Articles, Working Papers & Reports
The topic of human rights is highly interdisciplinary. You could find articles on human rights topics databases that cover a wide range of different disciplines. Some possible subject areas include public policy, gender studies, legal, criminal justice, sociology, economics and political science journals. Below is a short list of recommended databases for research on this topic.
To conduct a thorough search of all Harvard database subscription including regional studies databases such as Latin American/Hispanic studies click here and select the relevant subject and database type. Then click on Search to see a list of all database subscriptions.
Gender literature databases are treated separately in this guide and are grouped under the "Gender" tab. Legal articles are grouped in the "Legal Research" section of this guide.
Data & Statistics
Corporate Social Responsibility
Protests & Demonstrations
Law Journal Databases
International Law Reference Resources
Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search
Search using Google conventions (i.e. putting quotation marks around phrases).
Think Tank Search is a custom Google search of over 670 think tank websites. For the purposes of this search, think tanks are defined as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Organization Reports & Other Publications
Government & Agencies
Several UN agencies research, collect and publish information on human trafficking issues. Below are listed the major UN agencies that focus on this issue.
US Government Agencies
Harvard Kennedy School, Carr Center of Public Policy
Harvard Kennedy School
Other Research Guides
Other Harvard Guides
The Harvard Law Library has several international law librarians. They have created specialized research guides that focus on human rights topics. Please note that certain databases referenced in these guides may be limited to the Harvard Law School community. If you have questions about access to these databases, please contact the HKS Library.