indicates that users with a
Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.
Dictionaries
The resources in print are available for use in the library only.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, 1st edition.
Robert Audi, general editor. Cambridge University Press,
1995.
Location: Widener Library RR 4093.29
The Oxford Dictionary of the Social
Sciences
Covering anthropology, sociology, political science, economics,
human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the
Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions
of more than 1,500 important terms. The Dictionary
includes nearly 275 biographies of major figures—from Franz Boas to
John Maynard Keynes to Max Weber.
The Oxford
Duden German Dictionary
This is the full version of the Oxford Duden (see listing for the
concise version at the top of this list to compare)
Location: Widener Library RR 2282.92
Online: To connect to online version via Past Masters, scroll
through the list to "Oxford Duden...".
Encyclopedias
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Location: Widener Library RR 2003.7.7
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Don Borchert, ed. 2nd
edition. 10 vols., 2006.
The Encyclopedia of Philosophy, although largely
superseded by the Stanford Encyclopedia of
Philosophy , is still valuable for looking
up background and introductory material on a philosopher or
philosophical topic.
Location: Widener Library RR 4903.4
International Encyclopedia of the Social and
Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
The IESBS aims to be the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource
covering a variety of topics in the social and behavioral sciences.
It covers a wide variety of topics in the areas of mind, cognition,
perception, and the like that are relevant to philosophy. The
material contained in the IESBS tends to reflect current trends and
research in the social sciences. However, this sometimes means that
articles carry a certain bias or slant towards the more favored
current theories, and may not treat a topic as fully or as
objectively as might be expected. Nevertheless, IESBS articles are
signed, dated, updated often, and contain references and links to
further resources. The user can retrieve articles by summary, HTML
full-text, and in PDF format.
Meta-Encyclopedia of
Philosophy
This site compares the treatment of subjects and topics in
six philosophy encyclopedias on the Internet. In other words, it
lists subjects and topics alphabetically, and marks on a grid if
and where various Internet philosophy encyclopedias cover these.
There is no indication as to when or how often the site owner
updates the information.
The new encyclopedia of unbelief. Edited by Tom Flynn ;
foreword by Richard Dawkins ; publisher Paul Kurtz. Amherst,
N.Y.: Prometheus Books, 2007.
Location: Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. BL2705
.N49 2007
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an electronic
encyclopedia of philosophy, with entries on philosophers and
philosophical topics written by prominent scholars in the field.
Entries are signed and dated, and include bibliographies, Internet
resources (where applicable), and cross-references to related
entries.
Guides
The encyclopedias in print are available for use in the library only.
The Cambridge companion to Freud. Edited by Jerome Neu.
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1991.
Location: Robbins Philosophy BF109.F74 C36 1991
Location: Widener WID-LC BF109.F74 C36 1992
The Cambridge companion to German idealism. Edited by Karl
Ameriks. Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Location: Andover-Harv. Theol B2745 .C36 2000
Location: Lamont B2745 .C36 2000
Location: Robbins Philosophy B2745 .C36 2000
Location: Widener WID-LC B2745 .C36 2000
The Cambridge companion to Hegel and nineteenth-century
philosophy. Edited by Frederick C. Beiser. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University
Press, 2008.
Location: Lamont B2948 .C283 2008
Location: Robbins Philosophy B2948 .C283 2008
Location: Widener WID-LC B2948 .C283 2008
The Cambridge companion to Marx. Edited by Terrell
Carver. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press,
1991.
Location: Lamont B3305.M74 C35 1991
Location: Widener Harvard Depository B3305.M74 C35 1991
Location: Widener WID-LC B3305.M74 C35 1991
The Cambridge companion to Nietzsche. Edited by Bernd
Magnus and Kathleen M. Higgins. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge
University Press, 1996.
Location: Lamont B3317 .C29 1996
Location: Widener WID-LC B3317 .C29 1996
A companion to Nietzsche. Edited by Keith Ansell
Pearson. Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell Pub., 2006.
Location: Widener WID-LC B3317 .C619 2006
Critical companion to contemporary Marxism. Edited by
Jacques Bidet and Stathis Kouvelakis. Leiden; Boston: Brill,
2008.
Location: Widener WID-LC HX40 .D425513 2008
A History of Philosophy. F.C. Copleston, SJ. Nine
volumes. Search Press, 1946-present.
Copleston's History of Philosophy is a well-regarded older
introduction to philosophers and philosophical topics. Copleston's
articles provide introductions, commentaries, and
bibliographies.
Location: Widener WID-LC B72.C67 1946x
A History of Western Philosophy. W.T. Jones. Five
volumes. Harcourt Brace Jovanovitch, 1969-1975.
Jones' five-volume survey of Western philosophy from the
Pre-Socratics to the mid-twentieth century is a good overview to
the subject.
Location: Widener WID-LC B72.J652x 1969b
Icons of unbelief: atheists, agnostics, and secularists. Edited by S.T. Joshi. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.
Location: Andover-Harv.
Theol BL2759 .I36 2008
Location: Widener
WID-LC BL2759 .I36 2008
Marxists Internet
Archive
The Marxists Internet Archive provides one of the most
comprehensive sites on Marxism anywhere. The site is divided
into sections: Marxist Writers; Marxist History; Subject Archive;
Reference Writers; Encyclopaedia of Marxism.
Johns
Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Guide is an alphabetically arranged survey of literary
criticism and theory, with entries for individuals, critical
topics, movements, theories, and contributions of specific
countries and periods. Includes bibliographies and indexes to
related entries at the end of each entry. International in scope,
with emphasis on Western critical theory.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy. Ted Honderich, editor.
Oxford University Press, 1995.
Location: Widener Library RR 4903.35
Oxford
Reference Online Premium Collection
Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries and reference works
published by Oxford University Press. A fully-indexed,
cross-searchable database of these reference books, this resources
provides access to Religion and Philosophy titles.
