Research Guides: New England Naturalists: A Bio-Bibliography: R

R

Rand, Edward Lothrop 1859-1924

DNAA WWA1

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 50-52]

Edward Lothrop Rand. Rhodora, vol. 26, no. 310, (October 1924), pp. 198-199.

Robinson, B. L. 1925. Edward Lothrop Rand. Rhodora, vol. 27 (February), pp. 17-27. Portrait.

Primary works

A Preliminary List of the Phaenogams and Vascular Cryptogams of Mt. Desert Island, Maine. 1888. Also: Supplements 1-4. 1889-1892.

Flora of Mount Desert island, Maine. A Preliminary Catalogue of the Plants Growing on Mount Desert and the Adjacent Islands. Cambridge: J. Wilson and son, 1894.

Flora of Mount Desert Island, Maine a preliminary catalogue of the plants growing on Mount Desert and the adjacent islands, by E. L. R. and & J. H. Redfield. Cambridge, MA: J. Wilson, 1894, 286 p. Introduction by ????? William Morris Davis.

Bar Harbor Village Improvement Association. A path guide of Mount Desert Island, Maine. [n.p.] Pub. by the Village Improvement Societies of Bar Harbor, Seal Harbor, Northeast, and Southeast Harbor, 1915. LOCATION: Botany Gray Herbarium: Fl 74.1 B31

Pinus Banksiana on the coast of Maine. New York. 1889. LOCATION: Botany Arnold Main: MG 6 R15

Papers of Edward Lothrop Rand, 1880-1895 (inclusive). LOCATION: Botany Gray Herbarium:

Randall, Dr. John Witt 1813-1892
Harvard, 1834; Harvard Medical School, 1839

Student of Thomas Nuttall (Graustein, J. E. 1967. Thomas Nuttall, naturalist: explorations in America, 1808-1841. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, p. 226) and T. W. Harris (Dow, R. P. 1913. The work and times of Dr. Harris. Brooklyn Entomological Society Bulletin, vol. 8 (December), pp. 106-118). Gave T. W. Harris specimens included in Harris' list in Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835. "Earliest collector of insects in Maine, 1836-1840." Specimens sent to T. W. Harris listed in Harris' manuscripts. (Harvey, F. L. 1902. A catalogue and bibliography of the Odonata (Dragon-flies) of Maine, with an annotated list of their collectors. University of Maine Studies, no. 4.). Mainly worked on beetles and Crustacea

Appleton's cyclopædia of American biography. NY: D. Appleton and company, 1887-89, 6 v. Online version in Virtual American Biographies, Virtualology.com.

Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 126, no. 4, p. 26

Dictionary of American biography. (NY: C. Scribner's sons, 1928-95. 20 v. + 10 Supplements).

Drake, Francis S. Dictionary of American biography, including men of the time ... and a supplement. Boston: Houghton; Osgood, 1879

Psyche, vol. 6 (September 1892), p. 316.

Bibliography of his articles in Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. (London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925, 23 vols.).

Rathbun, Mary Jane 1860-
11 June 1860-4 Apr. 1943; b, Buffalo, NY; Division of Marine Invertebrates, U.S. National Museum, 1887-; Crustacea of New England, etc.

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Raup, Hugh M. 2/4/1901-8/10/1995

Ashton, P. et al. 1998. Faculty of Arts and Sciences - Memorial Minute: Hugh M. Raup. Harvard University Gazette, vol. 93, no. 18 (Feb. 12), p. 8.

Reagh, Arthur Lincoln 1871-1949
b,d, West Roxbury, MA; Harvard, MD, 1898; Bacteriologist, Massachusetts State Dept. of Health; Member, Nuttall; AOU

Redfield, Alfred Clarence 1890-1983

Alfred C. Redfield, naturalist, 1890-1983, his scientific career. [Lewisburg, Pa. (P.O. Box 484, Lewisburg, 17837): Elizabeth R. Marsh, 1993?].

Revelle, R. 1995. Alfred C. Redfield, November 15, 1890-March 17, 1983. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, v. 67, pp. 314-329. Portrait, bibliography.

Redfield, John
Connecticut botanist, 1870s; T. S. Brandegee??? collected for him in CO; Humphrys, Makers of North American Botany, p.37

same as???

