This is the "Home" page of the "Online Resources for Music Scholars" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Resources for Music Scholars   Tags: composition, ethnomusicology, music, music theory  

Links for research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/onmusic Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 
 

Loeb Music Library Information

Harvard's main repository for music materials, supporting research in a variety of musical disciplines: historical musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, composition, and performance practice.

Loeb Music Library Website (Location, Hours, etc.)

Loeb Music Library Facebook Page

Loeb Music Library Twitter Feed

Report a Broken Link

Found a broken link? Let us know about it:

 

Introduction

This guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music. It collects:

  • links to archival collections;
  • online scores and sound recordings;
  • article indexes, discographies and bibliographies;
  • links to the websites of scholarly societies;
  • musical reference works;
  • a miscellany of useful websites

Each entry includes a brief description of the resource, with tags for subjects and resource types.

Wondering where to start? Try the "Essential Tool" resource type, for a list of major reference sources and article indexes.

The guide is necessarily selective, and other important research resources are available only in printed form. As with most arts and humanities topics, it is important to investigate your research options across all formats.

Most of the resources in this guide are freely accessible to all users; those available only to Harvard affiliates are flagged, and are also listed in the E-Research@Harvard Libraries portal.

The database does not include links to individual ejournals available through the HOLLIS Catalog or the Find E-Journals section of the E-Research Portal.

This site is a work in progress, updated as we become aware of new online resources. Feedback, comments, and suggestions for changes or additions are welcome.

 

Ask Us

We're here to help!

If you have questions or comments, or for research assistance, please contact Liza Vick or Kerry Masteller, Research Services, Loeb Music Library, 617-495-2794.

Chat reference is available weekdays 9:30-5:30.

When we're offline, you may leave a message (please include contact information), email us, or visit the Circulation Desk at the Music Library for assistance.

Suggest a Resource

We welcome suggestions for your additions to the bibliography:

© 2010 President & Fellows Harvard University. All Rights Reserved.
Harvard Trademark Notice
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip