Government Documents
The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents and the publications of international organizations are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Reference expertise is also available there. Handouts on American and British government documents are available. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog.
Documents on some subjects go to Harvard subject collections, e.g., education to Gutman, science and environment to Cabot, and regional and urban planning to Loeb Design.
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Digitization Projects Registry is a listing of U.S. Government publication digitization efforts
CyberCemetery archives ceased U.S. government websites, often of defunct government agencies and commissions.
A historical guide to the U.S. government (1998) offers histories and name changes of government departments.
Location : Kennedy Sch of Gov Ref JK421 .H57 1998
Location : Lamont REFERENCE JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Law School Reference JK9 .H57 1998
Location : Widener RR 4213.30
Handbook for research in American history: a guide to bibliographies and other reference works, by Francis Paul Prucha. 2nd ed., rev. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
Location : Law School Harvard Depository E178.Z99 P78x 1994
Location : Widener RR 3621.7
Research Guide: U.S. Congressional Publications
Research Guide: Federal Legislative History
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 with American State Papers, 1789-1838 consists of reports, documents and journals of U.S. Congress, including reports originating in Executive Departments.
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents provides full-text access to the published debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress, including the Annals of Congress(1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and the Congressional Record (1873 to present).
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Post-1970, full-text access is often available. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More information. Research guides are available at the ProQuest Congressional wiki.
Research Guide: U.S. Presidential Documents
American President: A Reference Resource (Miller Center, University of Virginia). At the bottom of each president’s page is a section, Scripps Library Reference Resources, with a link to a guide to each president’s papers.
Presidential Papers. This guide lists published papers (public and private) of U.S. presidents and provides information on finding their unpublished papers.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (University of California at Santa Barbara American Presidency Project)
United States: Foreign Relations
HeinOnline Foreign Relations of the United States (1861- ) provides full-text of Foreign Relations of the United States (1861- ) as well as other and earlier compendia, including Diplomatic Correspondence of the American Revolution, and Diplomatic Correspondence of the United States of America, from the Signing of the Definitive Treaty of Peace, 10th September, 1783, to the Adoption of the Constitution, March 4, 1789.
Other Electronic Resources for U.S. Foreign Relations (U.S. Dept. of State)
Foreign Relations of the United States (Kennedy-Ford)
Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1960) University of Wisconsin version
Declassified Documents Reference System Online (1945- )
Research Guide: Great Britain: Guide to the Documents
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (1688- )
State Papers Online: The Government of Britain 1509-1714 includes State Papers Domestic and Foreign with the Registers of the Privy Council and State Papers in the British Library
Research Guide: League of Nations Documents
Research Guide: UNESCO Documents
Research Guide: United Nations Documents
Research Guide: Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Documents