J
Jack, John George
Trees and other woody plants found in the Harvard Forest, Petersham, Massachusetts. Bulletin of the Harvard Forestry Club, vol. 1, 1911. pp. 10-26.
Jackson, Charles Thomas 1805-1880
21 June 1805-28 Aug. 1880; b, Plymouth; d, Somerville, MA or in ME
Aldrich, M. L. 1981. Charles Thomas Jackson's geological surveys in New England, 1836-1844. Northeastern Geology, vol. 3, no. 1
American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol. 20 (1880), pp. 351-352.
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Bouvé, T. T. 1883. Charles Thomas Jackson. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 21, pp. 40-47.
Boardman, S. L. 1893. Agricultural Bibliography of Maine, pp. 48-49.
Hineline, M. 1988. Charles Thomas Jackson and the first geological survey of Maine, 1836-1838. Studies in Maine Geology (Maine Geological Survey), vol. 1, pp. 1-16. Portrait.
Popular Science Monthly, vol. 19 (July 1881), pp. 404-407.
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 14 (1881), pp. 430-432. Portrait
Woodworth, J. B. 1897. Charles Thomas Jackson. Amer. Geologist. vol. 20, pp. 69-110. pl. 4. Bibliography, p. 87-110, Portrait.
Jackson, Hall
Estes, J.W. 1979. Hall Jackson and the Purple Foxglove. Reviews: Historian, 1981, vol. 43, p. 585; American Scientist, 1980, vol. 68, p. 714.
Jackson, John Bernard Swett 1806-1879
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 14 (1879), pp. 344-352.
Bouvé, T. T. 1880. J. B. S. Jackson. Boston Society of Natural History Anniversary Memoir, pp. 199-201.
Bouvé, T. T. 1881. Remarks on the late J. B. S. Jackson. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 20, pp. 124-128.
Jackson, Joseph 1847-1924
Additions to the flora of Worcester county, Massachusetts. Worcester, MA: Natural History Society, iv (1927), 49, [6] p.
Catalogue of the phaenogamous and vascular cryptogamous plants of Worcester County, Massachusetts. Worcester Natural History Society, 48 pp. 2d ed., rev. and enl. Worcester: Franklin P. Rice, 1883, 76 p. ill.
Through glade and mead; a contribution to local natural history. Worcester, MA: Putnam, Davis and company, 1894, xii p., 1 l., 332 p. front., pl. (Appendix A. Flora of Worcester County. A catalogue of the phaenogamous and vascular cryptogamous plants of Worcester County, Massachusetts. 2d ed., rev. and enl. 1894; Appendix B. The trees and shrubs of Worcester County)
A catalogue of the flowering plants and ferns of Worcester County, Massachusetts. 3d ed. rev. and enl. Worcester Natural History Society, 1909, 102p., illus.,
Flora of Worcester County, Massachusetts. Worcester. 1883. Ed.2. Worcester. 1894
James, Edwin 1797-1861
27 Aug. 1797-28 Oct. 1861
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
James, Edwin. 1821. "Catalogue of plants." Pp. 26-38 in Statistical account of the town of Middlebury in the state of Vermont. Part first. by Frederick Hall. Boston: Printed by Sewell Phelps, [3], 4-38 p. Also in Massachusetts Historical Society Collections, ser. 2, v.9 (1822), pp. 123-158 (James, pp. 146-158).
James, L. R.
Vermont Botanical Club. Brainerd, Ezra, L. R. James, and W. W. Eggleston. Flora of Vermont; a list of the fern and seed plants growing without cultivation. Contributions to the botany of Vermont, VIII. Burlington, Free press association, 1900, 113 pp. (Extracted from 20th Vermont Agricultural Report) LOCATION: Widener: Sci 1644.2
James, Thomas Potts 1803-1882
1 Sept. 1803-22 Feb. 1882
Druggist in Philadephia; moved to Cambridge in 1869. His Manual of the Mosses of North America finished by Sereno Watson
Collected in Coos County, 1858.
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Humphrey, J. E. 1896. Botany and botanists in New England. New England Magazine, v. 14, pp. 29-44 (p. 42).
Pease, A. S. 1964. "History of Botanical Collecting in this Area" (pp. 33-40; with bibliography, pp. 41-50) in A Flora of Northern New Hampshire. Cambridge: New England Botanical Club. [p. 35]
Sayre, G. 1984. Thomas Potts James: a bio-bibliography. Cryptogamie, Bryol. Lichénol, vol. 5, no. 1-2, pp. 51-62.
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 17 (1882), PP. 405-406.
Harshberger, J. 1899. Botanists of Philadelphia [James, pp. 186-187]
Rothrock, J. T. 1883. Thomas Potts James. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 20, pp. 293-297.
