Research Guides: Slavic and Eurasian Studies at Harvard : Library and Archival Resources: Bosnia & Hercegovina

General resources

Ibro Moric, Stolac. Photograph by Lord, Albert Bates, between 1933 and 1935. Location: Stolac, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Part of Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature.

Record identifier: olvwork373770

InfoPlease (quick facts)

http://www.infoplease.com/country/bosnia-and-herzegovina.html

Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian Webliography [SEELRC, Duke University]

http://www.seelrc.org/webliography/bcs.ptml

Books on Bosnia : a critical bibliography of works relating to Bosnia-Herzegovina published since 1990 in West European languages / edited by Quintin Hoare and Noel Malcolm. London : The Bosnian Institute, [1999?]

Hollis # 008130006

Location: DR1660.Z99B66 1999x [c]

Central and Eastern European Online Library [electronic resource].

[Frankfurt am Main, Germany] : Questa.Soft GmbH

(online archive with full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals)

Hollis # 012142017

http://www.ceeol.com.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu

News

Onlinenewspapers.com (portal for BiH newspapers)

http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/bosnia.htm

Oslobođenje (Sarajevo, Bosnia and Hercegovina : 1993) Oslobođenje.

Sarajevo : Oslobođenje, 1993-

Hollis # 005744294

Location | Harvard Depository | Current Issues: Periodicals Newspaper Stacks

Location: Widener | Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room | Film NC 248

Oslobođenje (CD-ROM) Oslobođenje [electronic resource].

Sarajevo : Soros Media Center, c1996.

(Contains 91 issues covering the period Feb. 27-May 27)
Hollis # 009678719
Location: Harvard Depository

Balkan Insight [is a publication of the Balkan Investigative Reporting Network (BIRN), run by journalists in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania and Serbia]
Hollis # 008027752

http://www.balkaninsight.com/en/page/croatia-home

Selected resources

Language Dictionaries

ImTranslator Dictionary (free online translating and dictionary)

http://imtranslator.net/translation/croatian/to-english/translation/

EUdict (online dictionary by country and language)

http://www.eudict.com/

Rječnik bosanskog jezika / ǅevad Jahić.

Sarajevo : Bošnjačka asosijacija 33, 2010-

Hollis # 012588282

Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1396.B6 J34 2010

Rječnik bosanskog jezika / [urednik: Ibrahim Čedić].

Sarajevo : Institut za jezik, Sarajevo, 2007.

Hollis # 012038841

Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1396.B6 R54 2007

Oxford English-Bosnian student's dictionary : englesko-bosanski rječnik sa bosansko-engleskim indeksom / [redaktor engleskog jezika Milica Babić; adaptacija na bosanski jezik Dragan Tolomanoski; redaktor bosanskog jezika Zinaida Lakić].

Sarajevo : TKD Šahinpašić, 2010.

Hollis # 013013149

Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1377.5 .O94 2010

Englesko-Bosanski rječnik idioma i specifičnih izraza / Muhamed Pašanbegović.

Sarajevo : El-Kalem, 2002.

Hollis # 009151446

Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1376.P37 2002x

Encyclopedias

Hrvatska enciklopedija Bosne i Hercegovine / ǂc [glavni urednik, Jakov Pehar].

Mostar : ǂb Hrvatski leksikografski in-t Bosne i Hercegovine, ǂc 2009-

Hollis # 13757211 (On order)

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Archival Guides

The archives of Bosnia and Herzegovina

http://www.arhivbih.gov.ba/en

Vodič Arhiva Bosne i Hercegovine / [glavni redaktor Slavica Klarič]. Sarajevo : Arhiv Bosne i Hercegovine, 1987.

Hollis # 007629894

Location: Widener | WID-LC | CD1987.B67 A738 1987

Vodič kroz fondove i zbirke istorijskog arhiva Sarajevo = Guide through holdings and collections of the historical archive Sarajevo = Führer durch Bestände und Sammlungen des historischen Archivs Sarajevo = Sarayevo tarih arşivi' nin fonları ve defterleri kılavuzu / autori, Mustafa Derviševič ... [et al.].

Sarajevo : JU Istorijski arhiv Sarajevo, 2003.

Hollis # 009605371

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

A guide to Yugoslav libraries and archives / Slobodan Jovanović, Matko Rojnić, compilers ; Paul L. Horecky, chief editor ; Elizabeth Beyerly, translator and associate editor. -- [Columbus, Ohio : American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies, 1975]

Hollis # 000841165

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Vodič kroz arhivske fondove i zbirke Arhiva Tuzlanskog kantona / Izet Šabotić, Nermana Hodžić, Selma Isić.

Tuzla : Arhiv Tuzlanskog kantona : Društvo arhivskih zaposlenika Tuzlanskog kantona, 2012.] Hollis # 013527576

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Fragmenti kulturne historije Bosne i Hercegovine / Kemal Bakaršić.

Sarajevo : Magistrat, 2005. (Zemaljski muzej Bosne i Hercegovine)

Hollis # 009995852

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Atlases

Atlas of Bosnia and Herzegovina

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Atlas_of_Bosnia_and_Herzegovina

A Concise atlas of the Republic of Croatia & of the Republic of Bosnia and Hercegovina / [editor, Mladen Klemenčić].

Zagreb : Miroslav Krleža Lexicographical Institute, 1993.

Hollis # 003518243

Location: Map Coll (Pusey) | MAP-LC | G2030 .L44 1993

Povijesni atlas Bosne i Hercegovine : Bosna i Hercegovina na geografskim i historijskim kartama / Zijad Šehić, Ibrahim Tepić.

Sarajevo : Sejtarija, 2002.

Hollis # 009082804

Location: Map Coll (Pusey) | MAP-LC | G2024.51.S1 P68 2002 f

The historical boundaries between Bosnia, Croatia, Serbia : documents and maps, 1815-1945 / edited by Anita L.P. Burdett.

[England] : Archive editions, 1995.

Hollis # 006010582

Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1218 .H567 1995x = (v. 1: documents)

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository | XVH 19 = (v. 2: maps)

Selected bibliographies

[For various subsets of the National bibliography of Croatia in the Harvard Library, please, contact the Slavic Division]

Bibliografija knjiga i periodičnih izdanja štampanih u Hercegovini, 1873-1941. Sastavili: Lina Štitić i Hamid Dizdar.

Mostar [Izdanje Savjeta za kulturu Narodnog odbora Sreza Mostar] 1958.

Hollis # 006683305

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Bibliografija objavljenih izvora i literature o srednjovjekovnoj Bosni / Pavo Živković.

Sarajevo : Zavičajni muzej--Travnik, 1982.

Hollis # 001241916

Location: Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Location: Dumbarton Oaks | REFERENCE | Z2890 .Z48 1982

Bibliografija Prve muslimanske nakladne knjižare i štamparije (Muhameda Bekira Kalajdžića).

Sarajevo, Udruženje Ilmije u SR Bill, 1967.

Hollis # 005135297

Location: Widener | GEN | B 1945.7

Bibliografija radova o istoriji Zenice / Jalimam Salih.

Zenica : Muzej grada Zenice, 1985. Hollis # 000580897

Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Selected resources-2

Arts & Culture

Bosnian studies / Preporod.

Sarajevo : Bošnjačka zajednica kulture ”Preporod”

[Journal for research of Bosnian thought and culture]

Hollis # 011426994

http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx1000000000393002

Forum Bosnae.

Sarajevo : Međunarodni forum Bosna, 1998-

Hollis # 008390391

http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx991042723508262

Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1652 .F67x

Anali Gazi Husrev-begove biblioteke.

Sarajevo [Gazi Husrev-begova biblioteka] 1972-Riječ.