Redfield, John Howard 1815-1895
Lived in New York City; Member, Yale Natural History Society

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

Flora of Mount Desert Island, Maine a preliminary catalogue of the plants growing on Mount Desert and the adjacent islands, by Edward Lothrop Rand & J. H. R. Cambridge, MA: J. Wilson, 1894, 286 p. Introduction???? by William Morris Davis.

Redwood, Abraham
Botanical garden in Newport; Struik, p. 42

Bolhouse, G. E. 1972. Abraham Redwood: reluctant Quaker, philanthropist, botanist. Newport History, vol. 45, pp. 17-35

Reed, Andrew H.
Member, Linnaean Society, Amherst College, 1822; Meisel

Linnaean Society

Reed, Carrie Bosworth (Mrs. Charles Keller Reed) 1852-1942
b, Barrington, RI; d, New Jersey; Married Charles Keller Reed, 1873; Mother of Chester A. Reed, helped publish his Guide; Summered in Scarboro, ME

Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 472].

Reed, Charles Keller
Taxidernmist and dealer in naturalists' supplies

Reed, Chester Albert -1912 (at 36)
Worcester; Several books; AOU

Reed, W. Gordon

Rhode Island. Commissioners of Birds [Remington, Charles H., Willliam H. Thayer, Alexander O'D. Taylor, Edwin R. Lewis, W. Gordon Reed]. A check list of Rhode Island nesting birds, with data. [Providence? R.I.] c1908

Remington, Charles H.

Rich, Joshua G. 1829-1897

Krohn, W. B., ed. 2010. Joshua Gross Rich: The Life and Works of a Western Maine Pioneer and Wildlife Writer. Northeast Folklore, v. 43, 2006 pp.
--Biographical introduction, 6 of Rich’s essays, and an annotated bibliography of his works.

Notes upon certain mammals in Maine. Preliminary Report upon the Natural History and Geology of the State of Maine for 1861.; Meisel, 1836

Almost 300 wildlife specimens collected by Rich are in the MCZ. Thanks to William B. Krohn for this information

Rich, Walter Herbert 1866-
Curator, Portland Society of Natural History, 1943?-

Pelagic bird studies off Cape Cod with H. K. Job, 1910-1920. Cited in Bent and Alexander's Birds of the Ocean.; Veit & Peterson, Birds of MA

Feathered Game of the Northeast. NY, 1907, 432 pp. 85 pl. London ed.: Feathered Game of New England. London, 1908, 432 pp. 85 pl.

Fishing grounds of the Gulf of Maine: appendix III to the Report of the U.S. Commissioner of Fisheries for 1929. Bureau of Fisheries Document; 1059. Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 1929.

The swordfish and the swordfishery of New England. Proceedings of the Portland, Society of Natural History; vol. 4, pt. 2. Portland, Me.: The Society, 1947.

Rich, William P.
His collection of New England plants in the Boston Society of Natural History.; Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History, no. 88, p. 15, 1938.

Richards, Harriet Eliza 1859-1945
b, West Bridgewater; d, Brookline, MA; Most of her life in Boston; Founder, secretary, director, Massachusetts Audubon Society; Member, Appalachian Mountain Club; AOU

Baby bird-finder: a pocket guide ... with blank pages for notes. Boston, Mass., W.A. Butterfield, 1906, 129 pp.

Baby pathfinder to the birds; a pocket guide to one hundred and ten land birds of New England, with blank pages for notes. Boston, Mass., W.A. Butterfield, 1904, 125 pp.

Richards, Mrs. P. D.

Robinson, B. L. 1923. Emily Francis Fletcher. Rhodora, vol. 24, no. 297 (Sept.), 149-150. mentioned

Richardson, Dr. William P. 1815-1857.
Born in Salem, August 15, 1815, unmarried, died in Kendall, Ill. March 27, 1857. Harvard M.D. 1837.
Member of Essex County Natural History Society, in charge of fruits and flowers. Contributed records to Russell's "Familiar notice" (1839). Physician in Salem until 1846 when he left for Kendall where he was occupied with his horticultural and agricultural interests. Died in Kendall, Illinois.

William Putnam Richardson, M. D. Proceedings of the Essex Institute, v. 2 (1856-1860), 1862, p. 179.

Palmer, J. 1864. Necrology of Alumni of Harvard College, 1851-52 to 1862-63, p. 148.

Russell, J. L. 1839. Familiar notice of some the the shells found in the limits of Essex County, Massachusetts. Journal of the Essex County Natural History Society, 1(2):47-76.

Dexter, R. W. 1977. The Essex County Natural History Society, 1833-1848. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 113, pp. 38-53. [p. 40]

Richardson, Wyman 1890-1948

Bedford, F. A. 2000. The sporting art of Frank W. Benson. Boston, MA: David R. Godine, 272 p.

Richardson was Frank Benson's nephew. Benson purchased the house on Nauset marsh with Wyman Richardson's father (Benson's brother-in-law). Bedford's book describes life at the Farm House, as it was called, and includes photographs and Benson's pictures of the area.

Biographical Sketches: Wyman Richardson. In: A Place Apart: A Cape Cod Reader, ed. by Robert Finch. NY: W. W. Norton, 1993, p. 421.

The House on Nauset Marsh. Norton 1955; rpt. Chatham, l980. [Reviewed by Edward Weeks, Atlantic, vol. 196, no. 2 (August 1955), p. 78].

Ricker, Everett W.

Notes on the Birds of Hull, Massachusetts. Newtonville, MA: C. J. Maynard, 1896, 36 pp. 3 pl.

Rickettson, Jr., O. G.

A List of Reptilia Collected at Concord, Mass. Proceedings of the Thoreau Museum of Natural History at Middlesex School. v. 2 (1911): 11-13.

Riddle, Lincoln Ware 1880-1921

Fink, B. Lincoln Ware Riddle (1880-1921). Proc.Amer.acad.arts & sci. v. 60 (14), p.637-646, 1925. Bibliography

Fink, B. Lincoln Ware Riddle, lichenist. Bryologist, v. 24 (3), p.33-36, port. May, 1921. Bibliography p.35-36.

Thaxter, R. 1921. Lincoln Ware Riddle. Rhodora, v. 23, no. 272 (August), pp. 181-184. Bibliography.

Geographical distribution of lichens in Maine. Josselyn bot.soc. Bul.4, p.9-10, 1911.

Lichens of the Isle of Pines. Mycologia 15:68-88. illus. 1923.

Lists of New England lichens. 18, 6, 6, 2 pp. 1. Lichens of Middlesex County : also Mt. Desert List, Amherst List, Yale List, Rhode Island List, Mt. Monadnock List. 2. New England species of Lecanora, Buellia, Biatora; Lichens collected at Portage, Maine. 3. Lichens of the Champlain Valley, Vt. 4. Notes on lichens at Newfort. Holograph and typescript.

Preliminary lists of New England plants. XXIII. Cladoniaceae.

Correspondence of Lincoln W. Riddle 1902-1939 (inclusive). Less than 1 linear foot (1 box). American mycologist, lichenologist. Educated at Harvard University (A.B. 1902, Dr. Phil. 1906). Instructor in Botany at Wellesley College, 1906-1909; Professor of Cryptogamic Botany at Harvard, 1919-1921. Consists of letters to both Lincoln Ware Riddle & Gertrude Riddle, from Edith B. Bartram, Alexander W. Evans and others Also includes copies of Gertrude Riddle's letters to Bartram Cite as: Lincoln W. and Mrs. Riddle Correspondence. Farlow Reference Library, Harvard University.

Ring, Edgar E.
Report, Commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Game, 1903; Kendall, 1914, Fishes of Maine

Ripley, Sarah Alden Bradford

Goodwin, J. W. 1998. The remarkable Mrs. Ripley: the life of Sarah Alden Bradford Ripley. Boston, MA: Northeastern University Press, 399 p.

Ritchie, John, Jr. 1851-1939
b, MA; d, Malden, MA; The Nautilus, vol. 53, p. 66

Rives, William Cabell, 3rd.
b, Paris, France; d, Washington, DC; Harvard, 1871; Worked in hospitals in Newport, RI, and NY; Went to Washington, DC in 1900; Published on birds of RI; AOU

Robbins, Chandler S.

Chandler S. Robbins wins Yeager Award. American Birds, vol. 45, no. 1, p. 16. col. portrait.

Robbins, Charles Albert 2/9/1874-1/22/1930.

Blake, S. F. 1933. Charles Albert Robbins, 1874-1930. Rhodora, v. 35, no. 412 (April), pp. 140-145.

Robbins, Dr. James Watson 1801-1879
Yale University, AB, 1822; MD, 1828

In 1829 a 5 month trip to help Oakes' New England flora [Pease, 1964, p. 33]

Chapin, H. 1881. Address delivered at the Unitarian Church in Uxbridge, Massachusetts, in 1864. Appendix VI: James Watson Rbbins, M.D.. pp. 116-117.

