Key Article Databases
- Music Periodicals DatabaseIndex of scholarly articles and reviews from over 400 music periodicals, some available in full-text (or with Find It links when available). Limit document type to "Research and Analysis" to retrieve only scholarly articles.
- JSTOR MusicFull-text access to scholarly articles from over 50 music periodicals published from the 1860s - 2000s. Remember: JSTOR does not include the most recent issues of journals.
- Music Index OnlineIndex of over 850 music periodicals; strengths are popular music, ethnomusicology, and reviews. The online version covers articles published from 1974-present; earlier volumes are available in print:
Loeb Music Aldrich Rm. | ML118.M84 (1949-present) - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present only)`International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English. Indexes scholarly articles, reviews, conference papers, essays, book chapters, dissertations and more. The Find It button links to complete articles when available.
Finding Journal Articles
Library catalogs such as HOLLIS only index periodicals at the title level. Article databases (full-text or abstract) allow the researcher to find individual articles on specific topics.
Paths to Finding E-Resources at Harvard
E-Research @ Harvard Libraries: Search for a resource by title or subject in Find E-Resources, or find E-Journals. The E-Research portal also allows you to search several databases at once, using Quick Search of Cross Search, and to save your preferences, search history and results, and links to frequently-consulted e-resources in My Research. You can access E-Research and most online resources from any location with your Harvard ID and PIN.
Online Resources for Music Scholars -- Online Indexes, Journals, and Newspapers: links to journal indexes useful for the study of music
Citation Linker: Allows you to find the full text of an article if you already have a partial citation.
Find It @ Harvard: Inside databases, the purple "Find It" button allows you to move directly from an article citation to HOLLIS and/or full text for the article.
LibX: A Firefox browser extension that provides access to the HOLLIS Catalog, Citation Linker, Google Scholar, and Harvard e-resources and e-journals. LibX allows you to quickly reload subscription-only articles on the Web via Harvard's licensed e-resources.
Search Music Resources Now
This form will search across some some of the article databases useful for research in music. Many other eresources can be found in E-Research@Harvard. See the Eresources section of this guide for more tips.