Brčko : Književni klub Brčko district

Hollis # 000174337

http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx1000000000755112

Sarajevo : [photo-monograph / [concept Valerijan Žujo ; texts Mustafa Imamovič ... et al.] = Sarajevo : fotomonografija /autor koncepcije Valerijan Žujo ; autori tekstova Mustafa Imamovič ... et al.].

Sarajevo : Svjetlost, 1997.
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Kulturna istorija Bosne i Hercegovine od najstarijih vremena do pada ovih zemalja pod osmansku vlast = A cultural history of Bosnia and Herzegovina from earliest times up to the fall of these lands under Ottoman rule / Alojz Benac ... [et al.].

Sarajevo : Veselin Masleša, 1984.
Hollis # 001630990
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Bosnia : a cultural history / Ivan Lovrenovic.

London : Saqi, 2001.
Hollis # 008801667
Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1672.L668 2001

Unutarnja zemlja : kratki pregled kulturne povijesti Bosne i Hercegovine / Ivan Lovrenović.

Zagreb : Durieux, 1998.
Hollis # 007992378
Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1685 .L68 1998x

Fragmenti kulturne historije Bosne i Hercegovine / Kemal Bakaršić.

Sarajevo : Magistrat, 2005. (Zemaljski muzej Bosne i Hercegovine)
Hollis # 009995852
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Slike i kristali : o likovnim umjetnostima i filmu : Sarajevski likovni krug i drugi povodi / Vefik Hadžismajlović.
Hollis # 011933217
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Bosanske filmske naracije, dokumenti o raspadu / Neǆad Ibrahimović.

Tuzla : Bosanska riječ, 2012.
Hollis # 013381639
Location: Harvard Depository

Vizura : časopis za savremene vizualne umjetnosti, likovnu kritiku i teoriju.

Sarajevo : Gradska galerija Collegium artisticum, [2007]- [periodical]
Hollis # 012240405
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:HUL.ejournals:sfx2660000000009283

History

Historical dictionary of Bosnia and Herzegovina / by Ante Čuvalo.

Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1997.
Hollis # 011144149
Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1685 .C88 2007

Kulin Ban i Bosna / Mirko Vidović. Zagreb : Zlatko Tomičić, 1993.
Hollis # 003909828
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository

Bosna i Hercegovina : od srednjeg veka do novijeg vremena : Međunarodni naućni skup / odgovorni urednik Slavenko Terzić.

Beograd : Istorijski institut SANU, 1995.
Hollis # 006699648

Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1685 .B67 1995x

Terror in the Balkans : German armies and partisan warfare / Ben Shepherd.

Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, c2012.
Hollis # 012993834
Location: Widener | WID-LC | D766.6 .S44 2012
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Bosnia and Hercegovina : a tradition betrayed / Robert J. Donia, John V.A. Fine, Jr. ; with maps by John C. Hamer.

New York : Columbia University Press, c1994.

Hollis # 004884519
Location: Lamont | DR1685 .D66 1994
Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1685 .D66 1994
Location: Harvard Kennedy School | DR1685 .D66 1994

Yugoslavia : death of a nation [videorecording] / Brian Lapping Associates for Discovery Channel, BBC and ORF.

[New York?] : Discovery Channel, c1995-c1996.
Hollis # 007361740

Location: Lamont | Media Video | DR1313 .Y85 1995x

Politics and Government

Government of Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

http://www.fbihvlada.gov.ba/english/

Governments on the WWW: Croatia

http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/ba.html

Political Resources on the Net

http://www.politicalresources.net/bosnia.htm

Parlamentarizam u Bosni i Hercegovini / priređivaći Saša Gavrić, Damir Banović..
Hollis # 013693959
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Through Bosnian eyes : the political memoir of a Bosnian Serb / Mirko Pejanović ; introduction by Robert J. Donia ; translated by Marina Bowder.

