Traditions

Resources marked with a symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

Balinese Dance, Drama and Music: A Guide to the Performing Arts of Bali
by I. Wayan Dibia and Rucina Ballinger; illustrations by Barbara Anello.
Location 1: Loeb Music Seeger Room GV1703.I53 D54 2004
Location 2: Tozzer TOZ-LC GV170.3.I532 B35 2004x
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Bhavam, Ragam, Talam, Natyam: A Hand-Book of Indian Dance
edited by P.K. Ravindranath
Location: Widener Harvard Depository
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Dances of Scotland
by Jean C. Milligan and D. G. MacLennan; illustrated by Rowland A. Beard.
Location: Widener Harvard Depository SG 4645.15
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Folk Dance
by J. Tillman Hall.
Location: Theatre Collection TS 552. 1272.29
HOLLIS Catalog Record

The Folk Dance Library
by Anne Schley Duggan, Jeanette Schlottmann and Abbie Rutledge
Location: Widener Harvard Depository GV1743 .D8
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Folk Dances and Games
by Caroline Crawford

Folk-Dances and Singing Games; Twenty-Six Folk-Dances of Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Russia, Bohemia, Hungary, Italy, England, Scotland and Ireland
with the music, full directions for performance, and numerous illustrations;
arranged and edited by E. Burchenal

Folk Dances for All
line drawings by Ben Stein; photos by Gjon Mili.
Location: Theatre Collection TS 552. 15.21
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Folk Dances of Different Nations
arranged by Louis H. Chalif
Location: Theatre Collection Harvard Depository *2005TW-1022F
HOLLIS Catalog Record

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Volume 5, South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent
edited by Alison Arnold

A Handbook of Irish Dances: With an Essay on their Origin and History
by J. G. O'Keeffe and Art O'Brien.
Location: Widener Harvard Depository SG 4645.13
HOLLIS Catalog Record
Location: Theatre Collection HTC-LC GV1646.I8 O4 1934
HOLLIS Catalog Record

A Handbook of Traditional Scottish Dance
by George S. Emmerson.
Location: Widener Harvard Depository
HOLLIS Catalog Record

International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc
edited by Selma Jeanne Cohen; area editors, George Dorris; consultants, Thomas F. Kelly.
Location: Widener Library RR 2941.24
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Let's Have a Ceilidh: The Essential Guide to Scottish Dancing
by Robbie Shepherd; music selected and arranged by Jim Johnstone
Location: Widener Harvard Depository GV1646.S35 S53 1992
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Old time and Novelty Dances
Location: Theatre Collection Harvard Depository *2005TW-730
HOLLIS Catalog Record

A Pocket Guide of Folk and Square Dances and Singing Games for the Elementary School
by Richard Kraus.
Location: Theatre Collection TS 552. 1363.29
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Quick-Teach Fun Dances for Recreational Groups: Directed Dances for Untrained Dancers of All Ages, with Mixers, Musical Games and Folk Dances Plus an Introduction to Modern Square Dancing
edited by Jack and Helen Todd; drawings by Helen Todd.
Location: Theatre Collection Harvard Depository *2005TW-720
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Twenty-Four Figures of the Most Fashionable Country Dances: Together with Eight Cotillions, for the Year Eighteen Hundred
composed & selected by John H. Ives

Resources marked with a symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,500  publications, including journals, magazines and newspapers, with.full text is available for the majority. Most complete coverage begins in the 1990s. Limit search to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals to omit popular magazines and newspapers.)

America History and Life indexes materials published since 1964 on the history of the United States and Canada, including articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations, in over 2000 journals. America includes topics in cultural and intellectual history and indexes a number of folklore journals.

Anthropological Index, produced by the Royal Anthropological Institute of The British Museum, covers periodicals on all aspects of anthropology from 1957 to the present.

Anthropological Literature, produced by Harvard's Tozzer Library, covers periodical articles and articles from edited books from the mid-19th century to the present.

Anthropology Plus is a combined index that allows joint searching of the two indexes above, covering social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies. Searching through Anthropology Plus is very convenient, but using the two indexes individually allows more specific searches.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing 1,100 arts and humanities journals and selected major science and social science journals (including art, dance, film, folklore, music, and interdisciplinary topics). Also indexes each article's cited reference list, allowing searches for articles that cite a particular author or work. See the HCL Research Guide, Searching the Citation Indexes.

International Index to the Performing Arts provides citations to articles in more than a hundred performing arts periodicals.

JSTOR is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, generally covering the journals' contents up until the most recent 3-5 years. (That coverage may be available through other Harvard E-Resources, however.)  JSTOR is searchable either as a whole or by subsets, such as JSTOR Folklore.

MLA International Bibliography is a good first choice to search for scholarly articles on both folklore and literature topics. The MLA indexes articles in over 3,000 journals and series, as well as relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats, from 1926 to the present.  Though MLA does not provide full-text, full-text for many of the articles it indexes will be available through other resources, by using  the HOLLIS Catalog Record function.
For information prior to 1926, see the MLA in print listed below; note that prior to 1955, the MLA covered only American works on world languages and literatures.
MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, 1921-1955
Location: Widener Library  WID-LC PB 41 .Z99 M62ax 
HOLLIS Catalog Record

Project Muse, similar to JSTOR, is an online archive of the full-text of selected scholarly, university-press journals in the humanities and social sciences, but, typically, for the most recent 3-5 years. Many of these holdings complement JSTOR's.

To look for books on a subject, start first with Harvard's library catalog, HOLLIS. It's also useful to search "union" catalogs (i.e. large catalog databases that include multiple libraries's materials) as well as bibliographies. Books and materials that you don't find in the HOLLIS catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. You may also make a purchase request to ask the library to purchase a copy for the collection. Resources marked with a symbol indicates that users with a Harvard PIN number may access the resources from off-campus.

HOLLIS Catalog
There are nearly 4.5 million books in Widener Library's collection, and they are all listed here, in Harvard University's union catalog of all the libraries at Harvard.  For an introduction to using the HOLLIS, consult the guide Searching the HOLLIS (Harvard OnLine Library Information System) Catalog.  Remember that books and materials that you find in the catalogs below (and don't find in the HOLLIS catalog) can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

The European Library
The European Library permits to search the catalogs of Europe’s national libraries (including national libraries from countries that are not in the European Union). The default search is limited to The European Library’s full-partner libraries (the "Advanced Search" provides a full list). Click on "Collections" to hand-pick collections for your search.

KVK: Der Karlsruher Virtuelle Katalog
A major union catalog of European libraries, this database contains records for over 75 million books in libraries and other book catalogs worldwide.

RLG's Eureka on the Web (Research Libraries Group Union Catalog)
Provides access to RLG's union catalog of records from the collections of major American research libraries; archives and museums; historical societies and international book vendors.

Visual Information Access (VIA)
VIA is a union catalog of visual resources at Harvard and Radcliffe. It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives. To date only portions of each repository's holdings are described in the online catalog. Where available, thumbnail images are linked to the catalog records.

WorldCat
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. The scope of the database includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books.