NCC Workshop Aug. 2013
Research tools
E-Books
Government/Politics/LawEconomy/BusinessSociology/Gender/EducationAnthropology
HistoryReligionLiteratureFine ArtsPerforming Arts(Pop) CultureFilm哲学・思想ClassicsFolklore/Ethnology 民俗学・民族学
Game
This is the "Home" page of the "Research Guide for Japanese Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guide for Japanese Studies   Tags: japanese_studies  

The guide offers tools and resources for conducting research in Japanese studies.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/content.php?pid=227306 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

From Harvard collection

Portrait of Onchi Koshiro by Sekine Junchiro, 1956 (HUAM202218)

 

Current affairs

 

Disaster of 3.11.2011

 Hinagiku Created by National Diet Library, aims to be a central entry point for records on the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, and Fukushima nuclear accident on March 11, 2011 that have been recorded,  collected, and archived by numerous organizations in Japan and worldwide.

Digital Archive of Japan's 2011 Disasters maintained by Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies

NHK東日本大震災アーカイブス NHK archives its recordings on Tohoku Great Earthquake of 2011.

Save MLAK 博物館・美術館・図書館・文書館・公民館の震災被災・救援情報 Portal for Museum, Library, Archives, and Kominkan dealing with the aftermath of the Earthquake/Tsunami on March 11, 2011.

Japan, Social Movements after the Fukushima nuclear power plants crisis, March 11. 2011 Archived by National Library of Australia.

Japan’s 3.11 Earthquake, Tsunami, Atomic Meltdown Collection of some 100 articles published by The Asia-Pacific Journal.

 

What's New

New Trial!

群書類従 Gunsho Ruiju (Oct 20-Nov 19, 2014) in JapanKnowledge

New!

Japan Chronicle Weekly (1902 – 1940) 

HOLLIS+: a new research tool that allows you to search Books and Articles together, and more.

 

Harvard resources

HOLLIS+: a new research tool that allows you to search Books and Articles together, and more. ID

HOLLIS: able to search VIA.

HOLLIS Classic: able to search using "phrase", call number, and non-Roman characters.

MetaLib+: a cross-disciplinary resource that covers hundreds of millions of e-resources, such as journal articles, e-books, and digital collections. ID

OASIS (Online Archival Search Information System): finding aids for archival and manuscript collections.

VIA (Visual Information Access): a catalog to images owned by Harvard, dose not incude original characters.

A Directory to Photographs at Harvard

Harvard Art Museum Collections

 A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections : including Yenching's Hedda Morrison photo collection.

Open Collections program: virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories

Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH): A central, open access repository for the scholarly output of faculty and the broader research community at Harvard.

Office for Scholarly Communication

metaLAB (at) Harvard

 

Harvard libraries

Harvard Library : a gateway to library services including Inter Library Loan and Borrow Directhours, directory.

Mobile Web Application

Harvard Library Special Collections Request Account Log in 

Imaging Services offers reproduction services of Harvard materials.

Harvard-Yenching Library      Library admittance policy

Petzold Scrolls Collection
424 scrolls on Buddhism held by Yenching Library's are viewable.

Yenching Books in GBS Japanese books included in Google Book Search.

 鶴見俊輔旧蔵書


Japanese prints The library holds a few hundreds sheets of the 19th century wood block prints.

HYL Facebook page

 Harvard Law School Library

Digitized Scrolls from Japanese Manuscript collection 1158-1590

Joseph Berry Keanan Digital Collection : comprised of manuscript materials and photographs of the US procecutor of the Japanese War Crimes Trial.

The Harvard Library Innovation Laboratory

 Fine Arts Library

Etz-Trudell collection of hand-colored lantern slides of Japan

East Asian Art   Resource guide by Nanni Deng

Film Research at Harvard  

 

Welcome

This site aims to be your research navigator for Japanese studies. Although wide  and general in scope, sources are primarily in Japanese.

Your questions, suggestions, and feedback are most critical to make this tool useful.

Thanks!

Kuniko Yamada McVey  Librarian for the Japanese Collection  voice: 617-495-3395

Harvard-Yenching Library

Delicious bookmark by dokusho

Other guides on Japan

Research Guide for Modern Japanese History

Research Guide for Medieval Japan

Research guide: Modern Japanese History  for graduate seminar

 

 

E.du

Loading Loading...
blank padding
© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip