Skip to main content

Library Guide for the Harvard Ukrainian Summer Institute

Starting places and core resources on Ukrainian studies in the Harvard Library.

Contacts

If you have questions or comments, please e-mail: Hugh Truslow or Olha Aleksic

Reminder: If you are not able to attend the class on library resources or the tour of Widener, please feel free to contact Hugh or Olha for an individual consultation.

Finding Articles


Finding Articles

To find journal articles, for a first pass you can use the HOLLIS+ catalog. You'll be reminded to sign in to search all HOLLIS+ resources; this is because some of the database providers only allow their information to be searched by researchers affiliated with subscribing institutions. You may also want to consult discipline- or subject-specific journal indexes and databases. The first step is to determine which databases or databases to use. Some databases are subject specific and some have general resources. The databases listed below are among those that might be most useful to you. The list below has just a few selected titles, so to find additional databases that Harvard subscribes to, go to the Find E-Resources page.

History

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies): Indexes articles etc., in publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.

Academic Search Premier (ASP): Offers magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, often in full-text, on a variety of topics from over 4,500 scholarly publications.

Tip: ABSEES and ASP are part of a group of databases hosted by EBSCO Host, can be searched together with just one search. From the ABSEES or ASP search page, click the choose database image tab at the top of the page. Check the boxes next to the databases you want to search and click Continue.

Search example: Choose ABSEES, and ASP. Search: socialist realism and ukrain*

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO): A source for theory and research in international affairs.

Declassified Documents Reference System Online: This collection of now-declassifed documents comes from Presidential libraries, the C.I.A., the F.B.I. and a host of other U.S. government agencies.

East View Universal Databases: The East View UDBs are a set of full-text journal databases on the subjects of politics, government, and social sciences in the former Soviet republics. You can also search only the Ukrainian Publications.

Historical Abstracts: Covers scholarship on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

JSTOR: Slavic Studies: A full-text database which includes a number of journals, including the following: Europe-Asia Studies (1993-2002), Soviet Studies (1949-1992), Russian Review (1941-2000), and Slavic and East European Journal (1957-2003).

Ukrainian National Bibliography: Citations to books, magazine and journal articles, and dissertation abstracts in in Russian, Ukrainian, and English, covering a broad range of political, economic, and literary/cultural affairs of Ukraine. 

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies: Covers material in the humanities and social sciences published in the Commonwealth of Independent States, in Eastern European countries, and elsewhere, including periodicals, books, and manuscripts.

Return to top

Government

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)

Academic Search Premier (ASP)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Declassified Documents Reference System Online

East View Universal Databases: The East View UDBs are a set of full-text journal databases on the subjects of politics, government, and social sciences in the former Soviet republics. You can also search only the Ukrainian Publications.

International Political Science Abstracts: Provides abstracts of political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service International): Indexes public policy literature, with emphasis on contemporary issues and the making and evaluating of public policy.

PolicyFile: Provides convenient, efficient, online access to public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts: Indexes international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Return to top

Literature and Linguistics

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)

Academic Search Premier (ASP)

East View Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals: The East View Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals UDB is a fulltext journal database of major Russian journals in the social sciences and humanities. You can also search only the Ukrainian Publications.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA): Provides citations with abstracts for journal articles from over 1200 journals in all areas of language and linguistics.

MLA International Bibliography: Offers bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies

Slavic Humanities Index: Article citations from more than 180 of the most important Slavic humanities periodicals, in 21 languages.

 

Return to top


Questions? Contact Us!

Schedule a follow-up consultation:

Hugh Truslow, Librarian for the Davis Center Collection and Library Liaison to the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, Fung Library, 617-495-4030, e-mail

Olha Aleksic, Petro Jacyk Bibliographer for Ukrainian Collections, Widener Library Slavic Division, and Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute Library, 617-496-2458, e-mail

Return to top