Research Guides: Islamic Finance المالية الإسلامية: Getting Started

Getting Started

Introduction

This LibGuide is just a portal to highlight our Islamic Finance collection and to serve as a starting point for your research. We are here to help, so please contact us if you have any questions!

Books

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia and islamic finance - edited by Aly Khorshid.
This is THE definitive guide to Islamic Finance! A collection from diverse sources from the finance industry to governmental financial departments bringing up to date the debates surrounding Islamic finance by tapping into the breadth of knowledge and expertise that is creating a hugely successful industry.

Introductory Books in English

Introduction to Islamic Banking and Finance by Brian B. Kettell
ISBN: 9780470978047
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Introduction to Islamic Banking and Finance is a succinct guide to the key characteristics of Islamic banking highlighting how these differ from conventional banking. This detailed book illustrates how Islamic banking is consistent with the Sharia'a, a key element of which is the prohibition on collecting and paying interest.
Islamic Banking by Fuad Abdullah Al-Omar; Mohammed Kayed Abdel-Haq
ISBN: 1856493431
Publication Date: 1996-06-15
Islam has a very specific approach to commercial transactions, the law of contract, interest charges, indeed to the very nature of property. For financial institutions operating in an Islamic environment, or seeking to meet the requirements of communities committed to Islamic law, this poses a variety of problems. This important book investigates how such a challenge can be met in practice.
Islamic Finance by Hamid Yunis (Editor); Craig Nethercott (Editor); David Eisenberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199566945
Publication Date: 2012-05-16
This work is a practical and commercial guide to the fundamental principles of Islamic finance and their application to Islamic finance transactions.
Islamic Finance by Various Authors
ISBN: 9781849300179
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Islamic Finance: Instruments and Marketslooks at the application of Sharia law to the world of banking and finance. It provides you with an understanding of the rationale behind the instruments and the rapidly developing Islamic financial markets.
Islamic Finance by Mahmoud A. El-Gamal
ISBN: 9780521864145
Publication Date: 2006-07-03
This book provides an overview of the practice of Islamic finance and the historical roots that define its modes of operation. The focus of the book is analytical and forward-looking. It shows that Islamic finance exists mainly as a form of rent-seeking legal-arbitrage.
Islamic Law and Finance - edited by Chibli Mallat ; with an introduction by W.M. Ballentyne by Ruth Garrett (Editor); A. Graham (Editor)
ISBN: 185333121X
Publication Date: 1988-09-01
Islamic Law and Finance by Samuel L. Hayes; Frank E. Vogel
ISBN: 9041105476
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Mirroring the expansion of wealth in the Middle East and Asia and a surge in Islamic self-identity, Islamic banking practices have either become the law of the land or coexist and compete with Western practices in at least six countries. A growing number of institutions and mutual funds (akin to Western ''socially responsible'' funds) have established Islamic investment and other practices to cater to this burgeoning market.
Shari'ah Governance in Islamic Banks by Zulkifli Hasan
ISBN: 0748645586
Publication Date: 2012-07-27
An in-depth and insightful study of Shari'ah governance from a theoretical and practical perspectivesTopics covered* The theory behind corporate and Shari'ah governance* The regulatory framework for Shari'ah governance* Shari'ah governance approaches* The Shari'ah Board's role and how it retains its independence, transparency and competence* The operational procedures of Shari'ah governance* The effectiveness of the Shari'ah Board and how it could be improvedShari'ah governance has a profound influence on the day-to-day practice of Islamic Financial Institutions (IFIs). Each jurisdiction has adopted a different approach to developing a governance framework. This book reviews these pluralistic approaches and identifies best practice. With examples, case studies and practical discussions based on IFIs in:* Malaysia* Bahrain* UAE* Qatar* Kuwait * Saudi Arabia* The UK
Islamic Finance by Rahail Ali (Consultant Editor)
ISBN: 9781905783984
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
This newsecond edition featuresfully updated, insightfulchapters by leading practitioners in Islamic financing (including fromHogan Lovells, White & Case and Taylor Wessing), and analyses market trends, key developments and structures for sukuk, syndications, funds, takaful, project financing and Islamic liquidity management. New to the second edition are chapters on the regulation of Islamic finance and an overview of the sukuk market."

HOLLIS Classic

Worldcat

Access to the collections at major research libraries all over the world. Search terms are the same as for Hollis

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Access to the collections at major research libraries all over the world. Search terms are the same as for Hollis.
WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books. This database is used to verify citations of items not found in the HOLLIS Catalog, possibly to find a local holding library, or to provide accurate citations for interlibrary loan requests. OCLC adds evaluative content to WorldCat bibliographic records such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries, and notes about authors. A search for archives and manuscripts should include ArchivesUSA and Archive Grid (both Harvard Libraries E-Resources) as well as WorldCat.

