[FAS] Culture and Belief 61:Gender and Science: From Marie Curie to Gamergate

The Ernst Mayr Library, established in 1861, is committed to being a leading resource in the fields of natural history, zoology, paleontology, biodiversity and comparative biology, evolution and ecology, and strongly supports molecular biology, cell biology, developmental biology, neuroscience, genetics and bioinformatics. It contains a vast collection of monographs and journals acquired since 1861 in these subjects. The website for the Library (http://library.mcz.harvard.edu/) exists as an introduction and guide to the Library as well as a gateway to other information sources in natural history and the zoological sciences.

The library is located on the second floor of 26 Oxford Street, in the same building as the Harvard Museum of Natural History (HMNH). The entrance is the one to the left of HMNH; go up the stairs into the building, turn left, then go up the stairs to the second floor. The library is right there.

Most materials in the general collection are available to Harvard affiliates for loan. When classes are in session, the library is open 9 am – 6 pm Monday-Friday and 10 am – 1 pm Saturdays except holiday weekends and during Spring Break. Items in the library’s Special Collections do not circulate.

 Special Collections are comprised of approximately 15,000 rare and valuable volumes, art works and objects as well as the Archives of the Museum of Comparative Zoology. These items are housed in a separate, secure section of the library. The majority of the volumes in Special Collections date from before 1850. The collection includes older serials, publications by the Museum staff, maps, microforms, sound recordings, and videorecordings. There are also field notes and personal papers of many MCZ scientists, including many women.

Click here for details on accessing Special Collections.

A number of prominent women scientists have worked in or been associated with the MCZ, including Tilly Edinger, famed as the founder of the field of neuropaleontology (fossil brains); Ruth Turner, a pioneering marine biologist who became the world expert on the bivalve mollusks shipworms; Elizabeth Cabot Agassiz, wife of MCZ founder Louis Agassiz and herself a natural history researcher as well as co-founder and first president of Radcliffe College. Many of their personal papers are included in Special Collections. Another notable female scientist with many personal papers represented in Special Collections is Elisabeth Deichmann (Hollis no. 10730276), who worked in marine biology. Also represented are Elizabeth Bangs Bryant, spiders; Myvanwy Dick, fishes; mammalogists Barbara Lawrence and Maria Rutzmoser (both on Hollis no. 13687193); and paleoichthylogist Barbara J. Stahl (Hollis no. 9917384). There is more information on several of these women here.

In addition to the rare and often unique items in Special Collections, the general collection includes many books relevant to CB61. For instance, books by or about all the women referenced are available for loan. Begin your search in HOLLIS+, note the call numbers of the items of interest, and when you visit the library ask a reference librarian for assistance as the books you need might be in different parts of the collection.

The library also has books by and about other women important in science. Again, ask a reference librarian for assistance.

Because there are multiple call number systems used in the library and many items are currently in transition, you should always ask for assistance when you enter! Staff members are always available to help you find what you need quickly and efficiently.