Chinese Law Databases
Harvard has access to several databases that include Chinese laws, regulations, and cases:
- Pkulaw (北大法宝)
This link opens in a new window
A Chinese and English bilingual database providing laws, regulations, judicial decisions, journal articles, legislative documents, international treaties and so on. It was developed by Peking University Law School. This database is available via IP access within HLS. - Lexis China (律商网)
- This link opens in a new window
A Chinese and English bilingual database on Chinese law. It provides comprehensive resources of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, legal news, sample contracts, articles and so on. This database is available via IP access within HLS. - China Law TranslateAn interactive and cooperative project site to translate Chinese laws and documents into English. The site provides English translations to drafts and newly enacted laws and regulations.
Other Online Sources of Chinese Law
- The National Database of Laws and Regulations (国家法律法规数据库)Maintained by the General Office of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, this new database provides national and provincial laws and regulations currently in effect, as well as judicial interpretations.
- The Ministry of Justice (中国政府法制信息网)A law and regulation database from the Ministry of Justice.
- China Judgements Online (中国裁判文书网)Sponsored by the Supreme People's Court, includes selected judicial decisions from the Supreme People's Court and local courts since 2013.
- Chinacourt.org (中国法院网)A portal for China's judicial system. It has news reports, judicial decisions, laws and regulations, training videos, judicial exam examples and other information.
- China Guiding Cases Project (中国指导性案例项目)Developed by Standford Law School, this site provides Chinese and English versions of guiding cases released by the Supreme People’s Court.
- China Trial Public Network (中国庭审公开网)The site presents live trials and past trial recordings covering selected cases from the Supreme People's Court and local courts.
- China Foreign-Related Commercial and Maritime Trial (中国涉外商事海事审判网)Interface in both Chinese and English, this site provides a commercial and maritime litigation support platform.
- 12309 Procuratorate Network (12309中国检察网）An online information disclosure platform of Peoples' Procuratorates.
- OpenLaw (开放法律联盟）As an open source case database, OpenLaw was launched in 2014 by an NGO in Shanghai. It provides judicial decisions and guiding cases for legal professionals, scholars and students.
Major Print Sources of Chinese Cases
- Gazette of the Supreme People’s Court of the People’s Republic of China (最高人民法院公报)Compiled by the Supreme People’s Court, published since 1985.
- Selected Cases of People’s Courts (人民法院案例选)Compiled by the Supreme People’s Court, published since 1992.
- Selected Major Trial Cases in China (中国审判案例要览) (Hollis #7475082)Compiled by the Training Center for Senor Judges of China and Renmin University Law School, published since 1992, this multi-volume set is divided into Criminal Law, Civil Law, Commercial Law, and Administrative Law.
Major Print Sources of Chinese Laws and Regulations
- 中华人民共和國法規彙編 (A Collection of Laws and Regulations of the People's Republic of China)In Chinese, covering laws and regulations promulgated since 1954.
- 中华人民共和国新法规汇编 (A Collection of New Laws and Regulations of the People's Republic of China)In Chinese, covering newly promulgated laws and regulations since 1988.
- 中华人民共和国法律汇编 (A Collection of Laws of the People's Republic of China)In Chinese, covering laws promulgated since 1979.
- The Laws of the People's Republic of ChinaIn English, covering laws and regulations promulgated since 1979.