Gray, A. 1889. Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, vol. 2, pp. 419-420
Gray, Asa. Biographical notice [of T.P. James.]. Proc. Amer. Acad. Arts & Sci. XVII. 1881-82.
James, William 1842-1910
James accompanied Louis Agassiz on his trip to Brazil.
Brazil through the eyes of William James : letters, diaries, and drawings, 1865-1866, ed. by M. H. P.T. Machado ; translated by J. M. Monteiro. Bilingual ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University, David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies, 2006, 230 p.
Jarvis, Charles
Torrey, R. E. and E. L. Davis. 1953. The old Massachusetts herbarium. Rhodora, v. 55, pp. 7-13.
Jarvis, Edward
The autobiography of Edward Jarvis (1803-1884), ed. with an introduction by Rosalba Davico. Medical history, Supplement no. 12.
Traditions and Reminiscences of Concord, Massachusetts, 1779-1878, ed. by S. Chapin, introduction by R. A. Gross. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1993. [Addenda to Shattuck's History of Concord, p. 14, on Jarvis' botanical studies].
Chapin, S., 1994. Concord Flora 1834–1836 Observed by Edward Jarvis. Sarah Chapin, Concord, MA, 84 pp.
Grob, G. N. 1978. Edward Jarvis and the Medical World of Nineteenth-Century America. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press.
Torrey, R. E. and E. L. Davis. 1953. The old Massachusetts herbarium. Rhodora, v. 55, pp. 7-13.
Jarvis, Rev. Samuel Farmar
President, Natural History Society of Hartford; Meisel, 1835
Jeffries, Dr. John Amory 1859-1892
b, Milton; d, Boston, MA; MD, Harvard Medical School, 1884; Boston physician; Started with field work, shifted to more anatomy/embryology.; AOU
Jeffries, William Augustus 1856-1948
b, Boston, MA; d, Milton, MA; Harvard Medical School, 1875; Boston businessman, brother of John Amory Jeffries; Much field work near family summer home in Swampscott.; Collection in MCZ; AOU
Jenks, Charles William 1848-1929
b, Boston; d, Bedford(?); Harvard, 1871; Business, then farming; Botany, agriculture and horticulture, mammals; Member: New England Botanical Club, Massachusetts Horticultural Society, Boston Society of Natural History, University Club of Boston, Appalachian Mountain Club, Concord Antiquarian Club ; AOU
Robinson, B. L. 1923. Emily Francis Fletcher. Rhodora, vol. 24, no. 297 (Sept.), 149-150. mentioned
Jenks, John Whipple Potter 1819-1894
b, West Boylston, MA; d, Providence, RI; Brown University, 1838; Principal, Pierce Academy, Middleboro, 1842-1891; Brown University Museum, Chairman of Agriculture, 1891-; AOU
Collected turtle eggs for Louis Agassiz as recounted in:
Sharp, D.L. 1916. Turtle Eggs for Agassiz. Atlantic Classics, First Series. Boston: The Atlantic Monthly Press, pp. 23-44.
Lubar, Steven D. 2017. Inside the lost museum: curating, past and present. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, viii, 408 pp.
Contains information on Jenks’ museum at Brown.
Jenney, Charles Francis 1860-1923
b, Middleboro; d, Boston, MA; Boston University Law School, 1883; Lecturer, Boston University Law School; Judge, Superior and Supreme Court of Massachusetts; Lived mainly in Hyde Park; Director, Massachusetts Audubon Society; Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Nuttall Club, New England Botanical Club, Boston Society of Natural History, Wilson Ornithological Society, Cooper Ornithological Club, American Fern Society; Large library; AOU
Jesup, Henry Griswold
Henry Griswold Jesup. Rhodora, v. 5, no. 55 (July 1903), p. 191.
Poole, J. P. 1960. Professor Jesup's herbarium; an important aid to student and teacher is the little known botanical collection honoring the late Henry Griswold Jesup. Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, (March), 31-33, 40-41 pp. Portraits. LOCATION: Botany Gray/Arnold
Report of the Forestry Commission of New Hampshire. June session, 1885. Concord, P.B. Cogswell, 1885.
A catalogue of the flowering plants and higher cryptogams found within thirty miles of Hanover, N.H., including a few cultived species, to which is appended a list of vertebrate animals of the same region. N.P. 1891. 91 pp.
A preliminary catalogue of the flowering plants and higher cryptogams growing without cultivation within thirty miles of Hanover, N.H., to which is appended a list of the vertebrates of the same region [pp. 53-74]. Hanover, N.H., 1882. LOCATION: Botany Arnold (Cambr.):Fl 74.2 J49 188244612
Catalogue of the more common plants to be found within twelve miles of Hanover, N.H. during April, May and June, both native and introduced.Hanover, 1879, 14 pp. LOCATION: Botany Gray/Arnold:Fl 74.2 J49
Edward Jessup of West Farms, Westchester Co., New York, and his descendants: with an introduction and an appendix, the latter containing records of other American families of the name with some additional memoranda. Cambridge , Mass.: Priv. print. for the author by J. Wilson, 1887. LOCATION: Widener:US 42158.1
Letters to Henry Griswold Jesup, 1859-1895 (inclusive). LOCATION: Botany Gray Herbarium:
Report of the Forestry Commission of New Hampshire. June session, 1885.Concord, P.B. Cogswell, 1885, 105 pp. LOCATION: Biological Labs:5260 N42
Jewett, Charles Coffin 1816-1868 Nat??
Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 8 (1868), pp. 14-15.
Job, Herbert Keightley 1864-1933
b, Boston, MA; Delmar, NY; AB, Harvard, 1888; Hartford Theological Seminary, 1891; Congregational minister, North Middleboro, MA, 1891-1898, Kent, CT, 1898-1908; State Ornithologist of Connecticut, 1908; Went south, SC, VA, 1926; AOU
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Photo, Graham, Audubon Ark, p. 56
Notes on some of the winter birds of Massachusetts.
The sport of bird-study; a book for young or active people. New York, The Outing publishing company, 1908.
Herbert Keightley Job Collection, Watkinson Library, Raether Library and Information Technology Center, Trinity College Library, Trinity College, Hartford, CT
Consists of correspondence, notebooks and glass plate photographs. Inventory.
Jodrey, Judge Lawrence
Dexter, R. W. 1986. Two centuries of naturalists on Cape Ann, Massachusetts. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 122, no. 3, 246-258 [mentioned p. 255].
Johnson, Charles Willison 1863-1932
b, Morris Plains, NJ; d, Brookline, MA
Curator, Museum, Wagner Free Institute, Philadelphia, 1888-1903; Curator, Boston Society of Natural History, 1903-1932; Associate editor, Nautilus, 1890-; Molluscs, Diptera
Diptera went to MCZ
Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.
American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)
Brooks, W. S. 1932. Charles Willison Johnson. Bulletin of the Boston Society of Natural History, no. 65, pp. 3-5. Portrait, personal account.
Brues, C. T. 1933. Charles Willison Johnson. Entomological News, vol. 44, pp. 113-116.
Entomological News, vol. 39, p. 257. Diptera
Gray, A. F. 1933. Charles Willison Johnson, 1863-1932. Nautilus, vol. 46, no. 4, pp. 129-134. Portrait.
Mallis, Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p. , Arnold. 1971. American Entomologists. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 549 p.
Melander, A. L. 1932. Entomological publications of C. W. Johnson. Psyche, vol. 39, pp. 87-99.
Portrait, Nautilus, vol. 46, no. 3, 1933.
Rehn, J. A. G. 1932. Henry Lorenz Viereck. Entomological News, vol. 43, pp. 141-148. [Johnson as teacher of Rehn, Viereck, etc.]
Schick, M. 1950. Charles W. Johnson, 1863-1932. Min. Conch. Club. S. Californis, vol. 98 (March), pp. 5-6.
Fauna of New England: 13. List of the mollusca. Boston Society of Natural History. Occasional papers; v. 7, pt. 13. Boston: Boston Society of Natural History, 1915.
A list of the insect fauna of Nantucket, Massachusetts. Publications of the Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association; v. III, no. 2. Nantucket, Mass.: [s.n.], 1930.
Johnson, Duncan Starr
Coker, W. C. 1937. Professor Duncan Starr Johnson. Science, vol. 86, no. 2240, 7 p.
Littoral vegetation on a headland of Mt. Desert Island, Maine. Botanical contribution no. 87, [97, 101] from the Johns Hopkins University. Lancaster, Pa.: Lancaster Press, [1928?]. Not NE
Johnson, Grace Pettis
Birds of Springfield, Massachusetts, and vicinity. [Springfield]: Springfield Museum of Natural History, 1911. 16 pp. Museum of natural history, Springfield, Mass., Bulletin, no. 5. 7th ed. Springfield, Mass., The Robert O. Morris fund, Museum of natural history, 1946. 56 pp.
Historical sketch: Museum of Natural History, 1859-1909. Springfield, MA: The City Library Association, Springfield, Mass, 1910. 58 pp. 10 plates, ports.
Johnson, Jonathan
Nahant, Acknowledged in Storer, 1839
Johnston, John
Corresponding secretary, Cuvieran or Natural History Society of Wesleyan University, Middleton, CT; Minerals?; Meisel, 1836
Johnson, Lorenzo Nickerson
Notes on the flora of southwestern Connecticut.
Jolly, William H.
Dexter, R. W. 1980. Natural history at the Essex Institute, 1848-1898. Essex Institute Historical Collection, v. 116, pp. 21-33 [mentioned p. 22].
Jones, Clinton Mellen
Field notes on Connecticut birds. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa studies in natural history ... Vol.XIII (1931), no.4, 40 pp. (New series no.200)
Jones, F. M.
The Lepidoptera of Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard Islands, Massachusetts. Nantucket Maria Mitchell Association Publications 4 (1943), 217 pp. (with C. P. Kimball)
Jones, Miss Genevieve E. -1879
Bulletin of the Nuttall Ornithological Club, 1879, p. 228
Jones, Lewis Ralph 1864-1945
Walker, J. C. and A. J. Riker. 1958. Lewis Ralph Jones, December 5, 1864-April 1, 1945. National Academy of Sciences Biographical memoirs v. 31 (1958) [7th memoir] pp. [156]-179. port. 24 cm.
The handbook of Vermont shrubs and woody vines. 1st Tuttle ed. Rutland: C. E. Tuttle Co., 1979.
Vermont shrubs and woody vines. Bulletin / Vermont Agricultural Experiment Station; no. 145. Burlington: Vermont Agricultural Experiment Station, 1909. pp. 52-199.
Jones, Lombard Carter 1866-1944
d, Falmouth, MA; Harvard Medical School, 1890; Physician in Malden and Falmouth; Member, Board of Overseers, Harvard College; American Medical Society; Royal Geographical Society of London; Hakluyt Society
Palmer, T. S. et al. 1954. Biographies of Members of the American Ornithologists' Union, reprinted from 'The Auk', 1884-1954. Ed. by P. H. Oehser. Washington, DC: Lord Baltimore Press, 630 pp. [p. 309-310].
Jones, Thomas K.
Portland, ME
Sign painter
Harvey, F. L. 1902. A catalogue and bibliography of the Odonata (Dragon-flies) of Maine, with an annotated list of their collectors. University of Maine Studies, no. 4.
Portland Society of Natural History, secretary
Collector especially of beetles but also of Odonata. Maine beetles given to Portland Society of Natural History. Odonates may have been sent to the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Jones is mentioned by Hagen.
Josselyn, John fl. 1630-1675
American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.
Biographical dictionary of American science : the seventeenth through the nineteenth centuries, ed. by C. A. Elliott. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979, 360 p.
Dictionary of National Biography (by G. G.).
Goode, G. B. 1886. John Josselyn. Proceedings of the Biological Society of Washington, vol. 3, pp. 62-63. Reprinted in U. S. National Museum Annual Report for 1897, 1901, pt. 2, p. 376.
[Russell, John L.] [Identification of plants mentioned in Josselyn's New England's Rarities Discovered]. Proceedings of the Essex Institute, vol. 2, pp. 94-115.
Tino, C. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 414-415.
John Josselyn, colonial traveler: a critical edition of Two voyages to New-England. Hanover: University Press of New England, 1988.
Felter, Harvey Wickes. 1927. The genesis of the American materia medica: including a biographical sketch of "John Josselyn, gent," and the medical and materia medica references in Josselyn's "New-Englands rarities discovered," etc., and in his "Two voyages to New-England". Cincinnati, OH: Lloyd Library and Museum Bulletin, no. 26; Reproduction Services, no. 8, 64 pp.
Histories and narratives. Library of American Puritan writings; v. 9. New York, N.Y.: AMS Press, [1986].
New-Englands rarities discovered. A Massachusetts Historical Society picture book. Boston: Massachusetts Historical Society, 1972.
New-Englands rarities discovered: in birds, beasts, fishes, serpents, and plants of that country... London, Printed for G. Widdowes, 1672. West Berlin: W. Junk, 1926.
New-England's rarities discovered in birds, beasts, fishes, serpents, and plants of that country. Boston: W. Veazie, 1865.
Transactions and collections of the American Antiquarian Society, vol. 4 (1860), pp. 105-238.
New-Englands rarities discovered: in birds, beasts, fishes, serpents, and plants of that country. Together with the physical and chyrurgical remedies wherewith the natives constantly use to cure their distempers, wounds, and sores. Also a perfect description of an Indian squa, in all her bravery; with a poem not improperly conferr'd upon her. Lastly a chronological table of the most remarkable passages in that country amongst the English. Illustrated with cuts. London, Printed for G. Widdowes, 1672.
An account of two voyages to New-England: made during the years 1638, 1663. Boston: William Veazie, 1865.
An account of two voyages to New-England. The second eddition. London: Printed for G. Widdowes ..., 1675.
An account of two voyages to New-England, wherein you have the setting out of a ship, with the charges; the prices of all necessaries for furnishing a planter and his family at his first coming; a description of the countrey, natives and creatures, with their merchantil and physical use; the government of the countrey as it is now possessed by the English, &c. A large chronological table of the most remarkable passages, from the first discovering of the continent of America, to the year 1673. London, Printed for G. Widdows, 1674.