Social and Cultural Anthropology

Featured project: Archive of World Music Collection, The Loeb Music Library of the Harvard College Library

Lute
Lute
Peabody ID: 31-23-50/B5070
Peabody Collections Online

The Archive of World Music, a collection of the Loeb Music Library, was established in 1976 by Professor John Ward and in 1992, with the appointment of Kay Kaufman Shelemay as Harvard's first senior professor of ethnomusicology, moved to the Loeb Music Library to become one of its special collections. It is devoted to the acquisition of archival field recordings of musics world-wide as well as to commercial sound recordings, videos, and DVDs of ethnomusicological interest.


Examples of records from Anthropological Literature:

Turetskii︠a︡ narodnyi︠a︡ pi︠e︡sni. (Muzyka, teksty i perevod) [Turkish folk-songs; music, words and translation]

Author(s): Miller, Boris Vs.
Subject(s): Turkey -- Folk-lore -- Songs | Turkey -- Technology -- Music | Ethnomusicology
In: Ėtnograficheskoe obozri︠e︡nie, g. 15, no. 3 (1903), p. 113-155

Music, possession and shamanism among Khond tribes

Author(s): Basso, Rebecca.
Subject(s): Kandh (Indic people) | Spirit possession -- India | Folk music -- India -- Orissa | Shamanism | Ethnomusicology -- India -- Orissa
In: Culture and religion, v. 7, no. 2 (2006), p. 177-197


 

Featured journals in Social and Cultural Anthropology

Below is a list of selected journal titles in social and cultural anthropology meant to illustrate the breadth of coverage in the Anthropological Literature e-resource. It is only a representative sample. For a complete list of currently indexed journal titles, please click on the "Currently Indexed Journals" tab.

L'Anthropologie  Indexed 1890-
Catauro  Indexed 1999-
East and west  Indexed 1968-
Journal (Société des oceanistes)  Indexed 1945-
Journal of comparative family studies  Indexed 1970-
Journal of the Polynesian Society  Indexed 1894-
Sibrium  Indexed 1954-
Society/Société  Indexed 1977-
Southwestern lore  Indexed 1935-
Trabalhos de antropologia e etnologia  Indexed 1919-
Ymer  Indexed 1881-1965

Moccasin--leaf pattern of
blue, pink, white, yellow, green
beads on brown velvet
Peabody ID: 40-39-10/19327
Peabody Collections Online

Additional resources

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, HUL Open Collections Program

The 19th-Century American Trade Card, Historical Collections, Baker Library, Harvard Business School

The Pluralism Project at Harvard University

Center for the Study of World Religions, Harvard Divinity School

Expeditions & Discoveries, HUL Open Collections Program