Subject Guide

Harvard Law School Library Research Services

Email Me

Contact:

Journals

Subject-Specific and Multidisciplinary Indexes for Articles

Index Islamicus
IndexIslamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Index Islamicus provides access to over 2,000 journals and series. Coverage includes 1906-present.
Index Islamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, is a bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Index Islamicus provides access to over 2,000 journals and series. It also covers conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
MECAS "is a systematic and non-evaluative index to research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa." Coverage: 1900 & earlier - present
is a systematic and non-evaluative index to research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
JSTOR
This full-text database spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Includes all titles in the JSTOR collection, excluding recent issues. JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
PAIS International (Harvard Login)
Multidisciplinary resource.

"PAIS indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The database is comprised of abstracts of thousands of journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, government documents and statistical yearbooks."
PAIS International indexes the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, economics, finance, international relations, law, and health care, International in scope, PAIS indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The database is comprised of abstracts of thousands of journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, government documents and statistical yearbooks.
Academic Search Premier (Harvard Login)
A multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers).
Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a multi-disciplinary database that includes citations and abstracts from over 4,700 scholarly publications (journals, magazines and newspapers). Full text is available for more than 3,600 of the publications and is searchable.
Multidata Online
MultiDataOnline provides full text from and bibliographic citations to selected newspapers and periodicals from the Arab world in Arabic, English, and French. MultiDataOnline consists of five databases: 1."General News" provides full text and covers 52 dailies and weeklies since 1994; 2. "Specialized Periodicals" provides bibliographic citations from more than 225 specialized Arabic periodicals since 1920; 3. "Reviews" provides full text book reviews from more than 250 newspapers and magazines in the Arab world from 1998; 4. "Theses" provides a subject index to theses submitted to 21 Lebanese institutions of higher learning; and, 5. "Index Arabicus" documents the contents of 42 Arabic periodicals published between 1870 and 1969. The database has both Arabic and English interfaces.
General News

Google Scholar
Use this Harvard-proxied link to get free, full text, scholarly articles

Topical Journals

Berkeley Journal of Middle Eastern & Islamic law
The Berkeley Journal of Middle Eastern & Islamic Law is a US-based law journal that covers relevant topics in Middle Eastern, Islamic, and comparative law.
Arab law quarterly
Published on behalf of: the Society of Arab Comparative and International Law.
Islamic law and society
Provides a forum for research in the field of classical and modern Islamic law, in Muslim and non-Muslim countries. Articles are published in French or English.
UCLA journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law
The UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law contains the full text of documents that are dedicated to the scholarly review of legal issues that are of importance to Muslims and Near Easterners.
The journal of Islamic law & culture
The Journal of Islamic Law & Culture contains the full text of documents that are dedicated to the understanding of Islamic law and culture in America's legal, religious, and Muslim communities.
Majallat al-sharīʻah wa-al-dirāsāt al-Islāmīyah
Alternate title: Journal of shari’a and Islamic studies. Articles are mainly in Arabic with some in English.
Islamic Law & Law of the Muslim World eJournal
The only Social Science Research Network (SSRN) journal that focuses on this area of law, the Islamic Law and Law of the Muslim World Research Paper Series at New York Law School.

Other Resources

Fatawa - Religious Rulings

Fatawa - Muslim World League (Makkah)
The Muslim World League was founded in accordance with a resolution adopted during the meeting of the General Islamic Conference, which was held in Holy Makkah on the 14th of Dhul Hijjah 1381 Hijra corresponding to the 18th May 1962.
Affiliations:
- The United Nations Organization: Observer in consultative status with the ECOSOC.
- Organization of the Islamic Conference: Observe status in attendance at all meetings and conferences.
- ISESCO: Member
- UNICEF: Member

Other Resources

Islamic Finance Glossary
This glossary is not limited to Islamic terms and
contains Arabic and English terms that are also referred to
in the study of Islamic economics, banking and insurance.
Shari'ah Rulings and Finance
In practice, the permissibility or otherwise
of a transaction or business activity is governed
by the Shari'ah, that provides the framework for a
set of rules and laws, governing economic, social,
political, and cultural aspects of Islamic societies.
Glossary
Definition of Major Islamic Finance Terms
http://www.djindexes.com/islamicmarket/
The Dow Jones Islamic Market
Global Islamic Finance Magazine
Subscription required for full access
Islamic economic institutions
Timur Kuran
From The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, Second Edition, 2008
Edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume
Islamic finance
Mahmoud El-Gamal
From The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, Online Edition, 2009
Edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume
The Institute of Islamic Banking and Insurance (IIBI)
Islamic Financial Services Board (IFSB)
IFSB is an international standard-setting organization that promotes and enhances the soundness and stability of the Islamic financial services industry by issuing global prudential standards and guiding principles for the industry, broadly defined to include banking, capital markets and insurance sectors.