This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Medieval Art & Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Medieval Art & Architecture  

This guide provides online research resources in medieval arts and architecture. Resources are grouped into subject or format categories. Click on the appropriate tab to find resource descriptions and links.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/medieval_art_architecture Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

NEW RESOURCES

The European Library

Jacobus van Bronckhorst van Batenburg, n.d. Dedication by Jacobus van Bronckhorst van Batenburg in his Album amicorum, including a portrait. (s.l.): [Douai]

The European Library is conceived to meet the needs of the research community worldwide through a unified portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

 

MUSEUMS

The Museum of the Middle Ages, Musée national du Moyen Âge, is housed in two exceptional Parisian monuments: the Gallo-Roman thermes (1st-3rd centuries) and the Cluny Abbey hotel (late 15th century). It was founded in 1843 with the collections of an art amateur fascinated by the MIddle Ages, Alexandre Du Sommerard who lived in the Hôtel de Cluny. The collections have grown over the years and today they offer a unique view of the art and history of man in Roman Gaul at the beginning of the 16th century, fifteen centuries of European art and history one location.

 

Explore ARTstor

 

 

GETTING STARTED

Search for articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, essays, and chapters in multi-author publications:

 Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA  & International Bibliography of the History of Art: IBA
The Bibliography of the History of Art, now hosted by
the Getty Research Institute, includes indexes and abstracts of books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and journal articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Coverage includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This database provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history. It also contains an important earlier periodical index, the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) creating coverage from 1975-2007. In 2011, the Institut national d'histoire de l'art (INHA) will announce the release of a full-text digital version of the Répertoire d'art et archéologie (RAA) covering the years 1911-1974.   The International Bibliography of Art:IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and includes the most recent indexing compiled by the Getty Research Institute for the BHA during 2008-2009. IBA will continue to add approximately 25,000 new entries each year and will index at least 500 journals. Coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues will also be included. The BHA, now available directly from provides the most comprehensive coverage of American and international scholarly journals in the disciplines of art and architectural history from 1975-2007.

Search for background, context, and general bibliography:

Grove Art Online

The Grove Dictionary of Art is a comprehensive ans scholarly resource covering the visual arts, including painting, sculpture, architecture, works on paper, decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present. Global coverage includes the arts of Asia, Africa, the Americas, the Pacific, and Europe. In addition, influences on the production of art such as trade, geography, history and politics are fully addressed, helping to place art in context and further a broad understanding of the history of artistic endeavor. Grove Art Online provides the capability to search the updated 41,000 articles that appeared in the original printed version of the Dictionary as well as the content of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary or Art Terms, and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. The text of Grove Art Online and its more than 500,000 bibliographical references is updated regularly. Grove Art Online also includes significant digital image collections with searchable links to works from over 40,000 museums, galleries, and art collections around the world.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Edited by Joseph R. Strayer. New York, Scribner, 1982-1989. 13 volumes
Fine Arts Library, Reference Collection, RFA 79.55.5 and other locations

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool, and for students and general readers seeking an accessible guide to the period. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps. The Dictionary provides balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages (including Germany and Austria, Spain and Portugal, the Low Countries, and Central and Eastern Europe, amongst many others), and of numerous major topics, from art and architecture, medicine, and law, to archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature.

Search for images:

ARTstor

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than 1.25 million images representing the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences together with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.  In addition, approximately 230,000 images from the Fine Arts Library Visual Collections and 40,000 images from the Visual Collections of the Frances Loeb Library are available in ARTstor’s Harvard Study Collections. ARTstor's software tools support a wide range of features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline using ARTstor's free Offline Image Viewer (OIV).

VIA: Visual Information Access

VIA (Visual Information Access) is Harvard's online union catalog documenting the arts, material culture, and social history. VIA contains descriptive records and images representing paintings, sculpture, photography, drawings, prints, architecture, decorative arts, trade cards, rubbings, theater designs, maps and plans. Participating repositories include archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. New material is added to VIA daily. High resolution images may be downloaded.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Clare Altenhofen
Contact Info
Research Librarian
Fine Arts Library / Littauer Center
altenhof@fas.harvard.edu
617.496.3592
Send Email
 

EVENTS

Detail image of a medieval manuscript.

KALAMAZOO 2014

The 49th International Congress on Medieval Studies takes place May 8-11, 2014
Sponsored by the Medieval Institute, Western Michigan University.  Visit the archive of past conference programs.

© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip