Contracts Overview
Contracts: Summaries and Explanations
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries contain a definition, subject overview and useful links. All entries are collaboratively created and professionally reviewed.
Get started with these books aimed at law school students. Copies of many of these are on reserve at the circulation desk.
Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library: Contracts (Harvard Law login)Contains electronic textbooks, ebooks, supplements, and reference materials for law school students. Material includes popular series such as Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law, CrunchTime, CaseNote Legal Briefs, Glannon’s Guides, and more
Acing Contracts: A Checklist Approach to Contracts Law by Call Number: Law School Offsite Storage KF801.Z9 D37 2010ISBN: 0314171711Publication Date: 2010Contracts by
Call Number: Law School KF801 .C26 2014ISBN: 0314287701Publication Date: 7th ed., 2014Hornbook series
Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th (Concepts and Insights Series) by Call Number: Law School Reserve & General KF801 .C44 2013ISBN: 160930330XPublication Date: 7th ed., 2013
Contracts by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection & General KF801 .B58 2021ISBN: 1543807631Publication Date: 8th ed., 2021Print and online via Aspen Learning Library
Contracts Stories by Call Number: Law School KF801.A7 C66x 2007ISBN: 1587787210Publication Date: 2007
Contracts in a Nutshell by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection & General KF801.Z9 S3 2022ISBN: 9781647081232Publication Date: 9th ed., 2022
Understanding Contracts by Call Number: Law School Study Guide Collection & General KF801.Z9 F46 2018ISBN: 153100993XPublication Date: 4th ed., 2018Print and online via Lexis Digital Library
Study Tools
Study tools
Download recordings of cases commonly read in first and second year courses. Part of LexisNexis Courtroom Cast
- LexisNexis Courtroom Cast Sign UpHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register with your HLS email address
CALI
Test your knowledge!
CALI provides access to an extensive collection of interactive, computer-based lessons designed to augment traditional law school instruction. Use the lessons to supplement your studies and to review specific concepts.
- CALI Authorization Code & RegistrationHarvard Law School access only. First time users: please register using the HLSL CALI Authorization code.
Go Deeper
Contracts in Depth
Go deeper with these leading works on contracts or search HOLLIS for more sources.
Corbin on Contracts by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF801 .C65 1993ISBN: 0314018816Publication Date: 1993-Available in print or via Lexis
Farnsworth on Contracts by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School Reserve KF801 .F367ISBN: 9781543804973Publication Date: 2021Available in print or on VitalLaw- Williston on Contracts byCall Number: Law School KF801 .L67 1990Publication Date: 4th ed. 1990-Available in print and on Westlaw
Restatement of the law, second -- contracts 2d / as adopted and promulgated by the American Law Institute at Washington, D.C., May 17, 1979. by - This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Law School KF801 .R47 1981Publication Date: 1981-Available in print and on Westlaw, Lexis and Hein Online
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on contract law topics.
- Business Source Complete (Harvard Login)Over 1,200 business and academic journals and trade publications
- ABI Inform (Harvard Login)Over 1,000 business and academic journals
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)New scholarship, including working papers and accepted articles. Harvard community members should use this link for access to current awareness tools. Also available for free at www.ssrn.com
- Law Journal Library (HEIN)More than 1,700 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-current issues available
- HOLLIS Library CatalogHOLLIS is the catalog to all library materials at Harvard and thus a great central place to start your search. Use HOLLIS to find books, articles, databases, print and online journals, finding aids for archival materials, visual materials, and more.
Find Case Law
- WestlawNext State and Federal Commercial Law and Contracts CasesCases from relating to the Uniform Commercial Code and the law of contracts and collections
- Lexis Advance: ContractsContracts topic page. Includes cases, secondary sources
Contract Law News
Headlines from the ContractsProf Blog
Just for Fun
Just for fun...
Explore modern contract law issues in Middle Earth!
Law and the Multiverse: Superheroes, Supervillains and the Law
has put together a six-part series discussing the issues raised by Bilbo Baggins's contract in the movie The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.
Getting Help
Contact Us!
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Email: research@law.harvard.edu
Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class