West Lafayette, Ind. : Purdue University Press, 2004.
Hollis # 009441151
Location: Widener | Harvard Depository | DR1755.P45 A3 2004

Bošnjaci nakon socijalizma : o bošnjačom identitetu u postjugoslavenskom dobu / Š. Filandra.

Sarajevo : BZK Preporod ; Zagreb : Synposis, 2012.
Hollis # 013527592
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Bošnjačko-Hrvatski politički obračun / Ismet Hadžiosmanović.

Mostar : [S.n.], 2006.

Hollis # 010300450
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Facing the past, facing the future : confronting ethnicity and conflict in Bosnia and former Yugoslavia / edited by Florian Bieber and Carsten Wieland.

Ravenna : Longo, c2005.

Hollis # 009764417
http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.ebookbatch.CASEIO_batch:it05615232

Location: Widener | WID-LC | DR1752 .F33 2005x

[Bosnian posters : 2012 election and party material]. [Bosnia and Herzegovina : BiH political parties], 2012.

(collection of posters, leaflets, brochures, newspaper issues and memorabilia from the whole territory of Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Hollis # 013633422
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Literature

Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature [electronic resource]
Cambridge, Mass. : Milman ParryCollection, [2003-
Location: http://nrs.harvard.edu/urn-3:hul.eresource:milparco

Obzori bošnjačke književnosti / Enes Duraković.

Sarajevo : Dobra knjiga, 2012.
Hollis # 013634145
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Bibliografija bošnjačke književnosti / Mustafa Ćeman ; glavni i odgovorni urednik, Asim Crnalić.

Zagreb : Sebil, d.o.o, 1994.

Hollis # 009056441
Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1417.B6 Z9934 1994x

Embroidered with gold, strung with pearls : the traditional ballads of Bosnian women / Aida Vidan.

Cambridge, MA : Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature ; Distributed by Harvard University Press, c2003.

Hollis # 009035789
Location:    Lamont | PG1455.B34 V5 2003
Location:    Widener | Harvard Depository
Location:    Ctr Hellen Studies
Location:    Fung Library

Izgubljene zvijezde : prigodna stopjesmica bosanskohercegovačkih pjesnikinja od 1908. do 2008 / [priredio] Anto Zirdum.

Sarajevo : HKD Napredak, 2008. (Women poets) Hollis # 012531713

Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Language

Bosanskohercegovački dijalektološki zbornik.

Sarajevo [Institut za jezik i književnost u Sarajevu] 1975-
Hollis # 000173950
Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1396.B6 B6 x

Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, a grammar : with sociolinguistic commentary / Ronelle Alexander.

Madison, WI : University of Wisconsin Press, c2006.
Hollis # 010097532
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Language and identity in the Balkans : Serbo-Croatian and its disintegration / Robert D. Greenberg.

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004.
Hollis # 009354308
Location: Widener | WID-LC | PG1224.7 .G74 2004

Bosanski, hrvatski, srpski aktuelni pravopisi : sličnosti i razlike / Hasnija Muratagić-Tuna.

Sarajevo : Bosansko filološko društvo, 2005. [Orthography and spelling dictionary]

Hollis # 009872969
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Kontrastivna analiza bosanskog, hrvatskog i srpskog jezika u zakonima Federacije Bosne i Hercegovine / EmiraMešanović-Meša.

Sarajevo : Slavistički komitet, 2011. Hollis # 013327829
Location: Widener Harvard Depository

Central and Eastern European Online Library [electronic resource].

[Frankfurt am Main, Germany] : Questa.Soft GmbH

(online archive with full text PDF articles from many literary and language journals)
Hollis # 012142017

http://www.ceeol.com.ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu

About this page

This content of this page was created by Hana Pyro, librarian for the Czech, Slovak, Croatian, Bosnian, Slovenian and Sorbian collections in the Slavic Division of Widener Library (until 2017), in conjunction with the research contacts for Slavic studies, who continue to maintain it.