G[ray], A. 1879. [Obituary]. American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol. 17, p. 180.

American Journal of Science, vol. 119 (1880), p. 77

M. 1879. [Obituary]. Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, vol. 100, no. 5 (January 30), pp. 169-170.

Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, pp. 1040-1041).

Memoirs of the Botanical Club, Washington, 1826-27

Muhlenbrook, R.H. Where have all the Wildfowers Gone?, New Hampshire, ~1829.

Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 33]

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 52-53]

Robertson, Alice 1859-1922
Educ: University of California, Ph.D. 1902
Zoology, physiology at Wellesley, 1906-1919. Bryozoan specialist, especially West Coast fauna.

Creese, M. R. S. 1998. Ladies in the Laboratory?: American and British Women in Science, 1800-1900: A Survey of their Contributions to Research. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 452 pp. [p. 93, 115]

Sears, M. A. B. and R. M. Woollacott. 2008. Alice Robertson: educator and marine zoologist. Annals of Bryozoology 2: History of Research on Bryozoans, ed. by P. Wyse Jackson and M. Spencer Jones. International Bryozoology Association, Dublin, Ireland.

Robinson, Benjamin Lincoln 1864-1935.
b, Bloomington, IL; Strasburg, PhD, 1889; Gray Herbarium, Assistant and Curator, 1890-; Harvard University, Professor of Systematic Botany, 1900- .

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

Papers of Benjamin Lincoln Robinson, 1887-1934 (inclusive). ca. 1 linear ft. Robinson (Harvard, A.B. 1887; Strassborg, Ph.D. 1889) became assistant to Sereno Watson at Gray Herbarium at Harvard, 1890 -1892 and Curator after Watson's death in 1892. His published works include a revised edition of Asa Gray's Manual (1908), Flora of the Galapagos Islands (1902) and contributions to Gray's Synoptical Flora of North America (1895, 1897). Cite as: Benjamin Lincoln Robinson Papers. Archives, Gray Herbarium Library, Harvard University Herbaria.

Robinson, John 1846-1925

Morse, A. P. 1929. John Robinson, botanist, 1846-1925. Rhodora, v. 31, no. 372 (December), pp. 245-254. Port. Bibliography

Ferns in their homes and ours. ed. 4. Boston. 1883.

Ferns in their homes and ours. Salem. 1878. pp. 178. Plates. 8vo

Notes on the woody plants of Essex County, Mass. Salem, 1879. pp. 38. Plate. 8vo Bull. Essex Inst.XI., 1879.

Botany in Essex County : a paper read before the Essex Institute, at Topsfield, June 18, 1884; the fiftieth anniversary of the formation of the Essex County Natural History Society. Bulletin of the Essex Institute, vol. XVI (1884), 13 p.

Date of flowering of trees and shrubs in eastern Massachusetts, Transactions of the Massachusetts Horticultural Society, 1880, pp. 1-12.

Notes on the native and extensively introduced woody plants of Essex County, Massachusetts. Salem: Printed for the Essex Institute, 1879.

Our trees. A popular account of the trees in the streets and gardens of Salem, and of the native trees of Essex County, Massachusetts, with the location of trees, and historical and botanical notes. Salem, Printed by N. A. Horton and Son, 1891.

The flora of Essex County, Massachusetts. Salem, Essex Institute, 1880.

The pine: its life, and importance in Essex County. Bull. Essex Inst. x. 1878. Reprint. Salem. 1878. pp. 11.

The Botrychia not ferns. Science News, vol. 1 (December, 1878), pp. 55-57.

Robinson, Rowland Evans 1833-1900

Robinson, D. L. 1951. Rowland Evans Robinson. Vermont Life, vol. 5 (Spring), pp. 36-40.

Danvis folks. Boston and NY: Houghton, Mifflin, 1894, vi + 349 pp. Also: 190-. With the exception of the first chapter, originally published in "Forest and Stream".

Rowland E. Robinson. ed. by Llewellyn R. Perkins... Rutland, VT: Tuttle, 1933-37. 7 v., fronts. (incl. port.), illus., plates. (Centennial Edition). Each volume has special forward and introduction. Drawings by the author.

