[FAS] Culture and Belief 61:Gender and Science: From Marie Curie to Gamergate

Tozzer Library

This collection includes all subfields of anthropology, with a special emphasis on materials relating to the indigenous peoples of the Americas.

These subfields include:

• Cultural Anthropology
• Biological & Physical Anthropology
• Archaeology
• Anthropological Linguistics

Tozzer is located next door to the Harvard Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology.

You can find out more on our website.

Peabody Museum Archives

Many useful primary materials are also housed in the Peabody Museum Archives, such as personal correspondence and field notes.

The Peabody Museum Archives are located in the basement of the Peabody Museum.

You can find out more on their website.

Tozzer Library

• Contact Susan Gilman, sgilman@fas.harvard.edu, Tozzer's Research Librarian. She can answer your questions and help you with the process of getting registered to use Special Collections.

• Tozzer Library's Special Collections are accessible Mon-Fri from 9-5pm.

Peabody Museum Archives

• You may submit inquiries or arrange visits via the online Research Request Form, email them directly at pmresrch@fas.harvard.edu

• Allow at least three weeks' advance notice to schedule appointments.

Dissertations

Tozzer Library houses the dissertations of the first women to earn PhDs from Radcliffe/Harvard in archaeology and anthropology.

• Alice M. Brues (1940) Biological Anthropology
• Hannah Marie Wormington (1953) Archaeology
• Suzannah W. Miles (1955) Archaeology
• Ruth B. Gruhn (1961) Archaeology
• Cynthia Irwin Williams (1963) Archaeology
• Olga F. Linares (1963) Archaeology

Cora Du Bois – Cultural & Psychological Anthropologist

Du Bois was a cultural anthropologist and a leading figure in psychological anthropology. In her early career she studied the uses of psychiatry in anthropology. Du Bois also worked for the government and briefly for the World Health Organization. Later in her career she became the first woman to teach anthropology at Harvard.

Harriet "Hattie" Silliman Cosgrove – Southwestern Archaeologist

Harriet Cosgrove and her husband, C.B. Cosgrove, were a husband and wife team of archaeologists. The Cosgroves started as amateurs, however their passion for uncovering the past led them to seek out professional training from notable archaeologists in the region. Soon they became highly respected in the field for their excavation of the Swarts Ruin in New Mexico's Mimbres Valley, which was funded by Harvard's Peabody Museum.

Zelia Nuttall – Mesoamerican Archaeologist

Nuttall was a pioneering figure in her recognition of archaic (pre-Aztec) culture in Mexico and became an authority on the "sun cult" in ancient Mesoamerica and Peru. Much of her work investigated early manuscripts. Nuttall was responsible for tracing the Zapotecan manuscript, which became known as the Codex Nuttall and was published as such in 1902 by the Harvard Peabody Museum.