Research Guides: Malcolm_LLM: Home

Home

Getting Started

Welcome to your research guide for Malcolm's LLM Writing Group 2016-2017!

This guide is designed to give you quick access to some of the resources most commonly used for business, corporate & corporate governance research. It is not a comprehensive guide and you should consider other sources as you find them. Feel free to contact me, Tim, if you find a source that you think others would benefit from and fits well with this group.

LLM Paper Research - Getting Started Guide
LLM Guide to the Bluebook
This Bluebook guide for LLMs was created by Jennifer Allison, an FCIL Librarian, and is an excellent resource as you begin citing sources in your paper.
Other Guides
This link will redirect you to other guides created by librarians all across Harvard University. Feel free to explore.
HLS Library Home Page
Find everything you need to know to access the library and it's resources.

Literature

Databases to search for literature

ABI/Inform

Business Source Complete (The Business Searching Interface)
The Business Searching Interface facilitates searching other types of documents as well as articles. The EBSCOhost Interface is optimized for searching articles. Business Source Complete is a database of citations to, summaries and full text of articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications. Citations, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included as well as current company, industry and region reports. The EBSCOhost Interface is optimized for searching articles.
EconLit
EconLit is a comprehensive indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 600 journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), book reviews, dissertations, and working papers from the Cambridge University Press' Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.

Pay attention to the citations in Google Scholar. An Author Name that is underlined will open a profile page on that author. The Cited by link will bring you to a new search of papers/books that cite to the initial article and the Related articles will generate a search of 100 articles Google thinks are related to this particular article.

HeinOnline - Law Journal Search

SEARCH TIP: put your search terms in quotes, add a tilde and a number to find your terms, in any order, within that many words of each other. Example: "digital content license agreement"~50 will find all of these terms within 50 words of each other.

Hollis - Advanced Search
Find Harvard LLM Papers Written in the last 5 years.
This is a search in Hollis to identify LLM papers written since 2011. Focus with a keyword or subject specific to your thesis.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full Text indexes dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities. Provides full text for most indexed dissertations from 1990-present.
JSTOR
Includes all titles in the JSTOR collection, excluding recent issues. JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Government, Policy & Practice

Government, Policy & Practitioner Resources

Congress.gov

ProQuest Congressional (Harvard Login)
Proquest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for accessing the many publications of Congress. Coverage includes Bills and Laws 1798-present; Committee Prints and Misc. Publications 1817-present; Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-2001; Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-present; CRS Reports 1916-present; Hearings 1824-present; House & Senate Documents 1789-present; House & Senate Reports 1789-present; Legislative Histories 1969-present. There are links to full-text documents, and this resource also provides an index for the Harvard's microfiche collections of older materials and the US Serial Set. Information on Members & Committees; Regulations; and Political News is also available.

IntelliConnect
You will need to set up a profile at first to use this database.
Lexis Advance
Click on the "Practice Areas" tab to get to the specific topical research sources.

PLI Discover PLUS
Provides complete access to Practising Law Institute's authoritative treatises, course handbooks, legal forms, program transcripts and answer books.

PoliticoPro
You will need to register before getting access to this page. See http://hls.harvard.edu/library/politico-pro/
Think Tank Search Engine
Use this custom search engine from the Harvard Kennedy School to search for reputable think tanks in your area.
Westlaw Practice Areas
Click on the "Practice Areas" tab to get to the specific topical research sources.

Foreign & International

Foreign and International Resources

Foreign and Comparative Research Databases
Foreign Law Guide
The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is an essential database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.
Getting the Deal Through
GTDT now covers over 80 practice areas spanning competition & regulatory, dispute resolution & litigation, tax, white collar crime, IP, corporate, commercial, banking & finance, infrastructure & transport, energy & natural resources, insurance and compliance. Across the entire series, GTDT publishes analysis on more than 150 jurisdictions.

Current Awareness

News & Blogs

Law360
Politico
Bloomberg BNA Law Reports
You may need to login using your Bloomberg Law account.
HLS Forum on Corporate Governance and Financial Regulation
NY Times Deal Book
Financial Times
The Conference Board Governance Center Blog
ISS Governance Insights

Data

Data Sources

Global Financial Data
Huid/pin login required.##Global Financial Data (GFD) is a comprehensive economic and financial time-series database covering 150 countries and 6,500 different data series. GFD includes data on stock markets from 1690, exchange rates from 1590, interest rates from 1700, commodities from 1500, and inflation from 1264. Users can download data into spreadsheet format or use the graphing features.

Judicial Workload, Jury Verdicts & Crime Data
A list of legal and judicial databases you have access to for statistical research.
LexisNexis Securities Mosaic
MergerMetrics
Rankandfiled.com
The tagline for this search engine is "SEC Filings for humans," and they say, "Rank and Filed gathers data from EDGAR, indexes it, and returns it in formats meant to help investors research, investigate and discover companies on their own."
SharkRepellent.net
Proxy research, shareholder activism, corporate governance.
WRDS - Wharton Research Data Service
*You will need to register before getting access to these data sources.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the leading data research platform and business intelligence tool for over 30,000 corporate, academic, government and nonprofit clients in 33 countries. WRDS provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics.

Bloomberg Terminal

Bloomberg Terminal Function Guide
A "cheat sheet" of popular commands.

A Bloomberg Terminal, providing hard financial data, real time news, and current daily stock information, is located near the Reference Desk on the 4th Floor of Langdell Hall. Please email Lisa Lilliott for further assistance. (Access is limited to the Harvard Law School community.)

Getting Help

Contact Us!

Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)

Email: research@law.harvard.edu

Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class