What is Papers?
Papers helps you manage your reading as well as your writing. It organizes your collection of papers and citations, automatically downloads and imports full-text content for the articles, and helps you find articles. It also includes a light-weight, effective citation manager for inserting citations into documents and generating bibliographies. Papers is available for the Mac, iOS, and Windows.
Strengths of Papers
- Automatically downloads and organizes documents as they are viewed
- Includes built-in search and discovery tools
- Allows annotation of PDFs
- Synchonizes a library among multiple machines
- iOS app available for reading on the go
- Includes a slick, light-weight citation manager
Getting Started with Papers
Papers for both the Mac OS and Windows is available from Mekentosj (http://www.papersapp.com/) for about about $80 (It's sold in Euros. Your cost will depend on the exchange rate). Student licenses are available for about $48. If you have a previous version, discounted upgrades are available, too. A 30-day trial is free. The iPad/iPhone app is available through the iTunes Store.
Getting Help with Papers
Questions about using Papers are best answered at the Papers support pages: http://support.mekentosj.com . The Knowledge Base provides task-specific answers in a how-to format. The Discussions provides an opportunity to discuss technical issues with Mekentosj support staff and other users.
For local support, contact:
Research and Education Librarian
Setting Up Papers at Harvard
To configure Papers for use with Harvard systems, choose the "Access" tab from Papers' Preferences pane (or Settings in the Windows version) and:
- For "Link Resolver (OpenURL)" use http://sfx.hul.harvard.edu/hvd
- Pull down the "Use Library Proxy" menu and choose Harvard.
- Add the Countway Website's URL to the exception list so you can use our page successfully:
At this point, Papers is set. The first time you try to access restricted content, you will be challenged for a Harvard University PIN. Depending on your Keychain settings (for Mac users) you may not have to log in again, as your password will be stored in Keychain.