This is the "Home" page of the "Botany Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany Research Guide  

Basic library resources for beginning research in botany.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/botany Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Welcome


This guide provides a set of resources for advanced undergraduate research in Botany at Cabot Science Library. This list is not intended to be exhaustive or comprehensive. Cabot Library holds the general science collections for the university; additional resources are available at the Botany LibrariesErnst Mayr Library of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, the Chemistry and Chemical Biology Library. Please consult the HOLLIS catalog and the E-Research @ Harvard site for all of Harvard’s holdings.

Image courtesy Royal Botanic Gardens

Need Help?

Please contact us if you need help with your research!

 

Find Journal Articles

AGRICOLA 
It describes books, book chapters, journal articles, audiovisuals, publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, from the 16th century to the present.

CAB Abstracts 
The CAB Abstracts database indexes research and development literature in agriculture, forestry, human and animal nutrition, animal health, natural resource management and conservation, and related aspects of human health. Focal areas are animal and plant science, crop protection, parasitology, soil science, rural development, economics, horticulture, and agricultural engineering.

Citation Indexes / Web of Science 
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes 5,700 major journals across more than 150 scientific disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search this database for articles that cite a known author or work.

See the Digital Resources page of the Botany Libraries for a more comprehensive list of resources.

 

Digital Collections

Many prominent institutions are digitzing their collections of botanical literature. This is a selection of these projects; a more complete list can be found here.

Biodiversity Heritage Library 
A consortium of 12 museums and botanical gardens are digitizing their collections and making them freely available.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture  
19th and early 20th century literature digitized by Cornell University Library.

Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew 
Rich source of digitized plant information.

HathiTrust Digital Library 
Millions of digitzed books gathered from major research collections with a good search interface.

A Librarian

Profile Image
Reed Lowrie
Contact Info
Widener Library, Room 220/Cabot Library, Room L106
Harvard University
(617) 496-2252
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip