Newspapers
- Sources for Newspapers
- Newspaper Directories and Circulation Statistics
- Illustrations, Photographs, Cartoons, etc.
Newspaper Sources are listed in Guide to Newspapers and Newspaper Indexes.
Newspaper Directories and Circulation Statistics
Information on newspaper directories and sources of circulation statistics.
Illustrations, Photographs, Cartoons, etc.
AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet) is a searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present.
The Presidential Elections, 1860-1912: Cartoons from Harper's Weekly and other Leading Journals
Cartoons of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
1896: Presidential Campaign - Cartoons and Commentary
Political Cartoons and Caricatures (Library of Congress)
Teaching with Documents: Political Cartoons illustrating Progressivism and the Election of 1912
Broadcasting/Newsreels
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.
Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University) (1968-) indexes the collection of network television news programs at Vanderbilt University. Abstracts searchable by keyword to find information and/or request videotape loans. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from October 1995 to the present.
American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.
Internet Archive includes films, radio audio clips, news clips, educational films, advertisements, industry films, etc. Set Search from All Media Types to Video: Audio: News and Public Affairs.