Ethnobotany

Featured collection: Economic Herbarium of Oakes Ames (ECON), Harvard University Herbaria & Libaries

Dr. Schultes in the Amazon
Dr. Schultes in the Amazon
Archives of Gray Herbarium
Harvard University

The Economic Herbarium of Oakes Ames consists of about 40,000 specimens of economically important plants of cultivated and wild origin. The Herbarium was a part of the Botanical Museum, which also included the Economic Botany Collections, the Ware Collection of Glass Models of Plants, the Paleobotanical Collection, the Economic Botany Library and Archives, the Orchid Library of Oakes Ames and Herbarium, and the Archives of the Oakes Ames Orchid Library. The history of the Herbarium can be traced back to 1918, when Oakes Ames donated his collection to Harvard University, including a large herbarium. Since then, the collection has increased considerably, especially from the ethnobotanical research of Prof. Richard E. Schultes and his students in the Andes and the Amazon.


Example of a record from Anthropological Literature:

Place of ethnobotany in the ethnopharmacologic search for psychotomimetic drugs

Author(s): Schultes, Richard Evans.
Subject(s): Psychotropic drugs -- Research | Ethnobotany -- Research
In: Curare, v. 13, no. 1 (1990), p. 31-48

 

Featured journals in Ethnobotany

Woven hat
Woven hat
Peabody ID: 2005.6.12
Peabody Collections Online

For a complete list of currently indexed journal titles, please click on the "Currently Indexed Journals" tab.

Journal of ecological anthropology  Indexed 2008-
Journal of ethnobiology  Indexed 1981-
Journal of ethnopharmacology  Indexed 1979-2004
Records of the Auckland Museum  Indexed 1930-
Vegetation history and archaeobotany  Indexed 2007-

Part of yucca plant
(~500 B.C.-A.D. 400)
Peabody ID: 16-9-10/A3120
Peabody Collections Online

Additional resources

Major Research Topics, Harvard Forest, Harvard University

MCZ Ernst Mayer Library Artwork Collection

Research, The Harvard University Herbaria & Libraries

The International Plant Names Index, The Harvard University Herbaria, The Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew and the Australian National Herbarium