Skip to main content

Accessing and Donating Student Material in Historical & Special Collections: Student Organization Material

Student Organization Collections

These collections have been formally processed and a description of the material appears in the finding aids below. Most finding aids include a high-level overview of the collection as well as a detailed container list that includes the title of the folders in each box.

HLS Chancery Club Records, 1926-1962
This collection contains financial, administrative and membership documents for the club, the bulk of which are from 1950-1960. Also included are documents pertaining to the purchase of 9 Chauncy St, which became the home of the Chancery Club in 1959. The collection includes ledgers, correspondence, meeting minutes, and a few photographs.

HLS Drama Society Records, 1961-1995
This collection consists of the records of the Harvard Law School Drama Society from 1961-1995, including scripts, scores, and materials relating to production.

HLS Forum Records, 1964-2000
This collection contains correspondence relating to Harvard Law School Forum speakers and reel-to-reel, cassette, PCM and VHS tapes and phonograph recordings of the Forum speakers.

HLS Republicans Records, 1986-1990
The bulk of the collection relates to issues of freedom speech stemming from the disruption, and subsequent cancellation of a Harvard Law School Republicans sponsored speech given by former Nicaraguan Contra leader Adolfo Calero in October, 1987.

HLS Student Law Club Records, 1857-1971
This collection mainly contains handwritten and typed records of moot court cases argued by various law clubs at the Harvard Law School. The collection also includes a small amount of materials related to the various clubs, such as correspondence, minutes, and ephemera.

Superior Court of the Pow Wow Briefs, 1871-1969
Legal briefs and administrative records of the Superior Court of the Pow Wow, a Harvard Law School student organization, dating from its inception in 1870 to 1898. There are also a few records from 1934-1969.

Black Law Students Association

Although there is not a single, formally processed collection of material documenting the Harvard Law School Black Law Students Association (BLSA), there are many publications that have been individually cataloged. Consult the list below to review BLSA publications that are in Historical & Special Collections.

Harvard Environmental Law Society

Although there is not a single, formally processed collection of material documenting the Harvard Environmental Law Society, there are many publications that have been individually cataloged. Consult the list below to review Environmental Law Society publications that are in Historical & Special Collections as well as the Harvard University Archives.

The Record

Search Full Text:
Digitized issues from 1946-2001 can be accessed through the HollisLinks search page. The HollisLinks page allows users to employ full-text search across the entire corpus of The Record. Users can also search within an opened issue.

More recent issues (2002-present) can be found by searching HLRecord.org.

HOLLIS+ Catalog Records:
Harvard Law School Record (1946-1955)
Harvard Law Record (1956-2002)
The Record (2002-present)

Women's Law Association

Although there is not a single, formally processed collection of material documenting the Harvard Law School Women's Law Association (WLA), there are many publications that have been individually cataloged. Consult the list below to review WLA publications that are in Historical & Special Collections.

Highlights from Student Organization Material

The Outlaw, v. 1, n. 4, February 1971 published by the Outlaw Collective at the Harvard Law SchoolThe Outlaw, a student publication printed and distributed by the Harvard Law Guild, gives us a glimpse of student discourse on campus during the early 1970s. 

Find something that we missed?

This list is by no means comprehensive and we add to it every chance we get! If you come across an item or collection in Historical & Special Collections that was created by HLS students and that you feel should be added to this LibGuide, please feel free to alert us to it. Send us an email at specialc@law.harvard.edu.