Contents: [v.1]- Uncle Lisha's shop and A Danvis pioneer, 1933; [v.2]-Sam Lovel's camp and other stories, including In the green wood, 1934; [v.3]-Danvis folks and A hero of Ticonderoga, 1934; [v.4]-Uncle Lisha's outing, The Buttles gals and Along three rivers, 1934; [v.5]-Sam Lovel's boy with Forest and Stream fables, 1936; [v.6]-Out of bondage and other stories, Robinson biography, by M.R. Perkins, pp. 11-18, 1936; [v.7]- In New England fields and woods with Sketches and stories, Bibliography by H.G. Rugg, pp. 5-11, 1937.

Hunting without a gun , and other papers. Ill. by Rachael Robinson. NY: Forest and Stream, 1905, x + 381 pp., front. (port.), illus.

In New England fields and woods. Boston and NY: Houghton, Mifflin, 1896, viii + 287 pp

In New England fields and woods with Sketches and stories, Forward by Sinclair Lewis, Bibliography by H.G. Rugg, pp. 5-11, Rutland, VT: Charles E. Tuttle, 1937, 4 + 257 pp., front. (port.), plates. (Centennial Edition, ed. by Llewellyn R. Perkins)

In the green wood. Burlington, VT: H.J. Shanley, 1899, 3 + 163 pp.

Silver fields and other sketches of a farmer-sportsman. Boston and NY: Houghton, Mifflin, 1921, 4 + 261 pp.

Rogers, Mrs.Charles Sarah
Field botany
Dexter, R. W. 1973, 1986.
Dexter, 1973. Cape Ann Scientific and Literary Association

Cape Ann amateur botanist. Her historic and nature walks were used by Susan Babson in her anonymous Along the Old Roads of Cape Ann (1923). Sarah Rogers son Elliot Rogers was trained by his mother as an authority on Cape Ann botany.

Rogers, Elisha E., Mrs.

Flora of Norwich. Connecticut school document; no. 6 -1902 = whole no. 213. [Hartford: State Board of Education], 1902, 33 pp.

Rogers, Elliot
Son of Mrs. Charles (Sarah) Rogers; Flora; Coauthor with M. Copeland, The Saga of Cape Ann; Dexter, Two centuries, p. 255

Rollins, Harry Leighton 1861-1933
b, Chelsea; d, Wellesley, MA; Yale; Boston University Law School; Boston lawyer; Book collector; Trees

Rood, Ronald N.
Nature Writer, ~1962

Roper, Edward Warren 1858-1898
b, Revere, MA; d, San Diego, CA

The Nautilus, vol.12, pp. 129-131.

Ross, George Herbert 1868-1942
b,d, Rutland, VT; Mainly Rutland, some time in Washington, DC, and Cuba; Mail clerk; President, Vermont Bird Club; Secretary, Vermont Botanical Club; AOU

Rousselet, C. F.
Rotifers of Boston J, Quek Mic Club, (2) 10 (1908), p. 335 Who from??????

Rowell, Joseph M.
Exploring Circle; Lynn Natural History Society; Botany; Dexter, 1962. Lynn

Russell, Henry Drummond
MCZ molluscs; New England Museum of Natural History; Barbour, NaL, p. 312

Russell, Rev. John Lewis 1808-1873
b,d, Salem, MA; Harvard, A.B. 1828, Divinity School, 1831; Massachusetts Horticultural Society, Professor of Botany and Vegetable Physiology; Contributor to New American Cyclopedia

Carte-de-visite portrait in collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society

Dexter, 1980

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, n. ser., vol. 9 (1874), p. 321

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 54-56]

American Journal of Science, vol. 107 (1874), p. 240

Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 5 (1874), pp. 51, 103-104; vol. 12 (1881), p. 92

Meehan's Monthly, vol. 3 (1903), pp. 78-79.

The Bryologist (Notes and News), vol. 58 (1958), p. 350

Humphrey, J. E. 1896. Botany and botanists in New England. New England Magazine, v. 14, pp. 29-44 (p. 41).

Willson, E. B. 1874. Memoir of John Lewis Russell. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 12, no. 3, pp. 163-178.

Zander, R. H. 1978. The Bryologist, vol. 82, p. 511.

Primary

Bibliography of his articles in Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900. (London: Royal Society of London, 1867-1925, 23 vols.).

Visit to the locality of the climbing fern. Magazine of Horticulture, 1855. Report of visit with Thoreau, see Thoreau's Journal, 16 Aug. 1854.

Hovey's Magazine of Horticulture, 1858. [on Josselyn's botany]

On the study of natural history; being extracts from an address delivered before the members of the Harvard Natural History Society at Cambridge. Magazine of Horticulture, vol. 8, (July 1842), pp. 241-247.

