UK and Europe
Tate Modern, London, England
The Tate Modern is a separate gallery of the Tate Museum devoted to international modern and contemporary art in London. The former Bankside Power Station was chosen as the site for new gallery in 1994, converted into a new gallery under the designs of Herzog and De Meuron and opened in 2000.
The Tate Modern is a separate gallery of the Tate Museum devoted to international modern and contemporary art in London. The former Bankside Power Station was chosen as the site for new gallery in 1994, converted into a new gallery under the designs of Herzog and De Meuron and opened in 2000.
Centre Pompidou, Paris, France
Since its opening to the public on 2 February, 1977,the Centre Pompidou became one of the world's most popular cultural venues and one of the most visited monuments in France. The Centre Pompidou is tasked with maintaining and developing a national collection of modern and contemporary art in France and with more than 60,000 works constitute the largest collection in Europe of modern and contemporary art. It covers the XX and XXI centuries through artists which artworks had major influence in recent years.
Since its opening to the public on 2 February, 1977,the Centre Pompidou became one of the world's most popular cultural venues and one of the most visited monuments in France. The Centre Pompidou is tasked with maintaining and developing a national collection of modern and contemporary art in France and with more than 60,000 works constitute the largest collection in Europe of modern and contemporary art. It covers the XX and XXI centuries through artists which artworks had major influence in recent years.
Fondation Cartier pour l'art contemporain
At once a creative space for artists and a place where art and the general public can meet, the Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain is dedicated to promoting and raising public awareness of contemporary art. Each year, the Fondation Cartier organizes a program of exhibitions based on either individual artists or themes, and commissions work from artists, thus enriching an important collection.
At once a creative space for artists and a place where art and the general public can meet, the Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain is dedicated to promoting and raising public awareness of contemporary art. Each year, the Fondation Cartier organizes a program of exhibitions based on either individual artists or themes, and commissions work from artists, thus enriching an important collection.
Astrup Fearnley Museum, Oslo
Astrup Fearnley Museet is a privately owned museum, which presents temporary exhibitions of international art. First opened in 1993, the museum has since established itself as an important institution for presentation of contemporary art. In September 2012, at Tjuvholmen in Oslo, in a new museum building designed by world-renowned architect Renzo Piano.
Astrup Fearnley Museet is a privately owned museum, which presents temporary exhibitions of international art. First opened in 1993, the museum has since established itself as an important institution for presentation of contemporary art. In September 2012, at Tjuvholmen in Oslo, in a new museum building designed by world-renowned architect Renzo Piano.
Hamburger Bahnof, Berlin
Today the Nationalgalerie’s Hamburger Bahnhof division is one of the largest and most significant public collections of contemporary art in the world. The museum’s name refers to the building’s original function as one of the first terminal stations of the rail system in Germany. The Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin presides over a comprehensive collection of contemporary art, which it presents in a variety of exhibitions. It is the largest among the buildings housing the Nationalgalerie’s extensive holdings, the remainder of which are divided into the Alte Nationalgalerie, the Neue Nationalgalerie, the Friedrichswerdersche Kirche, the Museum Berggruen, and the Sammlung Scharf-Gerstenberg.
Today the Nationalgalerie’s Hamburger Bahnhof division is one of the largest and most significant public collections of contemporary art in the world. The museum’s name refers to the building’s original function as one of the first terminal stations of the rail system in Germany. The Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin presides over a comprehensive collection of contemporary art, which it presents in a variety of exhibitions. It is the largest among the buildings housing the Nationalgalerie’s extensive holdings, the remainder of which are divided into the Alte Nationalgalerie, the Neue Nationalgalerie, the Friedrichswerdersche Kirche, the Museum Berggruen, and the Sammlung Scharf-Gerstenberg.
Reina Sofia, Madrid
The Renia Sofia opened in 1988 and established a permanent collection in 1992 to promote the general public’s knowledge of and access to contemporary art in its various manifestations; to hold exhibitions at the international level, and to offer training, educational and assessment activities related to its holdings.
The Renia Sofia opened in 1988 and established a permanent collection in 1992 to promote the general public’s knowledge of and access to contemporary art in its various manifestations; to hold exhibitions at the international level, and to offer training, educational and assessment activities related to its holdings.