[FAS] German: The Ethics of Atheism: Marx, Nietzsche, Freud

Marxist Internet Archive
The Marxists Internet Archive is divided into sections: Marxist Writers; Marxist History; Subject Archive; Reference Writers; Encyclopaedia of Marxism.  Marxist writers is the largest section, holding over 500 texts. Large collections of works are available in electronic form for Marx and Engels; Lenin; Trotsky; James Connolly; Daniel DeLeon; Rosa Luxemburg; John MacLean; and more. The Marx and Engels, and Lenin archives include correspondence, biographies, photographic images and a subject index. The section on reference writers draws attention to individuals whose works assist in understanding Marxist concepts. Writers for whom biographies and excerpts are provided include Ludwig Feuerbach; Georg Hegel; Jean-Paul Sartre; Albert Einstein; Charles Darwin; Georgi Dimitrov; and Thomas More. [Intute]

The Marxist Internet Archives includes, among other the following texts:

• Feuerbach, The Essence of Christianity
• Marx, Leading Article of the Kölnische Zeitung 179
• Marx, On the Jewish Question
• Marx, Critique of Hegel's Dialectic and General Philosophy
• Marx, Contribution to the Critique of Hegel's Philosophy of Right: Introduction
• Marx, The German Ideology, I, §1
• Marx, The Holy Family, or Critique of Critical Criticism, Chapter VI, 3, d
• Marx, Theses on Feuerbach
• Marx, The Communism of the Rheinischer Beobachter

Past Masters
The Past Masters includes the full-text of works by major German and Danish philosophical figures, such as Kant, Hegel, Nietzsche, and Kierkegaard in both original languages and in English translation).
Location: Widener CD-ROM RR 187 RBS

Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing Archive [PEP]
The PEP Archive contains the full text of the standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud (translated from the German,) and the contents of eighteen premier journals in psychoanalysis and classic books, including Freud’s complete correspondences with Abraham, Ferenczi, Fliess, Jones, and Jung.

Social Theory
Social Theory provides access to “an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day,” and includes seminal works by theorists from all countries, including as G. W. F. Hegel, Søren Kierkegaard, Friedrich Nietzsche, Max Weber, Karl Marx, and Jürgen Habermas, among other. The texts are in English translation.

Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts online: Erstausgaben und Werkausgaben von der Frühaufklärung bis zur Spätaufklärung / 18th Century German Literature Online. Herausgegeben von Paul Raabe; bearbeitet von Axel Frey. Berlin: K.G. Saur c2007.
The "18th Century German Literature Online" includes first editions and the first published complete editions of the works of more than 600 German-speaking authors from the early to the late Enlightenment. Edited by Paul Raabe, the database includes the full text of approximately 2,700 works (in more than 4,700 volumes) that reflect the broad spectrum of German literature from the Enlightenment. Included are the first editions and complete historical editions of leading representatives of the Enlightenment such as Bürger, Gottsched, Herder, Kant, Lessing, Mendessohn, Moritz, Nicolai, Wieland and many more, as well as the writings of the "Göttinger Hainbund" and works of the Swiss Enlightenment. The database further contains the writings of hundreds of lesser known authors who nevertheless contributed to the literary Enlightenment in Germany with their lyrical, dramatic and epic works. Each work is presented as digital facsimile with accompanying, searchable full text. In addition to complete bibliographic records for each individual work, electronic tables of content permit to directly access chapter headings and sections, such as a particular poem or act. A short bio-bibliographic article provides an introduction to each author.

Deutsches Textarchiv (DTA)
The Projekt Deutsches Textarchiv (DTA) and the Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) are cooperating on creating an online canon of multidisciplinary texts from the period around 1650 to 1900. Once completed, the project will provide researchers with a linguistically annotated, fully searchable textual corpus of core German texts, across all subject areas.

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW
The database provides an electronic edition of the "Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker" series in full text. It covers the works of a large variety of authors spanning eleven centuries, including early German texts; editions of important authors such as Herder, Kleist, and Büchner; and the works of philosophers such as Kant, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. It further includes historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts, as well as essays, speeches, and other non-literary material. All texts are newly edited and accompanied by extensive commentary.

Erlanger Liste - Digitale Texte
Provides an overview of German text collections on the Internet. Produced by the Institut für Germanistik at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

Kant Adakemie Ausgabe (Bonner Kant Corpus)
The site provides access to the Akademie Ausgabe of Kant's works, as well as to his correspondence and other written documents.

Nietzsche Briefwechsel database
The database provides searchable access to Nietzsche's correspondance and papers, collected at various libraries and archives throughout Europe. The database permits to identify correspondents who wrote to Nietzsche, as well as his letters to correspondents throughout Europe. Select letters and documents are available as page images.

Projekt Gutenberg-DE
Offers the full-text (in German) of hundreds of works of literature. This website is hosted by the German media group, Spiegel.

Zeno.org
Zeno.org is one of the largest online libraries in German Studies. The database spans several disciplines and provides access to searchable page images, as well as full text, of a large number of canonical German authors, from the brothers Grimm to Tucholsky and everyone in between. Zeno.org futher includes a large number of images of paintings.

Academic Search Premier (via EBSCO Host)
A multi-disciplinary index with the full text of over 8,500 journals, both popular and scholarly. Especially useful for interdisciplinary topics. Full-text articles are available from about half of these journals. All journal citations, whether full-text or bibliographic-only, are fully indexed and abstracted . The collection is particularly strong in the social sciences and the humanities. To aid your searching, these tips are helpful:

• The default search searches only the title, abstract, subject headings, and author fields. It does not search full-text unless you check off the box at the bottom of the search page.
• Titles and phrases must go in quotes to ignore field codes and Boolean operators. The database reads “is” and “an” as field codes and will return “no hits” unless these words are placed in quotation marks.
• There is a new field code: jn = journal name. This code is useful for finding one-word periodical titles such as Time and Science .

 JSTOR
JSTOR archives the contents of several hundred journals in several disciplines. Of these, some are philosophy journals, such as Ethics, Noûs, and Philosophical Quarterly. JSTOR provides full-text of the articles in PDF and HTML formats, along with abstracts and stable URLs for posting in bibliographies. The articles go back as far as the mid-nineteenth century in some cases; however, JSTOR does not include articles from roughly the past 5 years.

It is not always clear that, when searching multiple terms, the search engine is finding both of them at the same time. It appears that it finds one or the other term, but not both. However, you can limit your searches to a specific academic discipline or discipline, or to individual publications. Finally, remember that JSTOR archives only some philosophy journals. There may be other relevant journals in print and in other databases besides this one.

Project MUSE
Maintained by Johns Hopkins University, provides electronic access to over several hundred journals in the humanities, mathematics, and the social sciences. Unlike JSTOR, these are recent articles (i.e., generally within the last five to seven years.)

The interface has recently been updated with new graphics and a slightly different layout. When you initially login, you will be presented with a list of the journals housed within Project MUSE. Find the Search link at the top of the page, and go to Advanced Search. You will be able to search by individual journal, multiple journals, or by subject, as well as limit results by type of document, e.g., article, poem, review, and the like.

ScienceDirect
Houses the full-text of Elsevier's science journals, including the Studies in the History and Philosophy of Science. This database allows you to search all of its sources at once; journals only; Medline only (no full-text); International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences only; and SCIRUS only (a Web search engine). The basic search defaults to searching only the abstract, title, and keywords. For full-text, select it from the pull-down menu. The advanced search option requires the use of Boolean logic. When asked for which subject area to search, select Arts and Humanities. You will then be able to search all of the periodicals most relevant to philosophy. Additionally, there is an option to view each periodical individually, by volume, and by issue.

Synergy
The database, Synergy, houses full-text of journals published by Blackwell. Journals in philosophy include, among others, Analysis, Midwest Studies in Philosophy, Noûs, Pacific Philosophical Quarterly, Philosophical Investigations, The Philosophical Quarterly, Philosophy & Public Affairs, and Ratio. The database offers simple and advanced search functionality across all or several journals, or one journal at a time. Additionally, the user can browse the subject tree menu on the home page when they initially log into the database.

ANNO: Austrian Newspapers Online
ANNO provides access to page images of a large number of Austrian newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Austrian Literature Online (ALO)  
Austrian Literature Online provides access to a large amount of digitized manuscripts, books, dissertations, and journals, as well as cultural materials, such as postcards.  All materials are viewable as page-images and grouped by source or type.  The collections stem from the Austrian National Library and Austrian research libraries. 

DigiZeitschriften
Created by the "Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften" at the University Library of Göttingen and funded by the German Research Foundation, DigiZeitschriften provides page images and increasing full text of periodicals in Literature, Philology, History, Library Science, and other subjects of interest to Literary Studies. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR.  Dates of coverage vary by title.

Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB)
From the University Library of Regensburg. Though the EZB is not a database of full text journals, it does provides access to many German-language journal titles.

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, digitale Bibliothek: Zeitungen
The Digital Library of the Berlin State Library provides access to numerous German-language historical newspapers, from the 19th Century to the 1940s. The emphasis of the database is on historical Prussian newspapers, but titles include Turkish immigrant newspapers, as well as German-language newspapers from Turkey and Argentina from the 1940s, as well as Colonial-era newspapers from East Africa. Titles included in the Digital Library are also accessible through the Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB). The Berlin State Library also recently launched ZEFYS, a portal for finding and using current as well as historical newspapers from Germany and all over the world.

ZEFYS
A product of the Berlin State Library's Digital Library (see above). ZEFYS is a new portal for finding and using current as well as historical newspapers from Germany and all over the world.