Welcome
This guide provides a set of resources useful for introductory undergraduate research in Engineering in the Cabot Science, Gordon McKay and Blue HIll Libraries. This list is not intended to be exhaustive or comprehensive. Please consult the HOLLIS catalog and the E-research @ Harvard sites for all of Harvard's holdings. Illustration by LEONARDO DA VINCI HELICOPTER (Also known as the Arial-Screw).
General engineering resources
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Encyclopedia of Optical Engineering
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
Sax’s dangerous properties of industrial materials
- NIST Chemistry Webbook
- Engineering Statistics Handbook
- NIST JANAF Thermochemical Tables
- NIST digital library of mathematical functions
- NIST physical reference data
European Patent Office
US Patent and Trademark Office
Federal R&D Project Summaries
Finding primary resources: articles, reports, preprints, etc.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
arXiv.org
Inspec (1969-) (EBSCOhost)
National Technical Information Service: NTIS (1964-) (EBSCOhost)
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Use this link for database usage instructions
Web of Science and guide
Related resources
Conference Papers Index (CSA)
Google Scholar (Harvard PIN required)
NASA Astrophysics Data System
SCIRUS (Elsevier)
See also: SEAS pages http://library.seas.harvard.edu/indexes.php
Keeping up with the literature
Annual Reviews provide up to date overviews of general happenings in specific fields. Here are some of the titles found in HOLLIS:
Annual review of biomedical engineering
Annual review of chemical and biomolecular engineering
Annual review of computer science
Annual review of energy and the environment
Annual review of environment and resources
Annual review of fluid mechanics
Annual review of materials research
Annual review of materials science
Journal & book collections
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
For a partial list of engineering e-journals see Gordon McKay and Blue Hills Libraries
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL)
Oxford reference online: science
Safari Tech Books Online e-books from O'Reilly, Sams, Que, Addison-Wesley, etc.
