Online Sources of Chinese Secondary Materials
Harvard has access to several databases that include Chinese secondary sources. You may also find additional sources on LexisNexis and Westlaw (particularly Westlaw Classic).
- China Academic Journals (CNKI 中国期刊全文数据库) (Hollis #8913722)This is a full-text database containing over 6,000 journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and core newspapers.
- Selected Newspaper and Journal Articles by People's University (中国人民大学复印报刊资料)A database of academic journals in the field of social sciences and humanities with three types of materials: 1. a full-text database (全文数据库) arranged by subject, covering 1995 to present; 2. a full-text digital journal databse (数字期刊库) arranged by title and volume, covering 1995 to present; 3. an index database of journals and newspapers (报刊索引库) arranged by subject, covering 1978 to present.
- Pkulaw (北大法宝)
This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles and index search for China’s core legal journals and other Chinese legal periodicals. - Chinese Studies Online (万方数据)Integrated gateway to several Chinese databases from Wanfang Data, including full-text journals (China Online Journals), dissertations and theses (Dissertations of China), conference papers (Academic Conferences in China), and policy and legal information (Policies and Laws of China). Any or all of the databases may be searched simultaneously. Terms should be entered in simplified Chinese. Full text is available in pdf format. Coverage is from 1949 to present.
- National Social Sciences Database (国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库)Sponsored by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, the open-source database contains 100 full-text journals on law and politics.
- TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 中文電子期刊服務)This is a Taiwan based online database providing full-text journal articles published in the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of China (Taiwan) since 1991.
- CNKI Journal Translation ProjectA database of English language articles from selected journals in CNKI's China Academic Journals from 2014.
- China Law Data Online (月旦法学知识库)
- This link opens in a new window
A Taiwan based legal database providing journal articles from both sides of the strait as well as laws and regulations. - Dissertations of ChinaAbout 25% of the database's dissertations are from the humanities and social science fields. Cross-database searching with other Wanfang Data products (China Online Journals, Academic Conference in China, and Policies and Laws of China) is possible. Coverage is 1977 to present.
- China Local Gazetteers DatabaseContains detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district and administrative units since 1949.
Online Periodicals
Harvard has several hundred print legal periodicals in Chinese. These titles are discoverable on HOLLIS. Below is a list of selected full-text online periodicals in Western languages.
- Renmin Chinese Law Review (法学家), 2013-Individually indexed, search title in HOLLIS for access to additional volumes.
- Tea Leaf Nation (叶知）Founded by former Harvard Law School students, this e-magazine "find and distill the most interesting stories" from China's social media.
- The Wire ChinaFounded by a two Pulitzer Prize winner, this digital news magazine is dedicated to understanding and explaining China’s economic rise, and its influence on global business, finance, trade, labor and the environment.