A manual of the botany of the northern United States, from New England to Wisconsin and the south, to Ohio and Pennsylvania, inclusive,etc.

Apparent spontaneity of a growth of white birch (Betula populifolia), with remarks on the adaptedness of certain trees to our poorer soils. Hovey, Mag. Hort. xvii : 97-105, 1852.

Attempt to ascertain some of the hepatic mosses of Massachusetts, with remarks. Boston J. Nat. Hist. 3: 465-468, 1840-41.

Connexion of natural phenomena of the seasons with agriculture. United States. Dept. of Agriculture). Report. Washington, 1865. 1864, p. 329-356.

Contributions to the cryptogamic flora of Essex County. Proc. Essex Inst. 1: 191-194, 1856. Essex inst.Salem. Proc. v.1, p.191-194, (1853) 1856.

Ferns. American Naturalist, Dec. 1868; v. 2, pp. 517-528.

Hydrothyria venosa; a new genus and species of the Collemaceae. Proc. Essex Institute 1: 188-191, (1853) 1856.

Musci of eastern Massachusetts. Boston J. Nat. Hist. 5: 172-188, 1844.

Mushrooms. American naturalist, Aug. 1868; v. 2, pp. 292-303.

Notice of a fine and showy species of Cowparsnep(Heracleum wilhelmsii). Hovey Mag. Hort. 15: 394 - 396. 1849.

Notice of some plants found in this vicinity. Hovey Mag. Hort. 7: 130 - 131. 1840.

Notice of some rare and beautiful plants found in Hubbardston, Mass., 1837. Hovey, Mag. Hort. 3: 410 - 413. 1837.

Notice of some rare and beautiful plants growing in the vicinity of Plymouth, Mass. Hovey Mag. Hort. III: 441-443, 1837.

Observations on some species of mosses (musci). Hovey, Mag. Hort., VI, pp.210-212, 1840.

Rambles among the plants of Essex County, Mass. Hovey Mag. Hort. xxiv: 356-365, 1858.

Sea groundsel tree, or ploughman's spikenard. Hovey Mag. Hort. 15: 184 - 185. 1849.

Sea-weeds. American naturalist, v.2, p.225-235, 1868.

The sea-weeds at home and abroad. American naturalist v.4, p.274-297, 1870.

Seedling Lycopodiums. Hovey, Mag. Hort. 15: 184. 1849.

Some cryptogamous plants gathered in the vicinity of Kearsarge Mountain, New Hampshire: with observations. Hovey Mag. Hort., IX, 140-141, 1844.

Some of the rarer plants of Vermont. Hovey Mag. Hort. xviii: 481-485, 1852.

Some plants of Danvers and Wenham, Essex County, Massachusetts. Hovey Mag. Hort. xv: 289-296, 1849.

Some plants seen about the region of the Notch, September, 1852. Hovey, Mag. Hort. 18: 531 - 538. 1852.

The botanical and horticultural literature of the olden times. Hovey, Bot. Mag. v. xxiv, pp. 21-27, 113-122, 168-176, 208-212. 1858.

The Phloxes as garden and parlor plants. Hovey Mag. Hort. vi: 212-214, 1841

The potato-mould. American naturalist, v.2, p.463-465, 1868.

The smaller fungi. American naturalist v.2, p.561-570, 623-638, 1869.

Visit to Kearsarge, with observations on its flora. Hovey, Mag. Hort. v. vi, pp. 333-335, 1840.

Weeds. Native and introduced plants growing about fields and gardens: considered as weeds by the agriculturist. 4th Rep. Agric. Mass. 1841, pp.522-526.

Gould, Augustus A. (Augustus Addison). Papers, 1831-1866 (inclusive), 1838-1852(bulk).LOCATION: Houghton Library, Harvard University

Manuscripts, Botany Gray Herbarium, Harvard University

Drawings of John Lewis Russell, 1852-1859 (inclusive). 17 items. Russell (Harvard, A.B 1828) served as a Unitarian minister, 1831-1854; and was active in the Essex Historical Society. His botanical interest was in cryptogams, particularly lichens. Consists of drawings of plant and insect life and shells; some are drawn from published illustrations and others are microscope views. Also includes notes on insects and plants. Cite as: John Lewis Russell Papers. Archives, Gray Herbarium Library, Harvard University Herbaria.