Boston. Conchologist and botanist. Early member of Boston Society of Natural History
Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. [v. 2, p. 757-758]. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.
Bouvé, T. T. 1880. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 40-41.
Frothingham, N. L 1845. Recollections of Rev. F. W. P. Greenwood. Boston: James Monroe & Co.
Two volumes of his sermons, Proceedings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, 2, 274 [Stone, Learned, p. 410]
Greenwood, Helen Evangeline 1872-1953
b, Holden; d, Worcester, MA
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 28-30]
Grinnell, William T.
Founder, President (1821-36), Providence Franklin Society; Mineralogy?; Meisel, 1821
Griscom, Ludlow 1890-1959
17 June 1890-28 May 1959
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Baker, J. H. 1959. Ludlow Griscom - the man. Audubon Magazine, vol. 61, no. 5, pp. 200-201, 213, 238-240.
Davis, W. E. 1994. Dean of the Birdwatchers: A Biography of Ludlow Griscom. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press.
Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements), suppl. 6, article by K. B. Sterling.
Kastner, J. 1986. A world of watchers. NY: Knopf, 241 p.
Peterson, R. T. 1965. In memoriam: Ludlow Griscom. Auk, vol. 82 (October), pp. 598-605. Portrait, bibliography of major works.
Peterson, Roger. 1960. The era of Ludlow Griscom. Audubon Magazine, May-June, pp. 102-103, 131, 146, 148.
Peterson, R. T. 2006. Memories of Ludlow Griscom. Pp. 216-221 in All things reconsidered : my birding adventures. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 354 p. From Bird-Watcher’s Digest, Jan/Feb. 1992.
Walton, R. K. 1984. Birds of the Sudbury River Valley: an historical perspective. Lincoln, MA: Massachusetts Audubon Society, 220 p.
Includes description of Griscom's work in Concord area and extracts from his unpublished journals.
Primary works
Audubon's Birds of America. Introduction and descriptive captions by Ludlow Griscom. Popular ed. New York, Macmillan Co., 1950, 320 p., 288 col. pl.
Birds of the New York City region. With the cooperation of the Linnean Society of New York. NY: American Museum of Natural History (Handbook series, no. 9), 1923, 400 pp., Illus, VI col. pl. (incl. front.) fold. map
The birds of Dutchess county, New York, from records compiled by Maunsell S. Crosby. NY: Linnean Society of New York (Transactions, v. 3), 1933, 184 pp., front. (port. group)
Modern bird study. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1945, x + 190 pp., front., illus. (maps), plates, diagrs.
The birds of Nantucket. With Edith V. Folger. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1948, 156 pp., illus., map (New England Bird Studies, 1).
The birds of Concord; a study in population trends. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1949, 340 pp., illus., maps (New England Bird Studies, 2).
The birds of Massachusetts; an annotated and revised check list. With Dorothy E. Snyder. Salem, MA: Peabody Museum, 1955, xiii + 295 pp., map on lining papers. Corrigenda slip inserted.
Birds of Martha's Vineyard, with an annotated check list. With Guy Emerson. Martha's Vineyard, Privately Printed , 1959, 164 pp., illus.
The warblers of America; a popular account of the wood warblers as they occur in the Western Hemisphere. With Alexander Sprunt, Jr. et al. Ill. by John Henry Dick. NY: Devin-Adair, 1957, xii + 356 pp. illus., col. plates, maps. Rev. ed. 1979.
His personal papers are in the Phillips Library, Peabody-Essex Museum, Salem, MA
Gross, W. A. O.
Faculty: Bowdoin
Expert on Leach's Petrals; monitored last Heath Hens
Cruickshank, Bird Islands Down East, p. 34
Grote, Augustus Radcliffe
List of a collection of Lepidoptera Heterocera, taken near Williamstown, Mass. Proc. Ent. Soc. Phil. 3 (1864): 92-96. Who from?????
An illustrated essay on the Noctuidae of North America; with "A colony of butterflies." London: J. Van Voorst, 1882.
Grout, Abel Joel 1867-1947
Flowers, S. 1947. A visit with Dr. Grout. The Bryologist, vol. 50, pp. 208-212.
Haring, I. M. 1947. Abel Joel Grout - Vermonter and bryologist. Journal of the New York Botanical Garden, vol. 48, pp. 163-165. Portrait.
Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [p. 30-33]
Steere, W. C. 1948. Abel Joel Grout (1867-1947). The Bryologist, vol. 51, pp. 201-212. Bibliography.
Primary works
Supplement to the list of mosses growing in the state of Vermont. Burlington, VT: Botanical Dept. of the University of Vermont, 1898, pp. [41-44] (Contributions to the botany of Vermont 4).
A botanist's day on Mt. Washington. 1899. The Plant World, vol. 2 (1899), no. 7, (April), 116-118pp.