Other LORs
Learning Objects Repositories beyond the Harvard Libraries:
Collection Highlights
Below, you will find Learning objects created by Harvard librarians to highlight special collections.
If you would like to reuse a learning object posted here, please contact the author(s) and refer to the LOL repurposing and reuse guidelines, at left.
Did we miss one? Please recommend a learning object for inclusion in the Showcase.
AFRICAN VIDEO COLLECTION
- Description: Focuses on videocassettes, DVDs and films from, on, or about Sub-Saharan Africa
- Author(s): Bassey Irele.
- Consult the Guidelines for Using or Repurposing learning objects such as this one.
- Want to make your own? Build something similar with LOL.
DESTINATIONS
- Direct Link: http://lgdata.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com/docs/1242/199677/Destinations_Brochure2011.pdf
- Related Assignments: First Paper; Second Paper
- Description: This is a companion resource for a Gen Ed course assignment for Professor Menand's US/W 23 "Art and Thought in the Cold War" (spring '11). It offers context and a place to begin for students who will need to locate a primary source document in one of Harvard's libraries. Images of related artifacts from the library's collections are featured as samples to stimulate students' curiosity. It serves as a nice model for an alternative to the traditional research guide.
- Author(s): Susan Gilroy
- Consult the Guidelines for Using or Repurposing learning objects such as this one.
GERMANIC FILM DATABASE
- Description: A tool for searching Harvard's collection of Germanic films, exclusive of other film holdings. The database is designed to promote discovery of materials through useful categories, such as format, language, country of origin, etc.
- Author(s): Sebastian Hierl
- Consult the Guidelines for Using or Repurposing learning objects such as this one.
- Want to make your own? Build something similar with LOL.
MAPS DEMO
- Description: Geographical moving image tours that integrate maps with landscapes in Google Earth can be custom designed by Map Librarians to support courses.
- Author(s): Bonnie Burns. Contact Bonnie if you or professors you work with are interested in having a tour custom made.
To view the Maps Demo:
- Save this file to your desktop: Expositions.kmz.
- Open Google Earth (you may download the free version at http://www.google.com/earth/download/ge/).
- In Google Earth, choose File>Open and open the file Expositions.kmz.
- Highlight the "Expositions" folder under Temporary Places.
- Make sure the checkbox is clicked to display the maps.
- Click the arrow button to play the tour or click "+" to expand the folder and double-click on a map to zoom to it.
ONLINE RESOURCES FOR MUSIC SCHOLARS
- Direct Link: http://guides.hcl.harvard.edu/onmusic
- Description: Provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.
- Author(s): Liza Vick and Kerry Masteller.
- Consult the Guidelines for Using or Repurposing learning objects such as this one.
- Want to make your own? Build something similar with LOL.
PEABODY COLLECTION HIGHLIGHTS
- Description: Adding visual flavor and interest to a related research guide (Using the Anthropological Literature E-Resource), displays photographs of select objects from the Peabody collection.
- Author(s): Susan Berstler and Helen Quigley
- Consult the Guidelines for Using or Repurposing learning objects such as this one.
- Want to make your own? Build something similar with LOL.