Integrative Medicine

Daoyin Health Society is a nonprofit organization. Their goal is to provide an easy and scientific way to improve overall body health. "Life is flow like water and wind in nature, like blood and energy in our body. The purpose of Yuanji Daoyin is to promote the physical flow in our body with a series of meditation and exercise. The unique body movement of alternate relaxing and stretching is for reaching this purpose. We believe in the integration of tradition and modern health concept. We encourage people to discover natural and self healing through this mind-body practice."

Established in 1985 as a nonprofit, nonresidential urban center for the practice of Insight meditation. Located in the heart of Cambridge, CIMC provides an environment where the contemplative life can be developed and protected amid the complexities of city living. Here, people of all religious and secular persuasions can come together to learn, support and deepen practice.

Mindfulness at Work is a local initiative that grew out of Katie Lapp’s ongoing commitment to providing employees in Central Administration with new tools to manage stress and increase personal resilience. The programs and courses that comprise Mindfulness at Work are for CADM staff, but are part of the University-wide initiative, Healthy Harvard, which is designed to support the well-being of staff and faculty across the many dimensions of their lives.

A leading producer and distributor of audio materials that deliver direct healing & wellness experiences, at your screen or on your listening device.

Headspace is your very own personal trainer, here to help you train your mind.

Mindful: taking time for what matters.

The Guardian

Health Journey

A link to a guided meditation on mindfulness of the breath (30mins).

The FTC (along with the FDA) monitors dietary supplement claims. Their web page provides consumers with tips on how to judge the quality of information provided on HDS whether on the web, in print or TV/radio broadcasts.

This government office has many fact sheets on herb and supplement products. In addition they generate reports of supplements of interest or concern. A mobile app is available called My Dietary Supplements and numerous links take users to sources of additional information.

Check out Henrietta's Herbal webpage. You will find a gallery of great photos of herbs. (Be sure to read the information on how they may be used.) There are also articles on herbs, older classic texts in several languages, information on plant names and a blog. This is a freely available treasure chest of information. Registration is requested.

An independent analytical testing laboratory.

Q & A, information on new ingredients, report adverse events, tips on supplement use

This page provides links to safety alerts, consumer advisories, and other safety information about the following FDA-regulated products:

• Food and beverages
  
• Dietary supplements
  
• Infant formula

Information for supplements.

Do you know how to report an adverse reaction or toxicity? FDA MedWatch from FDA is available for both healthcare professionals and patients. MedWatch is the FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program

This website is created and maintained by the College of Pharmacy at the University of Texas Al Paso and Austin. Fact Sheets and monographs are well referenced and available in English and Spanish. Scientific publications and presentations are also available with an emphasis on use by the local population and Mexican Americans. Safety information for special populations such as the elderly, and pregnant and lactating women.

The toxicology and the alternative medicine sections of Micromedex are outstanding sources for safety information. They include information on the managment of adverse reactions for herbals and other supplements.The toxicology section of Micromedex provides in-depth information on natural products, supplements, traditional medicines, venom, and more. Entries include effects on anatomical systems, antidotes, foreign names, and references to the literature.

Consult the safety sections of monographs. Evidence-based safety rating are included in each. Remember you can search multi-ingredient brand name products and link to the monographs on each constituent.

An independent program that gives health professionals and consumers a simplified, efficient approach to reporting adverse reactions related to herbals, dietary supplements, or any other natural medicine. This program fills a huge need because adverse events are currently vastly underreported. In 2007, only 479 reports related to dietary supplements were submitted through FDA's MedWatch. Natural Medicines Watch™ is integrated with Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Users to select specific commercial products from a database of over 40,000 products. The system automatically identifies the active ingredients and populates the reporting form with this data. This feature will improve the efficiency and accuracy of adverse reaction reporting related to these products. Additionally Natural Medicines Watch™ was developed to work seamlessly with the FDA MedWatch reporting system. Reports originating in the US are automatically shared with FDA. If you suspect an adverse reaction, you can submit a report today.

A toxicology database from the NIH and the National Library of Medicine. Includes information on teratogens and environmental toxins.